We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More for less” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #20 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More for less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Me and other 4 people stayed at Clemens for 4 nights. The hotel is well loccated, The staff is kind and helpful. As Amsterdam is a historical city, the hotel buildind doesnt have elevator, the stairs are quite steep, however, if you aren´t a disability, yes, you can to climb it!!!
For the same reason, the bedrooms aren´t new ones, but the price diserves it.
Near to almost everything. Maybe the longest distance is to get Heinneken, 20 minuts walking!
Next time in Amsterdam, clemens will my my hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanaMaria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    287
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
130
329
117
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a lovely 3 night stay in this 'boutique' hotel. The location was perfect for Dam Square and the Anne Frank House. The room, although small, was clean and breakfast had everything you needed. We also found the staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations and other local information. The stairs were steep but did not cause a problem for us..in fact it was a source of amusement as well as good exercise! We would certainly stay here again should we re-visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at Clemens Hotel and absolutely loved it. It has a very cozy, homey atmosphere and the staff is so friendly and helpful... the owner even fixed my broken suitcase for me! The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast is delicious. The only "negative" would be the steep and narrow staircases (37 steps from the entrance to reception and 19 steps to the next floor) that you have to navigate, but that is very typical of hotels in Amsterdam. The staff is very willing to carry suitcases up and down the stairs! We loved our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank jscaglione
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very good location, a 5-minute walk from Dam Square and a 10-minute walk from De Wallen. Plenty of choice for breakfast for every taste - meats, cheese, fruit, pastries, juices. Friendly, helpful staff - in any case, suitcases up the stairs to the room we were dragged. The hotel has a lot of information booklets in Amsterdam and other Dutch cities. Near the reception are discount coupons for museums and cafes, the city plans, it was very helpfull. Wi-Fi perfect at any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsingborg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very friendly staff. Nice balcony for brekfast. Small room but comfortably beeds. Very good location in the city center just near Anne Frank house and Jordan district. Good brekfast and coffe. In al a good place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goran21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I went to Amsterdam with my daughter last weekend and we stayed at the Clemens. The hotel is in a great location, our room was clean, modern and tidy with a lovely little balcony though a bit small. Reception and breakfast area were beautifully presented, the breakfast was plentiful with a good selection.
Receptonists were very welcoming and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and we will be coming back with the rest of our family in the near future.
Thanks.

Room Tip: Just be mindful of the steep staircases as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Property: Clemens Hotel
Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing