We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Max Brown Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 40-46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Doncaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

After reading the mixed reviews I wasn't expecting a lot from this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Yes The stairs in the hotel are steep and some of the rooms are small but its what you expect from a typical Dutch place. every place I visited had small rooms steep stairs. There is a lift which worked fine. Our room was clean and quiet and the housekeeping was done to a high standard. Yes the beds were small but comfortable with clean bedding. The bathroom was a good size and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good too, I do not know what people expect reading the other reviews. selection of cereal, toast, boiled eggs, meat and cheese. What more do you need? Staff were friendly and helpful. One thing I learnt about Amsterdam if you put effort in with the locals they make effort with you. The location of this hotel is perfect. I would stay again.

Room Tip: 310 was a nice twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toritoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    336
    222
    71
    28
See reviews for
135
316
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room we booked was a room for four people. There was no air conditioning and there was only one small window that opened. Absolutely zero air flow. There was a very strong odor of sewage in the room. Not sure if there was an issue in the hotel and the system had backed up or if was something else. Steep entry stairs with your 22KG. bag and the elevator starts on the 2nd floor plus the "lift" can hold 3 people and we waited for two trips till we could fit from the 3rd floor. The hotel and it’s appearance is very dirty. From the lobby to the elevator to the carpets throughout the hotel and in the stair wells. Then there were the impossible stairs to navigate that were ridiculously steep. There is no way these stairs meet code. The information on the print outs that we received made the hotel look much nicer then is actually was as well as the amenities. In addition, the information was very outdated and not accurate. I would not recommend this hotel and when we asked at the front desk, they said it was a 2.5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNorman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

As far as location goes, this hotel couldn't be better. It is just across the road from the Museumplein, where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museum can all be found. It is also a short walk to the canal, restaurants, shops and parks. However, the hotel itself is rather disappointing. Having stayed here several times I have sadly watched its decline over the last few years and we have decided to look for an alternative hotel next year. Despite being regular visitors, the staff fail to remember us and instead appear completely uninterested in their guests, often being very grumpy and unapproachable. We were not made to feel particularly welcome, instead we felt like we were an inconvenience to them, and a bit of a hassle. This is a shame as the hotel has great potential and we have certainly had some enjoyable trips in the past.

The hotel was refurbished about 3 years ago, but the decor in the reception and hallway is beginning to look a little tired. Carpets and walls are all black, so getting around is pretty difficult and potentially hazardous on the steep stairs. The rooms that we have stayed in have certainly been on the small side - but perfectly adequate if you do not plan to spend much time in your room. Shower rooms are equally small and narrow. Rooms are generally very clean, however our shower had clearly not been cleaned on arrival. Beds are made every day, and clean towels every day too which is lovely. Sadly there are no hooks at all, so there is nowhere to hang up wet towels, we just hooked ours over the door or on the back of the chair - not ideal.

The breakfast buffet is simple and has everything we would want, but anyone looking for a cooked breakfast will be very disappointed. However there is a good selection of bread, jams and spread and some nice cheese and ham slices too. Getting down to the breakfast room is always an adventure, stairs are very steep and there is no lift. It is always best to go down for breakfast early as it can get very crowded, especially when large groups of students etc are staying.

Overall this is an adequate place to stay, but we have been sadly disappointed on this visit. Staff really need to improve their customer service and it would be nice if they looked like they enjoyed their job.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Don't expect air con, don't expect a fridge, don't expect coffee/tea facilities in your room. This really is a two star hotel and to be honest i'd rate it one star. The staff were very friendly. As you enter the hotel you are faced with an extremely steep flight of stairs ,so, if you're disabled or unable to climb stairs then forget this hotel. The same is said for the stairs within the hotel itself as they are extremely steep. Fortunately there is a lift BUT, it does not serve the breakfast room which is on the ground floor, so, if you're having breakfast you HAVE to tackle the steps. The website for this hotel does paint a very glossy picture, leaving you wondering where the two stars apply. This is discovered once you enter reception and then your room. If you are unfortunate, like us, to have noisy neighbours then the whole experience is made worse. This hotel is best catered for young people who aren't fussed about comfort. As we entered the hotel we had to side step the people smoking on the steps which was a regular occurrence ,so much so, that they could make it a feature ! :) If you're anywhere above 5ft then expect to be extremely cramped when on the loo, theres a facing wall that loves to hit your knees. The staff were friendly though. Our first room, a family room (number 303) was so hot !!...and there was just one small window that could be opened but gave no relief at all. I did mention this and the next day they moved us to another family room (number 109) which had a balcony and doors that opened thankfully. Breakfast consists of a buffet of cereals, continental meats and two types of sliced cheese and various spreads. In addition there is ample bread for toast making and lots of hard boiled eggs. Would be nice to have seen some sausages and alternate options for eggs but this is certainly a no frills hotel where they do not cook anything(except boiling hard boiled eggs) there is also a coffee machine and fruit juice type drinks. This is a two star hotel so expect two star facilities. Just would have been nice to have air con at the very least. Location is fantastic though, right there in the middle of the museum quarter with easy access to trams.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil Le Sheepy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I dont think it lives up to the glitz of its website. Rooms very small but usable, reception staff quite helpful and a nice little bar area. The Wi Fi is not free as stated above and the breakfast was really disappointing. The upside is that its located in a nice quite street unfortunately some noisey American guests did not realise that others might be trying to sleep st 3.30 am. Great location for the museums snd tram stop 2 mins away.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Near museums, nite life, bus and trams. Easy to get to from airport. But, hotel is older, steep stairs, hot! Not for older or those that will have a hard time carrying bags up a narrow, dark, stairs. There is a lift but you have to climb stairs to get there. Can't open window. Smallest room we've seen. Also, since this is a budget hotel, there are a lot of young party guys that get noisy. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, and found it very nice. It's in a great location right next to the museums and a tram stop at the end of the road.
The rooms were snug, a little small but manageable and comfortable with a window and a TV, bathroom etc.
The breakfast was a good little extra to have although the stairs down were a bit steep but they could be avoided by using the lift. It was a little warm in the rooms at night, but it is immensely hot in Amsterdam at the mo, and the walls were a bit thin but didn't keep us awake at night.
Overall I would revisit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny110125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#123 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Property: Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40-46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing