We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, mediocre hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Max Brown Hotel Museum Square to your Saves list
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luijkenstraat 40-46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam) (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel is located in walking distance of Leidseplein, the Rijksmuseum, The Van Gogh Museum and lots of other attractions. And their prices vary according to the day of your stay (Saturday is more expensive than Wednesday) and how far in advance you book. So it is possible to get a very good price.

The staff is friendly.
The rooms are tiny. Really tiny. And noisy, really noisy. I didn't sleep at all. I could not only hear all the other hotel guests, I could actually understand what they were talking about.
The bathroom was also tiny and could have been cleaner (though I know I am a bit difficult on this subject).
The breakfast was very minimal and in a cramped and smelly cellar.

So if you are going to stay at this hotel: bring earplugs and don't pay extra for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rleegwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    336
    222
    71
    28
See reviews for
135
316
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for romantic sense in this 'poets' hotel, but was surprised by its masculinity characteristic. The wooden hunting voyage style lobby is unique in its way, I cannot help but felt bit scared when seeing a female lion head hanging on the wall. The furnitures and spaces in the room functioned well, the black and white photo and writing also impressive; maybe the dark blanket on bed can be changed as it drops small black-dust-balls on bed. The room I stayed in was on ground floor, right next to the luggage storing area. conversation in lobby and foot steps in the corridor can be heard clearly and louder than they really are. I can't remember how many times I woke by the noisy at night, which makes me feeling tired and nervous during the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked this place sort of last minute and weren't sure what to think. I'm with a group and this ended up being a dream; and our new home in Amsterdam. Location is wonderful; right near Museumplein, the #5 tram, and the Leidseplein. Gorgeous tree-lined street without too much noise, and Steve (manager) and the boys treated us extremely well. its not a 5***** hotel, but the rooms are clean and have great bedding. Water pressure and heat are solid. Elevator is small but efficient and breakfast is legitimate. Yes, they have hagelschlag too.Wonderful experience..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIP_TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great little hotel next door to the Van Gogh and Rijkesmuseum, tram station approx 100 yards away that takes you into the middle of Amsterdam.

Round the corner is the longest road of designer shops I've ever seen, everyone seems to be there.

Steps into and in the hotel are very steep, but thats quite normal here. The breakfast was very good, cereal, toast, cheese and ham etc.

Rooms very clean and shower was excellent.

We will certainly stop here again when visiting this brilliant and lively city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald-Ripon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very good located hotel, near by the city center and local activities. The reception staff was friendly and the rooms where clean and comfortable. The basic proice included a continental breakfast. I recommend very much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

stayed for 5 nights with my daughter in a twin room we were both impressed with the hotel,the reception staff were very welcoming and our room was perfect for our needs clean and comfortable with a good shower room,we both enjoyed the inclusive continental breakfast too The hotel was once several Amsterdam houses and you get the sense of being somewhere different and quirky which we both loved Situated in the museum quarter it is great for the Van Gogh and other places of interest including a Diamond museum and the Bols museum with the street next to it having top end shops similar to London's Bond Street Would be happy to stay here again

Room Tip: use the lift to reach the rooms as the stairs are narrow and steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

2 of us stayed in the poet for one night in March 14. Very surprised when we arrived at the lovely location of the hotel as for the price we paid its in a perfect location right near the museums and only a 5 min walk to bars and shops. If you dont fancy walking plenty of trams which run through out the evening . Very friendly staff on arrival and somewhere you can leave bags until check in . Room was small but clean with a nice bathroom and lovely inspiring quotes on the wall gave it a unique feel. Wi fi available and tv in room. All in all I would recommend staying here and next time I visit Amsterdam I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollymay32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#123 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Property: Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40-46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing