We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hosts, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Leydsche Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Leydsche Hof
Ranked #122 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed for four nights, using Amsterdam as our home-base for sight-seeing. The hotel is in a very old home, located along a historic canal. It was a great location! It was central to many sights and restaurants. The trams to Amsterdam Central Station drop-off and pick-up very close to the hotel (only about 2 blocks away.) Each morning we enjoyed a delicious Dutch breakfast from our host Frits. He was very helpful in helping us plan our sightseeing, and gave us great recommendations for cafes and pubs. The room overlooked a back courtyard, which was nice. The free Wi-Fi was very fast and reliable. The bathroom was small, but clean. There were mosquitos in our room, and we did get bit, even though we used the mosquito net.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mplsfoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

I actually stayed here in October of 2009. Although the climb to the room was long and the stairway narrow , once reached was one of the nicest rooms i've stayed anywhere. Right on the prettiest blocks in the city on a canal and clase to every attraction in the city.
The hosts Fritz and Loes, along with Peter, Loes father were just the nicest. I'd recommend this small hotel to anyone seeking a true Dutch experience.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popiel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We woke poor Loes up one night to make a last minute booking. She was very gracious even half asleep! Upon arrival we were greeted by Frits who gave us the tour and helped carry up a suitcase, he may have regretted that but didn't show it. He took the time to circle points of interest on a map and mention a few of his favorites. After that we were left alone in our very quiet room. It was tastefully decorated , had a view overlooking a garden courtyard and was clean and bright. Lovely bathroom. Our candlelit breakfast was a perfect Dutch way to start our day, while enjoying classical music and intelligent conversation. We put down the mosquito net because it was cozy and romantic, we had no issues with the mosquitoes. This is a place for grownups and Frits and Loes are wonderful hosts. Location ideal. There was an older couple here who were under the weather and they prepared a breakfast tray to be taken up and helped translate instructions on the medicine label.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idontwannagohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Our stay at the Hotel De Leydsche Hof was a disaster. We stayed there three nights, Sept. 18-19-20. The location is great but our experience at the B&B stay was not. The owners, Frits and Loes, were not the least bit welcoming or helpful. We simply asked Frits for some directions for a restaurant and it took four requests before he reluctantly helped us. Worse, the room was infested with mosquitoes. We did not open the windows and the mosquito net above the bed could not contain the insects. My wife received more than 30 bites on our last night there. I checked and did not find that Amsterdam has a huge mosquito problem. I did notice that the B&B had a few pools of standing water in the backyard that were probably the source of the mosquitoes. The rooms was also kind of shabby and not very clean.

At 120 euros a night, it is not cheap. But I wouldn't stay there again even if it was free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkD202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We just stayed at Hotel de Leydsche Hof and were very pleased. It was our first time at a B&B and Frits made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The room we stayed in was large and nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was simple and plentiful. We got tons of excellent restaurant and bar recommendations from Frits, which really made our stay there extra special. A charming, laid back place to stay while in beautiful Amsterdam!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4STraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

This is an awesome hotel/B&B by the canals and very near the flower market, in an old house from the 17th century. You really get the feeling that you are staying at somebody else´s home. They only rent two rooms which keeps the sense of privacy. The room we stayed in was big, with own bathroom and shower. We had views to the backyard, and it was very quiet.
The hosts were very nice, and the breakfast was great!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneanddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed in this hotel from the 31st of july to the 3rd of august 2008. The location is fantastic - the hotel is situated on a quite canal within a short walking distance of many of Amsterdam's main attractions. Loes and Fritz who run this family owned hotel are lovely, we got a very large room with extremely comfortable beds, the breakfast was nice and Fritz's advise very helpful.
We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AdiTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sir Nico Guest House
Sir Nico Guest House
#58 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Miauw Suites
Miauw Suites
#109 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam 4holiday
Amsterdam 4holiday
#99 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Leydsche Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leydsche Hof

Property: De Leydsche Hof
Address: Leidsegracht 14, 1016 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Leydsche Hof is a 17th century golden age canal house, situated on one of the premier canals in the grachten gordel (canal neighborhood) of Amsterdam. The house is located on the Leidsegracht (Leidse Canal) which is not a thoroughfare and thus promotes a peaceful night's sleep in Amsterdam. The canals and bridges are lighted at night and thus create a wonderful, festive atmosphere! Hotel de Leydsche Hof used to be a hotel and has been renovated into a B&B with 4 rooms in total. The owners decided to keep the original name of the property as Hotel de Leydsche Hof. The rooms of Hotel de Leydsche Hof are beautifully decorated and roomy and can be reached by easy staircases (there are no elevators in the house). Each room features a seating area, cable TV and free wi-fi. The private bathroom has a shower and toilet. Loes and Frits, the owners, will be serving breakfast each morning if so ordered. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room which in the front of the house overlooking the canal. Hotel de Leydsche Hof is situated in the very heart of Amsterdam close to shopping areas, the Royal Palace, Dam Square, Anne Frank House and the Rijksmuseum. Tram stop Koningsplein is only 300 metres away, tram lines 1, 2 and 5 go there. It provides easy access to the Central Station of Amsterdam and the rest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your De Leydsche Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Leydsche Hof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing