We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bob's Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Citadel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brian(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Hotel Brouwer(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Tamara(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mevlana(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
40
90
131
106
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
90
131
106
149
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 516 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Moved from another hostel to here with 2 other friends during our short trip, stayed here two nights and the staff always seemed friendly and happy to help. We were staying in our own private room rather than a shared dorm, but the room was clean, tidy and much nicer than in our previous hostel. We also enjoyed the fact there was a lobby which you could hang out in, and even chat to some of the other guests. the only downside was no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed there with 3 friends in a 6 person private dorm. When we arrived the room was spotless,new sheets,swept floor.and the shower room as clean as you would ever need it for 5 nights. Shared bathroom with another dorm which at times could get a bit smelly but never to a stage where it was uncomfortable to use.
Lockers are provided in the dorms that are big enough to fit a medium sized suitcase inside so security isnt a problem. You have to pay a deposit for the lock and key but you could just as easily bring your own.
Location wise,Bobs is literally 5 mins away from the central station, we were put up in the second building on the street behind bobs, great location overall. Beside the front you have '' The Doors'' a bar/coffee shop that plays old school rock and roll all day,not the best atmosphere in Amsterdam but its dark and dingy charm certainly grows on you as other coffee shops in Amsterdam can come across as pretentious as 5 star restaurants. Service good,beer good,good times. The dam square,red light district and many other attractions,pubs,restaurants are all within close walking distance.

Back to bobs, Yes, staff are quite laid back and arnt as attentive as a five star b&b but when i came down to it and we needed to stay another night in a room that was already booked they did everything they could for us and ended up sorting it out perfectly.

If you are young and not obsessed with clinically clean surfaces and want a decent place to stay run by good people then this will be for you, Had one of the best nights of my life in bobs smoking free-ly and drinking the REASONABLY priced beer.

Only thing id complain about is the bread and hardboiled egg breckfast..cmon bob!

Tom 24 Ireland

Room Tip: If it was up to me id stay in the building separate to bobs..more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I know you get what you pay for with a hostel, you expect it to be basic, but you also expect it to be clean and safe! We booked a 4 person with private bathroom, when we arrived the staff were very unorganised and very rude, we paid €66.50 each for the room but we didn't find out til then this did not include towels (extra charge) our room was not in the same building as the reception but another street away. Our room was on the third floor, which mean carrying out heavy cases up flights of the most dangerous stairs you have ever seen, steep even for Amsterdam, the room had not been cleaned properly, crumbs/dust everywhere and the bed sheets didn't fit the mattress! When we unplugged an appliance the socket harked and sparked at us, a huge safety issue (to which the receptionist replied, that happens everywhere in holland, which if is the case they need to retrain electricians!) Our 'private' bathroom was shared with another room and it was beyond filthy, I honestly wouldn't let a stray dog use it let alone myself. The whole experience was a huge downer on our trip and when we complained the receptionist basically couldn't give a monkeys, we felt ripped off an just disgusted! Honestly would rather sleep on the streets.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hmme274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

i stayed in that place for new year's eve period, the prices were extremely high, but service was just horrbile.
they described is as a hippie place, but it has nothing to do.
1) THERE ARE THE MICE.
2) THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEAND, when we came, so you are paying to stay in a dirty room
3) TOILETS/BATHROOM ARE STINKING, so taking a shower there doesn't make any sense, unless you want to have a mycosis.
4)STAIN ON THE SHEETS, you can imagine what is it..
5) THERE'S NO PLACE TO EAT, or you like to eat while everybody is somking weed around you
6)AT THE RECEPTION THEY WON'T HELP YOU - when we had a question the guy told as not to BOTHER HIM.
7) Breakfast? you mean 2 pieces od bread?
8) DON'T ASK ABOUT ANYTHING OR YOU WILL GET SCOLDED
9) BEDS ARE MADE OF WOOD
It's just disgusting place, doesn't matter how much it costs, we demand for some standards, are this one is just unacceptable!

Room Tip: We took 4places room and it was already horrible, i cannot imagine the 12persons one, it's just impossible to stay there i think.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were in the second building, in Spuistraat.
20-people room: the hell. Dirty, poky, stinky. Just two power outlet, one lavatory, one shower.
Yes, you can survive as we did, nothing impossible: if one would like to spent not too much to have more possibilities in spending around in Amsterdam, it could be a reasonable choice, nothing to disprove. The price maybe could be discussed: it's not so cheap as it appear (consider the 5,5% tourist tax). But if you want a good place, where to rest in an human way, avoid it.
One star just for the reception, notwithstanding the dirtiness, a relaxing place for smoking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews