We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We are full satisfied” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #22 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Altenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We are full satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel is very clean and have a very friendly staff. Because of the location we were able to reach the most poinst of interest in a short time. In this Hotel you can take your breakfast on the balkony.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    303
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
136
356
123
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday, the hotel is in a great location, not far from dam square and Anne Frank house, very clean and friendly hotel staff. Great breakfast! Loved free tea and coffee all day, hotel has 2 cats but this wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at the hotel Clemens, 3 of us in a triple room - me, mum, mum in law. Very cosy!

The triple room was small, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was some storage, but not enough if you were staying for more than a few nights. The shower had plenty of hot water.

We loved the location - just 5 minutes from Dam Square and less to Ann Franks. There was a parallel road to Raadhuisstraat that had lots of nice bars and restaurants, and ended with our favourite bar, De Prins.

Back to the Clemens - the stairs are very steep but you soon get used to this and the staff help with your luggage. The staff also helped us print off concert tickets and gave us directions. I felt that they were all very accommodating.

We particularly enjoyed access to the lounge (with open coffee) and the verandah. Many an hour was spent watching the world go by. The continental breakfast was more than adequate.

This trip (the weather and the hotel) converted me to the joys of Amsterdam. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, providing there were no mobility problems.

Room Tip: The triple room was cosy, so we made good use of the lounge and verandah!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

perfectly located place, cozy room, super quiet, very clean, nice garden view, had the best sleep in months there! adventurous staircase only suitable for light luggage and flat shoes, but very friendly staff offering assistance anytime! loved the cats! nice breakfast spread with typical dutch treats like pindakaas and stroop. would come back here anytime, thank you for making my bday trip even more special!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Well located hotel for tourist attractions, with helpful staff. The décor is good, the rooms very clean, and breakfast more than adequate,

The Wi-Fi is good with a strong signal.

The rooms are small but again more than adequate.

I would use again and recommend to others.

The only caution is that there is not a lift so plenty of stairs.

Room Tip: choose the lowest floor possible if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porthmellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's a very nice hotel situated at about 5 minutes from dam Plaza. We love everything of this hotel!!! The room is small but clean and also romantic. The breakfast is good with a lot of type of bread, jam and nutella. We love also the stairs so high but very particular in Amsterdam. If we will return to Amsterdam we certanly return in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maraasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel was quite nice. However, I think I might have expected a little too much by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It's a perfectly adequate hotel if you're not expecting too many frills. It's basic accommodation and our room was pretty small.

I know everybody else has said about this but the stairs are a bit daunting to start off with. We had a room on the top floor and we nearly always had to take a break halfway up. You do get used to them a bit though. The staff were always very friendly.

The breakfast isn't much to write home about. It's pretty basic continental style. To be honest, I'm not a big fan of breakfast anyway but I did go down and try it out on the first day. I didn't bother after that. I've stopped in similar hotels with better breakfasts, i.e. a bit more choice.

I think probably the best thing about the hotel is its location. It's about a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. It's only a couple of blocks from Dam Square. Most attractions are within a walkable distance.

As I said, it's a perfectly good, budget hotel but don't get too carried away with some of the reviews.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor at the front with a balcony. It was nice to have a balcony and be abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#35 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Property: Clemens Hotel
Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing