We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hidden Gem”
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #25 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a work trip. I had a single room on 2nd floor. Was a compact room but very clean and had lovely clean bathroom with waterfall shower. TV was as big as the wall!
Bed really comfy (single) and lovely view out the back. Nice to hear church bells each morning too.
Very friendly reception staff. Lovely greeting on arrival and offer of a drink. Were very accommodating to pull up the sofa to let my friend and I watch the penalties when stumbling in from a bar on the evening of the World Cup semis (shame Holland lost :()
Breakfast very nice. Loads on offer, cheeses, breads, toast, cereal etc.. and breakfast room very clean and bright and nice. 2 resident cats very sweet too.
If you want budget with cleanliness and friendliness this is the place to go.
Only downfall, the very steep stairs when you arrive but they are worth the climb and the staff are willing to help with bags etc..
Id probably return for short trips again as actually better than a 4 star I stayed in the month previous!
Location very good too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scruffymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent location, staff lovely, breakfast very good, if you are missing your cats while away on holidays: stay here there are two lovely cats to smooch!!! As everyone else said the stairs are steep but even our 77 yr old mother in law managed them 2 to 3 times per dsy

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Me and other 4 people stayed at Clemens for 4 nights. The hotel is well loccated, The staff is kind and helpful. As Amsterdam is a historical city, the hotel buildind doesnt have elevator, the stairs are quite steep, however, if you aren´t a disability, yes, you can to climb it!!!
For the same reason, the bedrooms aren´t new ones, but the price diserves it.
Near to almost everything. Maybe the longest distance is to get Heinneken, 20 minuts walking!
Next time in Amsterdam, clemens will my my hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanaMaria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a lovely 3 night stay in this 'boutique' hotel. The location was perfect for Dam Square and the Anne Frank House. The room, although small, was clean and breakfast had everything you needed. We also found the staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other local information. The stairs were steep but did not cause a problem for us..in fact it was a source of amusement as well as good exercise! We would certainly stay here again should we re-visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at Clemens Hotel and absolutely loved it. It has a very cozy, homey atmosphere and the staff is so friendly and helpful... the owner even fixed my broken suitcase for me! The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast is delicious. The only "negative" would be the steep and narrow staircases (37 steps from the entrance to reception and 19 steps to the next floor) that you have to navigate, but that is very typical of hotels in Amsterdam. The staff is very willing to carry suitcases up and down the stairs! We loved our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

1  Thank jscaglione
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very good location, a 5-minute walk from Dam Square and a 10-minute walk from De Wallen. Plenty of choice for breakfast for every taste - meats, cheese, fruit, pastries, juices. Friendly, helpful staff - in any case, suitcases up the stairs to the room we were dragged. The hotel has a lot of information booklets in Amsterdam and other Dutch cities. Near the reception are discount coupons for museums and cafes, the city plans, it was very helpfull. Wi-Fi perfect at any time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xenia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#98 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,136 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#49 of 375 in Amsterdam
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $109 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing