We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    275
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
127
315
115
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Clemens was a fantastic choice for a 3 day trip to Amsterdam. Suited us just perfectly.
The location is great. Right by Westerkerk tram stop so an easy ride to and from Dam square or the station (we got a 72hr tram card which was great value for money). But our favourite area if the trip was the Jordaan which was a very short walk around the corner. Beautiful canals and good bars and restaurants....perfect! Despite it's quite central location the hotel does not feel loud or crowded. Elevated up off the street level it was a little haven.
The rooms are small but perfectly formed. Lovely decor, clean and modern. The bathroom and rain shower were fab! One small suggestion I might have for the rooms would be an extra mirror in the bedroom? The only one was in the bathroom so I annoyed my other half when he was showering as i wanted to do my makeup! A very small point though and by no means a criticism! The room was perfect for us and the view was amazing!
Breakfast was lovely. A good selection in a nice comfortable room. Reception itself was very clean and relaxed with free hot drinks which was a nice touch. The staff were really helpful and let us leave our cases on the last day as our flight wasn't until the evening.
All in all a great stay and the perfect choice.
Thanks so much.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank morgankathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My heart sank when I swung open the doors of the Hotel Clemens to find a thin, near-vertical wall of stairs vanishing off into the clouds. It was like something out of a Led Zeppelin song.

I needn’t have worried.

The kind gentleman on the reception desk was down in a jiffy to help us with our bags. We had arrived a little too early to check-in, however this gent kindly took our bags into a holding room, provided us with a map of the city and then spent some time offering suggestions and advice on the what’s, when’s, where’s and how’s of Amsterdam. He also offered us a seat in the lobby and we were encouraged to help ourselves to some tea and coffee.

Mid-way through our coffee, he brought us complimentary muffins and biscuits. It was a really nice and unexpected pick-me-up after hours in transit and lots of heavy bag-pulling. As I always say, it’s the little things that make all the difference when you’re traveling.

The rooms are small, but very cosy. The beds are sublime and breakfast each morning is simple but manages to do the trick.

The hotel is in a great location, literally around the corner from Anne Frank House and less than five minutes walk from Dam Square.

If you’re looking for a nice stay, friendly service and an easy and convenient location, look no further than the Hotel Clemens!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved this little hotel, perfectly situated in the heart of Amsterdam literally a few minutes' walk from the Anne Frank Huis. Rooms were very small but comfortable and laid out well -- we got our best sleep of our trip here -- but those stairs two flights up to check in are not for the faint of heart (we had no problem with them, but they are not stairs our septuagenerian and octogenarian parents could handle). Nice breakfast, very nice staff, and a welcome change from chains. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband this January. If you're looking for cosy, friendly with all the basics this place is perfect. It's centrally located so great for sightseeing. Very clean and tidy, nicely decorated and often had flowers out, and we found all the staff to be very courteous and helpful. The room was quite small but comfortable and had an ensuite. Good continental breakfast buffet offered in the morning. Also, our flight wasn't leaving Amsterdam until 9pm and they were quite happy to store our bags all day after we checked out which was very convenient. Overall, highly recommend as a cheap and cheerful place to stay and enjoy Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel Clemens is a great hotel nearby “De Dam” and not far from the Jordaan. The employees are friendly and helpful. Everything is clean and well maintained. The rooms are quite small, and in room 203 isn’t space for a big suitcase. Breakfast is basic but complete. To enter the hotel, you need to climb a narrow, and quite steep staircase. For less able people this can be a problem. The hotel has 2 sweet cats which walk around freely in the lobby annex breakfast room. If you are allergic, this might be a problem.

Room Tip: I think 203 is one of the smallest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lovely clean hotel - very impressed. Typical steep Dutch stairs to the reception & rooms so not for the infirm. Friendly staff, good location, on the whole I would stay here again. However breakfast left a lot to be desired not a lot of choice would of liked something a bit more substantial to start the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,284 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Property: Clemens Hotel
Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing