We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very friendly”
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #24 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at the Clemens recently for five nights. We requested to be at the front of the hotel and the staff obliged and we were given room 203.

After the initial shock of 'the stairs', which everyone references, and the amount of physical space in the room, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel as the days went by. Just to clarify, we had to shuffle around the bed to get to the window or the other side of the bed. Very tight space, some might say compact and bijou and not a great deal of wardrobe or coat hanger space for a five day stay. We chose not to pass comment on this and got used to the room which in the end we found to be very comfortable.

Other than the above, no complaints at all. Everything is finished to a very high standard and all of the fixtures and fittings are top quality and all were spotlessly clean. The bed was ultra comfortable and we had a great sleep every night. The shower room was excellent too. To sum the room up, it was comfortable but small. Air con was a plus for us at was warm when we stayed in the city.

As I say, once we got accustomed to this, we could not find fault with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were plentiful with lots of serve yourself choices, and the seating areas including the outside balcony (one of the reasons we chose this place along with location) have to be used to appreciate the hotel properly. As there was little space in the room we were given, we chose to use the hotel seating areas and the balcony rather than be in our room, just using the room to sleep and freshen up really. This made our stay a very pleasant one. Being able to come back to the hotel whenever you liked through the day and grab your own tea/coffee in the lounge or on the balcony was a very nice touch which we appreciated. As we chose to walk everywhere in Amsterdam and the hotel location meant we almost always found ourselves back in the neighbourhood.

Overall my wife and I would both highly recommend this hotel, however, beware of the steps (if you are advancing in years or suffer mobility issues you would not appreciate them, they may cause you problems) and you would need to get used to using the lounge facilities as the room we had was quite small.

Room Tip: Sleeping at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy as it faces a busy street. Not a problem for c...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fubarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for Clemens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Clemens hotel, such a great find in this great city. All the reviews about the stairs are true! However, to experience first hand is another thing. The staff was very helpful in taking up my luggage. We booked a triple room and found the room to be very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We had a garden view. Even with three girls in one room with luggage, it wasn't overly crowded. The breakfast was a good assortment of pastries, yogurt, and meats. It was a great start to our day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tnlctygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having got over the initial shock of the very steep stairs, the hotel is brilliant. The staff and the cats are welcoming and very friendly. From the very pretty balcony there is a stunning view of the royal palace and the westerkerk (tower) - recommend going to top with the excellent Adrian, our guide. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and can be enjoyed on the picturesque balcony whilst watching the world go by. Rooms are small but comforable and spotless, and the waterfall shower is a nice touch. Excellent central location (2 minute walk from Anne Franks house) - pre-book tickets on line for that one to skip the queues as they are are horrendous all day. Hotel is part of a characteristic building with an attractive facade which makes it easy to locate. Bike hire and pancake house only a couple of doors down. Would also thoroughly recommend the cafe next door to Anne Franks house. Dutch people are very hospitable and speak better English than us :) Biggest recommendation we could give is that we would not hesitate to go again!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms of the front of the hotel have their own balconies
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms are so cute, and really clean. Delicious breakfast. The stairs are a bit steep and narrow, but the staff is always willing to help andake sure you have everything you need to feel comfortable! I had a great time at the hotel and Amsterdan is just gorgeous!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Clemens Hotel is central to many things in Amsterdam. You can get to/from the following places on foot (or bike) quite easily - train station, restaurants, Red Light district, 9 Streets, Anne Frank House, Museums, pubs. The rooms were small but nicely designed with great showers and bathrooms. Reception was helpful and breakfast was good. For a taste of traditional Dutch architecture all you have to do is look up the steep stair case from the front door, it'll put a smile on your face (unless you have a huge suitcase).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank xstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a work trip. I had a single room on 2nd floor. Was a compact room but very clean and had lovely clean bathroom with waterfall shower. TV was as big as the wall!
Bed really comfy (single) and lovely view out the back. Nice to hear church bells each morning too.
Very friendly reception staff. Lovely greeting on arrival and offer of a drink. Were very accommodating to pull up the sofa to let my friend and I watch the penalties when stumbling in from a bar on the evening of the World Cup semis (shame Holland lost :()
Breakfast very nice. Loads on offer, cheeses, breads, toast, cereal etc.. and breakfast room very clean and bright and nice. 2 resident cats very sweet too.
If you want budget with cleanliness and friendliness this is the place to go.
Only downfall, the very steep stairs when you arrive but they are worth the climb and the staff are willing to help with bags etc..
Id probably return for short trips again as actually better than a 4 star I stayed in the month previous!
Location very good too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scruffymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent location, staff lovely, breakfast very good, if you are missing your cats while away on holidays: stay here there are two lovely cats to smooch!!! As everyone else said the stairs are steep but even our 77 yr old mother in law managed them 2 to 3 times per dsy

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,196 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,075 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#106 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,991 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 371 in Amsterdam
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $145 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing