We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #153 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just came home after a two night stay at the Poet.

The biggest advantage is the location - 2 minutes away from both the Rijksmusem and Van Gogh Museums. Bus stop to take you to the airport is just down the street and costs 5 euros

Room was small but was clean. Bits were a little shabby. Reception staff were helpful when I asked for advice. Breakfast was basic but was adequate.

The hotel is reasonably priced.

Negatives - there is s steep flight of stairs to enter the hotel plus steep stairs to get to the breakfast room. Our room was also in the basement - so more steep stairs. Fine for me but could be a problem for many

My main issue was the bed - much smaller than a standard single bed. Also dipped in the middle. Kept on feeling I was falling out of bed when I turned as it was so narrow. I didn't sleep very well as a result of it.

Generally though a decent hotel - the location is the biggest plus

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK_AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    336
    222
    71
    28
See reviews for
135
316
39
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel unintentionally as it was part of the DFDS deal from Newcastle, wasn't expecting a much from this hotel was supposed to be 2* - it was much better than that in my opinion! The hotel was small but comfortable, the staff were very pleasant and the hotel itself was located 2 minutes away from the nearest tram stop, providing easy access to the City as well as the Amsterdam Arena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stup1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Hotel is located very close to Rijksmuseum and nearby Tramstation to get to central Amsterdam and Centraal Station. We were a family of three with our 15 months old son. The rooms are fairly small and so is the elevator but they are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and cooperative, although we could not check-in before 14:00 hours cause the room was supposedly not ready. The value for money is very good and I would book here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on March 2014. The hotel is in a perfect out of town location, near the museums and it's easy to get to the city centre by tram which stops right at the end of the road. We stayed on the fourth floor, the room was small but clean, towels and hair dryer were in the room but no drink making facilities.
The 'free' breakfast was great, yogurt, fruit, toast, eggs, cheese and ham as options. Unfortunately the breakfast room so quite small so on our first morning (a Sunday morning) there was no where to sit so we had to miss out. The other days were fine though so I'm not sure if it was just a weekend thing.
Check out was at 11am but they kept our bags for free until we left in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean but tiny rooms,en-suite adequate but not much space to move. Hotel not suitable for people with mobility problems due to very steep staircases. Breakfast quite a good selection of breads,cheese,meat, eggs,jams etc. Very near to major museums which meant we could get there before the rush. Also close to street packed with selection of restaurants from many countries.

Room Tip: rooms very small, en suite shower room very compact.this hotel would not be suitable for people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here for four nights on a University Study trip to visit the art museums and galleries. The front entrance was up some very steep steps, I'm not sure there's any disabled access. There is a lift inside to take you up to your floor but it only takes four people without luggage or it breaks down. The alternative is more steep stairs, manageable by me but tricky for anyone with health problems. My room was small but modern, I was pleased to see that there were duvets on the beds, my worst nightmare is blankets, sheets and bedspreads. The room was clean although there was dust in a couple of areas. The twin beds were tiny and the foam mattresses a bit sunken. I was comfortable enough but glad that I am a small person and that the sunken bit helped me stay in the middle of the bed and less likely to fall out!! Before embarking on this trip I checked out the reviews and noticed complaints about the breakfast, well I'm inclined to agree that compared to most hotel breakfasts it was disappointing; bread/toast, granola, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit cocktail (yes, the tinned stuff). I would have liked fresh fruit and a pastry, but settled for toast and jam. I enjoyed my stay but would probably book a different hotel in the same area if I return to Amsterdam, one with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yumscrumdiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we were a group of 7 girls here for two nights, the staff were very helpful and the location was brilliant and in a nice area. I cant comment on breakfast as we were not up in time! The hotel was very quite (maybe because we were the ones making the noise?) there was a mixture of all ages and nationalities. Complain about the room size as much as you want because there was 3 of us in our room and the size was as standard and the other 4 of us were in a very decent size room. To be honest the room size should not matter you are in Amsterdam you should be out exploring. The hotel is very near the Hardrock Cafe and if you take the 197 bus from the airport the hotel is 2 mins from the bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#123 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Property: Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40-46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing