We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great staff, but the smallest rooms and no wifi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam Inn
Ranked #295 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Great staff, but the smallest rooms and no wifi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It's gotta be one of the smallest rooms in the city...about 1.5m x 2.5m. There was a balcony, but you had to pull the beds away from the doors and climb over the beds to get to it. Doing this effectively blocked the door to the toilet, so you had to rearrange the room continually. There was wifi, but it never worked, so you had to go to the lobby in the hotel across the street. rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. we oved to a hotel down the street after 3 days and paid 25 euros less for a 5m x4m room with not only wifi, but a computer in the room. I'd pass on this hotel in the future. Our room was a double, so I can only imagine what the triple and quads must be like.

Room Tip: Look at the room first and then choose another hotel. This one is a last resort hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abdel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    97
    95
    56
    147
See reviews for
52
108
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grosseto, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

really nice hotel for young people, not realy near city centre but for me was better because i can saw the city and visit everything.
soft and comfortable beds and nice room
right quality/price. enjoy your travel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank zizzi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

In the hotel we have been on April 2009 and as a building is an old one but for what you pay is ok.
I suggest you to go there with friends and not couples as you will need only one place to sleep this hotel is okay because is in the heard of the coffee shops as well. It wasnt very clean and whatever but when you go with friends you don't care because you just need a sleep, the rest hours you will be outside ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I don't think I have ever been in a smaller room before. Even a Formule 1 in France is 10 times more comfortable. We were at the first floor and the windows didn't close properly so anyone could climb and enter our room. Once you put yourself in the bed, it is as if you touched the floor because of its extreme softness. The reception isn't even in the hotel, the receptionnist were unpleasan and the price were so shocking : 160€ for a two-bed room!!!!!
But I guess I learned from that mistake and hope to never do it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wilou02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked the Amsterdam Inn Hotel through an international booking website where it is presented as a two stars budget hotel. At the arrival it turned out to be not a real hotel, but a cheap and very basic hostel. The reception is in a different building across the road. The guy at the reception was rude and asked for a higher price than the one we booked online. After our complain he asked for an additional 4% surcharge for the credit card payment, all in advance at the check in. This is not mentioned anywhere. To avoid the 4% surcharge we had to pay cash.
The interiors and the rooms were another bad surprise: they are very different from the pictures online. The room was small, cheap and shabby: dirty, broken windows, uncomfortable beds, worn-out furniture, electric wires visible everywhere, the heating was turned off at night. A small TV panel on the wall was a wreck and never worked. The bathroom doesn't have even the towel bar. The wi-fi connection is poor and unstable. A very steep and narrow stairway to get the upper floors.
The overall value-for-price is definitively negative: it is way too expensive. This is not a hotel. The only good point is the location on a canal in the center. Definitively not recommended, especially not for families. Consider only in case of a very cheap price and if you are fine with an extremely basic and low-quality accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

on march 11th myself and my husband and my mam went to stay in this hotel, when we checked in we were very dissapointed as the room was really dirty, there wasnt any plug sockets low down they were high up and when you plugged out in you got a shock,when complaining to the sister hotel nothing was done about it.my husband nearly fell threw the window when he sat on the bed as the bed moved as the so called cleaners left the big window wide open,we got woken up at 1.30am with fire alarm and no one came to see us about it,and wouldnt say it was a family hotel due to gang bangs above our room wasnt happy..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Me and my three friends stayed here,the service given to us at the hotel Marnix was excellent let us keep the room too free of charge,hotel Amsterdam inn is just across the road,the stairs are very sleep and narrow,the room we had was a quad room (two singles and a bunk bed),beds were comfy enough & clean,bathroom was perfectly clean,enough plug sockets,only had one hanger tho!over all a fab stay at this hotel,would recommend to a friend.x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#285 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#199 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#315 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#268 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam Inn

Property: Hotel Amsterdam Inn
Address: Leidsegracht 111, 1017 ND Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel de Lantaerne)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amsterdam Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures after renovation 2011environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lantaerne Hotel
De Lantaerne Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing