We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hostel I've ever stayed at...”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #188 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best hostel I've ever stayed at...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well... You pay the price and don't expcect much. Rooms - acceptable. Reception Desk - there is one. Bedlinen - OK, but blankets were stinky. Breakfasts in common area where many people smoke. Location however is a huge advantage. If you simply want an overnight in Amsterdam it is alright, but do not plan a longer stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    83
    119
    100
    132
See reviews for
3
19
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was very well located, but the bathrooms were dirty, and security was poor. pretty much anyone off the street could access any room. We were staying in an all girls dorm, but there were men in there all the time. Also, when we were trying to go to bed at 3am, a hostile older gentleman came round with a clipboard demanding to know which beds were ours. If you're going to offer female dorms, you should have female staff perform those kinds of tasks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been there for a couple of days with friends, we were 9 of us, we booked 16 beds room...2 toilets for 16 people, very dirty, any sheets or blankets for beds, breakfast was a shame...very dirty place! We spent 35 euros a person a night! Unbelievable!!!! And at at the end of the trip, when we went to pick luggage up we saw mice...really bad experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

With a last minute and an even later booking at Bob's Youth Hostel I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. I arrived around 6pm, check-in was quick and informative (no curfew, breakfast times, allowance to smoke weed in the lobby but no cigarettes). I was staying in a 20 bed dorm, although there are several smaller ones, which had 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets and a window overlooking the street outside. The bed was comfy, the duvet thick and lovely, the pillow was a little thin but could folded over, none the less I had a great 4 nights sleep. The lobby is a great place to socialise with other travellers, it has 3 vending machines but various food and drink are available from reception, the music that plays in the lobby is varied and general really great. You can pay a deposit for a secure locker in your dorm and towels too (useful if you forgot yours like I did) with an optional €1 fee for washing.
A few things; bring your own soap and shampoo, earplugs are of great help, bring a pen and leave your mark in the lobby

Room Tip: All the dorms have at least 1 bathroom with shower and toilet then it's just a matter of how muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms were freezing cold and barely heated, and it's nearly June! No hot water comes out of the bathroom sinks and no handsoap is provided. The common area is great for hanging out, except they have a ridiculous no-outside-beer rule; they have signs that claim that the beer they sell in the hostel is a good price so you should buy it, but their beer costs 2€ for 33cl, whereas at the grocery store beer is as cheap as 0.59-0.70€ for 50cl. This policy is greedy and underhanded. Very disappointing. Other than a lot of minor frustrations, like 4 flights of narrow winding stairs to our rooms and consistently having to wait in a long line at reception to be assisted the hostel isn't bad for a short stay if your standards of upkeep aren't very high!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at Bob's last month, the hostel is right in the center of Amsterdam nearest coffee-shop is literally across the road. Walking distance to all the attractions. Not the cleanest of places but had no problems with dirty beds or bugs. Showers are small but reasonable. Was worried about sharing with people, however 5 of us managed to get bunk beds next to eachother and everyone was friendly.

Wouldn't recommend if you don't smoke marijuana as the reception area is open to smoking. Breakfast was standard, eggs, toast and coffee. Would stay again, such a good price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkes93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

When we walked into Bob's we were greeted by a long dimly lit basement lounge littered with stoners, grafitti and marijuana smoke. Heavy psychedelic music was blasting as we met the dreadlocked member of staff behind the counter. After making our payment, we made our way up the long twisted stairs about five levels, when we eventually got to our room which was large and full of around a dozen bunkbeds with a great view out into the city.

We met a dozen French kids and had a great time partying with them as well as many other people that we met during our two day stay. Honestly, I loved the place. Didn't want to leave. It's in the middle of Amsterdam, very social, and dirt cheap. The staff were cool, you get a simple breakfast, and the place was surprisingly full of cute girls. Remember, it's no frills and definitely bring your own soap, etc. My only real problem was having to go to the bathroom in the dark due to a broken light.

Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: i wouldn't worry about getting the larger rooms with more beds. it's easy to meet peeps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
Shelter City Hostel Amsterdam
#30 of 229 in Amsterdam
459 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#96 of 229 in Amsterdam
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#58 of 229 in Amsterdam
388 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing