We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Canal House Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hoksbergen
Ranked #200 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Canal House Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I booked 3 rooms (2 twins & 1 single). The hotel was located within easy reach of Dam Square (7 mins) and RijksMuseum (20 mins). The rooms were a little on the smallish side but each had ensuite bathroom and toilet facilities. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms and toilets clean and mold free. The rooms were well heated and I found the windows opened easily to allow fresh air in. Maybe a couple more hangers in the wardrobes would have been useful.
The stairs were a little steep, but that's normal in Canal Houses.
I was impressed with the breakfasts that were well beyond what 2 star hotels tend to offer.
The staff were very helpful. One of 2 brothers (an oriental gentleman) was really helpful in providing alternative solutions for getting to Keukenhof.
The hotel allowed us to drop off our cases when we arrived (prior to check-in) and again allowed us to store our cases on our departure day for us to collect in the evening.
There were lots of nice lunch cafes nearby and some really good restaurants in the vicinity. Being situated on the Singel canal made finding our way back to the hotel very easy as well as nice views from the front facing rooms.
Overall, for a 2 star hotel I rate this highly.

Room Tip: I found the rooms quie. If you have knee problems then specify a lower floor room as the stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    143
    65
    26
    14
See reviews for
50
147
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

In general, our stay in Hoksbergen was good. The situation is excellent, in front of a canal, very closed to Damm Square an other touristic attractions. Our small complaints are about the comfort: it is in an old building and the stairs are difficult to go up and down (there's no elevator), the rooms are really small and in one of them you can't even close the door of the bathroom when you're inside.
For the rest, good breakfast and kind staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Enric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for placing a review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a good time in Amsterdam.

Small sized rooms are quite typical in a dense city like Amsterdam, however for your next visit, please donot hesitate to ask one of us to help you with your Luggage. We are more than willing to help you carry your Luggage up and down.

Looking forward to having you as a guest in our hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

Not far from City Center, but rooms are very small (see photo). Free Wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evgeny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were very pleased with both the location, right on the Singel Canal, and the staff. Virtually everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Rooms were very small as expected in an old canal house. Decor and carpets could have used updating/replacing but everything was very clean. Included breakfast was simple but adequate, including some meats and cheese, hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread and fruits.
We started on the second floor but found the second floor stairs too steep for our old legs. We expected steep but not that much. After two nights, we were able to move down one flight for a night but then switched to another hotel because of the stairs. The management was very accomodating with our moving around.
The other thing I missed was having a lobby to hang out in during early morning hours when I was awake but my wife was still sleeping. Unfortunately, they lock off their dining room overnight, otherwise I would have sat there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Hoksbergen with my boyfriend and we were very pleasantly surprised. We paid 350 euros for a double room with no canal view. Sure the decor, carpets, furniture could do with updating but our room was spotless, was cleaned everyday (including fresh towels provided). Our bathroom had just been recently renovated.

As others have mentioned the stairs are steep but during our stay we came to learn that this is the norm for canal houses. We didn't find the stairs a problem but anyone who has walking / breathing difficulties might.

The hotel is very centrally located - 2mins to dam square and within walking distance of all the attractions we wanted to visit during our stay (anne frank museum, zoo, madame tussauds, dungeons, canal museum, etc etc).

The breakfast was very basic so if you are looking for something more special then don't stay here but it was more than adequate and set us up well for the day. Cereal, toast, juice, apples, oranges, ham, cheese, tea, coffee, crackers and rice cakes.

Our only complaint - and its a very minor one - is that there were no tea and coffee making facilities. We are both big tea and coffee drinkers and this meant that we spent a small fortune - which we hadn't budgeted for - on takeaway tea and coffees from cafes during the day.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank amandamc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perfect, central location, all points of interest at walking distance. Friendly people. Spacious apartment, very clean. Old building, but that is normal in the center of Amsterdam. The double bed had a uncomfortable matrass.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyHamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Property: Hotel Hoksbergen
Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing