We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....cost effective, clean and friendly Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #117 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent....cost effective, clean and friendly Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent stay. Rooms are small but super clean and modern. Service was great and allowed us to walk around new areas in Amsterdam. 20 mins from city centre by foot was a good excuse to get fresh air and enjoy the city. Recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriadri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    443
    247
    78
    34
See reviews for
191
417
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is in a convenient location, quite close to Van Gough museum. The staff are really friendly and the hotel is super clean inside. Rooms are a little basic but when you consider the price they are truely excellent value. I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: We atayed on the thirsd floor which gave a good view and the stairs provided an excellent workout! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingdude1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was pleasently suprised by this hotel, for the price its more than worth the money. On arrival we were welcomed by a friendly man on reception, our room wasnt ready but he showed us where we could store it so we could explore. Its in a good location, quiet area not central but only around a 20 minute walk or there is tram stops close by. The room was very modern, clean and fresh. The bathroom was nicely fitted with a lovely shower. The room also had a tv with a few english channels, the decor in the room was very nice and simple yet effective
The breakfast was fine, a mix of cheeses, meats, bread, boiled eggs, toast, yoghurts, juices ect.
The only negative were the stairs, very steep but thats Amsterdam for you, there is a lift.
If I ever came back to Amsterdam theres no doubt id return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelleeeeeyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were welcomed by very friendly staff and could leave our bags in the hotel before we checked in so we didnt have to carry them around. A little out of the way but there's a tram stop 2 mins walk away which takes you everywhere. We used it all the time.
The room was very clean and well presented. The water took a while to get warm but once it was hot it stayed hot for good. Although the hotel looks old fashioned from the outside, the rooms are very modern. We were very happy with the room, the bed was comfortable and it was a nice temperature.
We were lucky at breakfast as we got a table straight away but many people did not. There was a variety of continental breakfast which included boiled eggs.
Overall the stay was very pleasant and we would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

During my recent stay in Amsterdam, I had a chance to visit renovated hotel Poet which was earlier called Acro Hotel. Located in the museum district, the hotel can be easily reached from the Amsterdam Cental Station. You can easily walk to the city center within 10 minutes and if you decide to stay in the area, you can be enchanted by many restaurants and shops.

Hotel is spread over 4 floor in the old traditional house, however the new renovation pushes the hotel into boutique segment. All the rooms are furnished with flat TV screen, spacious bathroom with shower box and free toiletries. Despite the room space, guests can relax in comfortable beds and enjoy the view of the nearby park. Complimentary breakfast is served everyday from 7.30-10.00 in the basement and provides variety of products such as local cheeses, pastries and beverages.

My only recommendation would be adding wireless internet into room package. The current cost of it is 3 EUR per day which is not a lot but still would be nice to have it already included. Therefore if you're heading to Amsterdam and looking for a great place to stay; close to the city center, nicely designed, keep in mind that the renovated Poet Hotel offers all of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcslovanka1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited the hotel as a group of 6, we had one quad room, and a double. Both rooms were extremely clean and well designed. Couldn't fault them. Breakfast is simple, but decent. The location is brilliant and for the price, I am not sure you could get better for your money - the hotel really is great!

If you are visiting Amsterdam, I would highly recommend staying at The Poet Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked at the Poet Hotel in Dec 2012 and stayed in the family room, which sleeps 4 people comfortably. One queen size bed and two sleeper beds. The rooms are decorated with a modern touch which is also visible in the reception area and breakfast room. Wonderful breakfast with a large variety of cheeses, bread etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Will definitely reccommend this hotel to any person looking to stay for a short while or even a long while, I could live there I enjoyed it so much. It is 100m from the tram 2 & 5 stop Hobbeman. Which made traveling very easy even from the airpoirt with our luggage.

Room Tip: The family room is much larger than the standard double rooms, we were four, but I would recommend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#160 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#156 of 368 in Amsterdam
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Property: Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 40 - 46, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Poet Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Museum Square 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown Museum Square settles down at the Museum Square, known by locals as the central hub of the city. Location is everything in a city like Amsterdam and the Museum Square, located South of the old city, has it al. You are just a block away from the world famous Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Rijksmuseum, escape outdoors to the Vondelpark where you can join locals for a lovely Picnic or go for some high end shopping in the PC Hooftstraat, van Baerlestraart and Beethovenstraat. The Museum Quarter (the neighbourhood around the Museum Square) is, despite all its touristic attractions, largely a residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets and gorgeous 19th-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Acro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing