We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Couldnt ask for a better or more convenient hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bob's Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Bob's Youth Hostel
Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Couldnt ask for a better or more convenient hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed there with 3 friends in a 6 person private dorm. When we arrived the room was spotless,new sheets,swept floor.and the shower room as clean as you would ever need it for 5 nights. Shared bathroom with another dorm which at times could get a bit smelly but never to a stage where it was uncomfortable to use.
Lockers are provided in the dorms that are big enough to fit a medium sized suitcase inside so security isnt a problem. You have to pay a deposit for the lock and key but you could just as easily bring your own.
Location wise,Bobs is literally 5 mins away from the central station, we were put up in the second building on the street behind bobs, great location overall. Beside the front you have '' The Doors'' a bar/coffee shop that plays old school rock and roll all day,not the best atmosphere in Amsterdam but its dark and dingy charm certainly grows on you as other coffee shops in Amsterdam can come across as pretentious as 5 star restaurants. Service good,beer good,good times. The dam square,red light district and many other attractions,pubs,restaurants are all within close walking distance.

Back to bobs, Yes, staff are quite laid back and arnt as attentive as a five star b&b but when i came down to it and we needed to stay another night in a room that was already booked they did everything they could for us and ended up sorting it out perfectly.

If you are young and not obsessed with clinically clean surfaces and want a decent place to stay run by good people then this will be for you, Had one of the best nights of my life in bobs smoking free-ly and drinking the REASONABLY priced beer.

Only thing id complain about is the bread and hardboiled egg breckfast..cmon bob!

Tom 24 Ireland

Room Tip: If it was up to me id stay in the building separate to bobs..more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    99
    80
    113
See reviews for
2
19
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I know you get what you pay for with a hostel, you expect it to be basic, but you also expect it to be clean and safe! We booked a 4 person with private bathroom, when we arrived the staff were very unorganised and very rude, we paid €66.50 each for the room but we didn't find out til then this did not include towels (extra charge) our room was not in the same building as the reception but another street away. Our room was on the third floor, which mean carrying out heavy cases up flights of the most dangerous stairs you have ever seen, steep even for Amsterdam, the room had not been cleaned properly, crumbs/dust everywhere and the bed sheets didn't fit the mattress! When we unplugged an appliance the socket harked and sparked at us, a huge safety issue (to which the receptionist replied, that happens everywhere in holland, which if is the case they need to retrain electricians!) Our 'private' bathroom was shared with another room and it was beyond filthy, I honestly wouldn't let a stray dog use it let alone myself. The whole experience was a huge downer on our trip and when we complained the receptionist basically couldn't give a monkeys, we felt ripped off an just disgusted! Honestly would rather sleep on the streets.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmme274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bordeaux, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

i stayed in that place for new year's eve period, the prices were extremely high, but service was just horrbile.
they described is as a hippie place, but it has nothing to do.
1) THERE ARE THE MICE.
2) THE ROOM WAS NOT CLEAND, when we came, so you are paying to stay in a dirty room
3) TOILETS/BATHROOM ARE STINKING, so taking a shower there doesn't make any sense, unless you want to have a mycosis.
4)STAIN ON THE SHEETS, you can imagine what is it..
5) THERE'S NO PLACE TO EAT, or you like to eat while everybody is somking weed around you
6)AT THE RECEPTION THEY WON'T HELP YOU - when we had a question the guy told as not to BOTHER HIM.
7) Breakfast? you mean 2 pieces od bread?
8) DON'T ASK ABOUT ANYTHING OR YOU WILL GET SCOLDED
9) BEDS ARE MADE OF WOOD
It's just disgusting place, doesn't matter how much it costs, we demand for some standards, are this one is just unacceptable!

Room Tip: We took 4places room and it was already horrible, i cannot imagine the 12persons one, it's just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were in the second building, in Spuistraat.
20-people room: the hell. Dirty, poky, stinky. Just two power outlet, one lavatory, one shower.
Yes, you can survive as we did, nothing impossible: if one would like to spent not too much to have more possibilities in spending around in Amsterdam, it could be a reasonable choice, nothing to disprove. The price maybe could be discussed: it's not so cheap as it appear (consider the 5,5% tourist tax). But if you want a good place, where to rest in an human way, avoid it.
One star just for the reception, notwithstanding the dirtiness, a relaxing place for smoking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I spent the summer bagpacking Europe on a budget, and stayed in a fair few hostels, but this one was in a league of its own. The room was absolutely boiling with no means of cooling it down, which meant lying awake for the majority of the night (despite being ridiculously stoned). The shower had packed in, and the place stunk. The service was abysmal, with everything obviously being too much of an effort for the staff. The atmosphere was somewhat added to by a box sitting in the common room entitled "Free dirty clothes". Far from a hippy commune, this was quite simply a hell hole.
To add insult to injury, it was the most expensive hostel we stayed in all trip, absolutely no idea what planet these muppets are living on.
Visit Amsterdam every year, and would cross the road to avoid this dump.

Room Tip: Sleep rough if this is your only choice, seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Bob's is in a really great location in walking distance of many museums, shops, eating establishments and other attractions.
Our room was clean and the shared toilet and showers on our floor were cleaned daily and in good condition.
I found the bed comfortable, but very short and very narrow. The bunks had no ladders or guardrails either.
In terms of a place to sleep and shower, it is a good venue in a fantastic location and I did enjoy my stay there.
However, what my girlfriend and I didn't realise when we booked was that the smoker-friendly lobby was in fact the hostel's only common area and only place with wi-fi. This meant that everything smelled of marijuana (yes, that includes the ginger cat who likes to visit from time to time) so bear this in mind if you aren't particularly fond of the smell.
I'd recommend this as a great place to stay if you're out to party, but it's not really a place suited to couples looking to explore the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralAdama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Bob's youth hostel has one good thing going for it - prime location. Apart from that the wi-fi works intermittently (don't count on it working if you need to book things) but there's a good cafe nearby with free wi-fi so that didn't bother us too much. The price was a bit too much for what we got (a broken locker which we had to pay a €10 deposit for the key, no towel - but you can pay for one which wreaks of smoke and no common areas that aren't smoking areas). Bed was comfy, shower hot but I would not return.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#71 of 216 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing