We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty. but good breakfest, if you're cheap.”
Review of Bob's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bob's Youth Hostel
Ranked #187 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dirty. but good breakfest, if you're cheap.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Its an appealing atmosphere what with the purple haze and classic rock in the main social area. The rooms however (we stayed in girls room) were painted a not so appealing shade of pink.. and the cleaniness of it was much to be desired. hair and make up.. among other things. EVERYWHERE. we found a dirty tissue on our pillow!! soo, bring cleaning supplies and mattress covers if you choose this hostel.

Room Tip: maybe try a private room, we had a 16 bed womens room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    114
    97
    128
See reviews for
3
19
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in a 20 bed dorm, the room was covered in grafitti which added a nice touch to the rooms, but also made it look like some dingy crack house, the stairs were deadly, the room was cleanish, shower flooded the floor everytime, common room was a hot box's dream. my bed was broken and i had to prop it up with a book, also it was very rusted and while sleeping i had to cling on for dear life because the top part was also rusted away and tilted drastically to the side. First night there we were woken up to screaming at 3:30am because the only indian man came in and was screaming at a poor guy sleeping in the bed next to me for his recent because he was "scaming them, and not suposed to be there" the poor guy couldnt find his recent and trying to reason with the guy who was screaming in his face now, and woke the WHOLE room up he managed to show him his online booking. To which the guy then left with out any apology! MOLE MAN STRIKED AGAIN.. either way maybe that was why the place was soo cheap. But it was a great location and the beds were comfy if it is not broken....

Room Tip: nosy from streets outside,not a big smoker def not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

staff was friendly but room was really dirty, especially toilet!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here at the end of September 2012 with a few friends. We were staying in a 20 bed mix dorm and after reading reviews in the airport on the way we were very fearful! But bob's was actually great, fantastic location, clean showers and toilets and clean bedding, Reception open late and generally pretty chilled staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank N_Peddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First things first - this is Amsterdam. When you're in the city centre, even the famous landmarks and top hotels are no more than a few minutes' walk from the red light district, some are right in it. So although there are a couple of kamers (red light windows) very close to Bob's, this is normal in Amsterdam, and in fact the location is generally a lot quieter at night than some of the much fancier places.
Now, Bob's itself. It's not the first time I've stayed at Bob's (the previous occasion was in June of this year), and it was better this time than last time. I found the receptionist helpful, although I know from past experience that some of them are a lot nicer than others. Once again I was in the second building, one street back from the building with the reception, this time on the second floor (although Amsterdam floors are quite high!). The beds were better quality than last time, basic but comfortable enough. There's one loo and one shower in the room for 16 people, and another loo down the corridor, which acts as a spare for all the dorms on that floor. The lockers are pretty big, and put all your stuff in them overnight (it's not that hard!), always better safe than sorry. I've never had any theft problems at Bob's but that's no reason to be complacent.
Bob's only accepts cash - this is very clear on the website, and at time of booking, so you should be well-prepared. The breakfast is... basic... very basic. But, at bed and breakfast for 15€ a night, I really can't complain - even if you don't bother with the breakfast, it's still cheap.
The lounge and reception area can get quite smoky in the afternoons and evenings, but again, you're in Amsterdam at a hostel named after Bob Marley; expect this.
Bob's is a short walk from pretty much everything central, and there's trams right outside the reception building too. Station is a 5-10 minute walk, Dam Square about the same, ditto the main red light district at De Wallen. There are coffeeshops everywhere. Bob's will normally offer you a map when you arrive, and they have them in the reception as well. There's several tourist information places nearby as well if you want information and discounts on several of the attractions, from the Van Gogh Museum, to the Amsterdam Dungeon, to the Heineken Experience.
tl:dr; Bob's is very very cheap, good location, but basic, as is reflected by the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

2 of my friends and I stayed at Bob's for 4 nights in late October 2012; we weren't expecting much, only needed a bed and that's what we got. Except I didn't...in the middle of the night, about 3am I was woken up by one of the receptionists who was shouting at me for sleeping in the wrong bed. You're allocated bed numbers, which aren't mentioned on arrival as being important, but we abided to them anyway; when I got back from my 2nd night out some other guys had just arrived in the hostel and one had taken my bed. I wasn't too bothered, but for being compromising and using a different bed I was rewarded with shouting that woke the whole dorm up and didn't exactly end the night in the way I'd hoped. Maybe I was in the wrong in that situation, but even so, the dorm's are basic, there are apparent mice problems which luckily didn't affect us, and the breakfast included in the price is a piece of bread with optional peanut butter sachet, and a mushy boiled egg. Taking all of this into account, for it's price and location, and the amazing time I had overall in Amsterdam partly due to our the proximity from the centre Bob's still gets an average review... just don't expect much, if you want anything more than a bed find somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

So ok it's in a good location, in the center of amsterdam, but... the room was really, and i mean really dirty, and the staff not really helpful. Aside of that when we arrived they told us that credit cards weren't accepted, so we pay the total amount for our staying there by cash and we ran out of money for the key deposit, so they didn't give as a key and they reminded us four times that we are still have to pay the 20euro key deposit.
So you all should really consider if it's worth the money, cause it's not cheap.

Room Tip: read more carefully other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#96 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#173 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob's Youth Hostel

Property: Bob's Youth Hostel
Address: Old Centre: New Side | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bob's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob`s Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing