We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clemens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clemens Hotel
Ranked #20 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location. The staff were very friendly and had 2 lovely cats.
The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Our room was small but it was clean and very nice decoration. Would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden it would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    287
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
130
329
117
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

spot on hotel .superb staff very steep stairs are always talked about but not a problem .even to an old man like me.breakfast superb.room small but very nice.cant fault it.very clean and tidy.recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reinhard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Clemens is very central, which makes it ideal for a weekend break to Amsterdam. The rooms are cozy, and the best part of my stay there was the breakfast. Very good and in a very nice room with nice views either to the back or to the street. Be prepared to climb the very steep steps as you enter the hotel, though!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast Division, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is located at the centre of city, very accessible to many forms of transportation. Having very friendly and polite staff. Cosy lobby with 24 hours hot beverages free flow in supply ..Definitely rate this hotel the best in town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siewchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I loved the interiors and design pretty much. The room I stayed in was a single room and it was greatly designed for just one person to fit in, I had everything I needed. The breakfast was really good. You get everything you want from a two star hotel even more. I have to mention the great staff which were smiling all the time and very friendly and helpful.
Maybe I could say the first impression you get from the surrondings is not the best, but once you get inside you will definetely like it. Beware the steps, a little too steep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my dad. Our welcome was great with a free drink. Steps are very steep so watch out! We thought they were good fun! Staff are so friendly & can't do enough to help. Lovely room & balcony, although a bit loud with the trams outside but didn't bother us. Very clean, well looked after hotel. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Free wifi is a gem! Thanks very much for our lovely stay : )

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ILoveSpongebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We enjoyed a 1 night break at this hotel. The hotel location is very central. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need. We had a balcony, which was great to sit out for a night cap and gave a little extra space as the rooms are quite small. The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. A welcome drink on arrival and we had a good buffet breakfast. Checkout was 11am but the staff offered to look after our bags as we were not leaving the city until late afternoon. For a short break we could not ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snailmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clemens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clemens Hotel

Property: Clemens Hotel
Address: Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clemens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Clemens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clemens Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing