We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean and Tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #111 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean and Tidy”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel is situated round the corner from the Van Gogh museum in the ritzy area of Amsterdam. The hotel is good value for money @ 65euro per room per night including breakfast.
We managed to check in early as our room was ready. We were on the 3rd floor so going up and down the very steep stairs was a bit of a pain but its Amsterdam all stairs are like that in this country. There is a lift but it is very small maybe not an ideal location for disabled people. if you are a bit funny about lifts like me the lift doesn't have a door so its just a bit freaky.
Our room was lovely a very narrow room with all the amenities, a shower, safe, wardrobe, desk, mirror and phone. It was lovely and clean with a basic clean white decor. we didn't notice any grime anywhere. the only downside is that the walls are very narrow and you can hear what people are up to around you.
The breakfast was lovely, a typical continental service of toast, boiled egg, fruit juice, fruit cocktail, yogurt, cereal, tea and coffee. the only downside to breakfast is it isn't controlled and its in a small room. so you turn up when you want too, the first morning we went down at 8.30am and it was so busy with some guests hogging tables we got the last table and had to share there was soon a massive queue. however the second morning we went down at 7.30am and there was only a couple of others there.
The hotel has 24hour reception and the receptionist were very helpful and friendly. i would recommend this hotel for convenience but its maybe a bit too far away from the party area if that's what your going for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babyuni93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    460
    252
    79
    34
See reviews for
209
431
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A great looking website, a nice street frontage, but inside is a different matter, old lifts, tatty corridors, the room was clean but cramped. It may be acceptable if you are young to have to climb over your partner to get into or out of bed but it wasn't for us. Broken TV also seemed to cause a problem, no security on stored luggage and very strict about check in check out times. Clearly thin walls as the noise went on all night from other guests, (not the hotel's fault) and the fire alarm went off for 3 minutes just after 1.00am. Take it or leave attitude from the receptionist, no sensible advice on dining locally, breakfast was basic and busy with loads of noisy hung over guests.

Room Tip: Don't unless you are under 25yrs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is great. My wife and i stayed here for three nights from 10th february. The location is perfect. The room was spotless. The breakfast was fine. Cereal and toast tea and orange juice. It was busy but good atmosphere. Also best way to get here. Exit airport and bus stop facing you. Number 197 takes about 20 minutes and stops about 30 seconds walk to hotel. Cost is 5 euro each. Same on way back. We went to anne frank house , heinekin experience which was fun and on way out you get a token for free canal boat. And just round corner from hotel coster diamonds is a free tour worth a visit. Amsterdam is stunning and great shopping. Also was very safe feeling day or night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymccarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

myself and my partner stayed at the Poet Hotel for 2 nights , the 12th and 13th February 2014.
The hotel itself is in a great location , a short walk into busy Amsterdam, and around a 30 minute walk to Amsterdam square. No matter what you go to Amsterdam for the hotel is in a great location.
When we arrived at the hotel there was one gentleman behind the reception, he wasn't overly polite and didn't seem too bothered that we was there, however the next day 2x members of staff were on duty who were nicer and helped us with what we needed.
The room was fab for us both, small but clean and tidy with lovely decor, we found the bed very comfortable and had a tv to watch when we were in the room ( not that often ! )
we stayed for 3 full days, on our 2nd day we came back to the room to find our bed had been changed and room cleaned which was lovely, we had also left some euros on the desk by mistake, which were all still there when we returned!
overall a happy stay and we are booking to go again next month! :) X
OH and there are ALOT of stairs, 4 flights actually, if the lift wasnt working we would have had a full work out !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaLassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My partner found this hotel due to its very close location to the local attractions such as the Van gouh museum and the volodpark. The hotel was easy to find when using the map we had. Upon check in the gentleman behind the reception desk seemed happy enough. The check in was easy enough, we had room 313. The stairs are very steep but we knew this because we are in Amsterdam!! Lol. There is a small lift but we don't mind using the stairs. The building is a bit confusing at first but the hotel staff where helpful by showing us the way to our room.

The room itself was in general good condition despite other reviews on trip advisor. The floors, bathroom, bed and windows seemed clean enough. My only criticism is the walls did have some black marks showing in places. This didn't really bother us that much. The bed was comfy and big enough for the two of us. The room did have a desk at the back of the room. The large window at the back did open all the way. My only big issue while staying was that you could here everything around you. You can hear both rooms on both sides and people walking through the corridor. So if you’re a light sleeper then perhaps you should consider using earplugs.

A big bonus while staying at this hotel was the large selection of breakfast on offer. The breakfast was free on our booking. The breakfast room is below ground level. The seating area can get taken up very quickly so it’s advised to get down early enough such as 8am. The hotel did offer WiFi through out. However there is a charge for this. We didn't want to pay for this. There is also a bar alongside the reception desk that offers a good range of drinks.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and we would come here again.

Pros: great location, comfy bed, very good free breakfast offer.

Cons: Issue with noise in and around the rooms. Charge for WiFi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaNick50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very clean and comfortable, stairs would be an issue if you had walking difficulties but there is a lift. Breakfast was good. A good place to stay. Hotel situated in the museum quarter, easy access from hotel to anywhere you wanted to go, most areas are within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

myself and my boyfriend are 20 and 21 and wanted to go to Amsterdam for the museums, pubs, coffee shops, dam square, the whole experience! This hotel is in the perfect location for anyone unsure where to stay, it is right around the corner from the I Amsterdam sign, the Van Goph museum and the Rijsmuseum (Famous paintings etc) as well as a tram station to catch a tram to dam square for $2.80 each, however, we chose to walk as it was only around 15 minutes walk and the canals and shops are nice to see on the way. It was our first time in Amsterdam and i must admit it is easy to get lost as all the canals look the same so its good to remember which way you walked! The hard rock cafe is around 5 minutes walk from the hotel along with the Irish pub which had a lovely atmosphere! basically the location is perfect!
The rooms were perfect for the two of us, we knew they'd be small but these are Dutch houses so we weren't expecting huge rooms anyway, but there was a bathroom, a double bed, a tele, wardrobe, FREE safe, and space for the suitcases, perfect for what we needed it for! the walls are quite thin, and you can hear other people but that comes with the style of the hotel!
Reading reviews i found a lot of people weren't fond, however, i am a fussy eater and jam on toast and yoghurt did me fine until dinner. there's a selection of cheese, ham, cereals, breads, jams, chocolate spread, peanut butter, eggs, plenty of choice!
The staff were so friendly, and we couldn't fault them, i personally don't know why this hotel is a 2*, its been refurbished and the décor is nice and modern!
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who, like us, want a few days break to see all the wonderful things Amsterdam has to offer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthajane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#166 of 368 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#153 of 368 in Amsterdam
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Property: Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40 - 46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing