We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very bad hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam Inn
Ranked #295 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    97
    95
    56
    148
See reviews for
52
108
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

two fire alarms in two nights, the stairs are like climbing Mt. Olympus! And guess what floor we were on? TOP! The rooms were clearly missing a update from when it was first build! The beds swallowed you, no joke... but It made the Amsterdam experience all worth while. 2 mins from the Pub crawl so well located!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_tkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

beacuse it was easter holiday, the price was so expensive for the service, no wifi in my room although it is in the room description , no electricity in the room at night for two days. the room is too small and there was no wordrobe, TV is not working, the room service didn't clean the room every day with no toilet rolls. the girl in the recepition was not helpful at all with no smile. maybe the best point that the hotel is 20 minutes walk to the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I booked my stay here with 2 friends so we booked a triple room. We had booked the hotel before checking the reviews on Trip Adviser so when we did check them we were quite worried what we were going to find! However when we got there the receptionist was really nice and promptly checked us in. We went to our room to be pleasantly surprised, yes, it was small and basic but it was all very clean and the beds were really comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean and was quite large with a shower and a toilet. A lot of people have complained about the stairs in the hotel, they are quite steep, BUT, all buildings in amsterdam are like this so its not just the Lantaernes stairs.

The location of the hotel is amazing. It is virtually on Leidsplein square which offers a lot of bars, resteraunts and "coffee shops". It has a tram stop which is really handy for getting around the city and seeing all the great sights.

We went to a few places whilst we were there but the two i would recommend are the ice bar (amazing), and the anne frank museum!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is higher up - yes you have to climb a few stairs but the views over the canals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonmarc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I booked this hotel before I knew about Trip Advisor but happened to come across the reviews a few days before my trip. Naturally I was absolutely terrified after reading all of the awful reviews. However, I was really pleasantly surprised.

The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic - a five minute walk from the Leidseplein, which is a really nice square filled with bars, restaurants, coffee shops etc. There's also a tram station there so it's really handy for catching trams to all over the city.

The room itself was very simple and basic, however, it was immaculately clean and the bathroom was clearly newly fitted. The bedding was clean and soft and the beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was 5 Euro each and was certainly worth it. Again it was a simple/basic breakfast, however you would be hard pressed to find something of the same price in a local cafe.

All in all for the price I paid it was extremely good value for money. Either they must have had some renovations since some of the previous reviews, or I was just lucky enough to stay in one of the nicer rooms (number 18). If you're looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful that's really close to all the main attractions then this hotel is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Apart from the location, there is nothing else going for this place. Walls and beds were dirty. We booked an en-suite and were given a shared bathroom which was disgusting. There must be better hotels than this in Amsterdam so avoid this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgriff15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#285 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#200 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#316 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#267 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#63 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam Inn

Property: Hotel Amsterdam Inn
Address: Leidsegracht 111, 1017 ND Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel de Lantaerne)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amsterdam Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pictures after renovation 2011environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lantaerne Hotel
De Lantaerne Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing