We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff. Well situated hotel”
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hoksbergen
Ranked #233 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very pleasant little hotel in a quiet road by the side of one of the Amsterdam canals. Conveniently situated for all the major sites - the furthest away of these are the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum which are a pleasant 30 minute of so walk or a tram ride (tram stop just 3/4 minutes away).

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Other people have commented on the steep stairs (apparently the norm in old Amsterdam buildings). This is just something you have to put up with for all the other advantages of this hotel. Personally I found coming down the stairs worse as the steps are quite narrow - just take it easy and its something you get used to after a couple of goes.

The only thing I would really criticise is the breakfast - standard fare I suppose for Dutch hotels but they could try to use something better than standard sliced brown or white bread and the fruit had seen better days!

Room Tip: As I'm sure everyone else would say, try to get one on a lower floor (mine was at the very top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 376 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This B&B Hotel was a great treat. Not sumptuous by any stretch, the rooms were more than adequate. En suite, above average breakfast, and centrally located, this place is tough to beat at the rate we paid (nothing out of the ordinary - which is to say we had no discounts). All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful; Bruno is a standout! Exceptional in his helpfulness, and willingness to assist an aging couple to their second floor room (which, though declined, was damned decent - - the ascent [with luggage] up the fairly narrow, steep staircase [no elevator available] was something of a challenge). Our staying at Hoksbergen was a very large contributor to our enjoying Amsterdam so very much. Kudos on all fronts; very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a great find- clean, quiet room on a quiet canal near all the attractions. It was tiny, mind you, and the stairs were very steep but we had no complaints. Good wifi, decent breakfast, helpful staff. (The gentlemen at the desk will help with suitcases on the stairs if needed). Excellent wifi as well. I wasn't crazy about the carpeting in the room but was otherwise very happy with it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for seven days in early July. All members of the staff were always helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to problem solve for us. An example - After we checked out, we realized that we left an iPhone charger in the room. They immediately responded to our email and, once the charger was found, mailed it to our home in the USA.
Great 17th century building which means no elevator or air conditioning. However, there was a fan in our room and the windows opened. Be prepared to carry your bags up and down stairs.
Our room was small but adequate. Breakfast included. Basic but tasty. Canal view.
Hotel in great location near Dam Square but off the beaten path on Singel Canal. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

would stay here again. good location, breakfast is very basic but good, staff is friendly, there is not elevator, the AC is a fan on the wall or on a table. it is clean and love the location, Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights and the staff was extremely helpful. When we registered the clerk gave us a map, and showed us some of the highlighted areas around town. We requested a twin room with a canal room and they were very accommodating. The view of the Singel canal was gorgeous. The room was quite tiny and there was no elevator to get to the fourth floor but the staff helped us with our luggage. Breakfast was included and they had a nice variety of cereal, eggs, breads, meats, and cheeses. We checked out early the last day before breakfast and the staff offered us coffee even though they weren't set up yet. What I liked best was the area. It was walking distance from most everything but far enough away from all the noise and hubbub of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the apartment which is in a different location to the hotel. The pictures you see on the internet are definitely not of the apartment. The apartment is very dated and has that 'old' smell that hits you the moment you walk in. The apartment could certainly do with a renovation and an update to modernise it. The room leans to one side which constantly gives you the feeling that you are about to fall over. The apartment is also situated along a street that has an enormous amount of traffic 0-24, both foot and vehicle. The windows don't really close properly and there is absolutely NO soundproofing. Every person that goes past it feels like they're in the room with you at 3am.
On the plus side the location is great and the WiFi internet worked very well.
Accurate photos of the apartment would have been nice so we may have been able to prepare ourselves. I certainly wouldn't call this value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Owner at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your evaluation.
We feel very sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with the apartment.
Our apartments are located in one of the famous nine little streets and is just one bridge away from the hotel. This is clearly mentioned on our hotel website.
We have detailed, recent and updated pictures of EACH apartment on our website, even mentioning which floor they are located on. Each apartment is different and if guests have a preference for one of the apartments, we do our very best to book that specific apartment. Putting old pictures or pictures of somewhere else (like you state) would of course be without any sense and unacceptable. We are an honest hotel and provide honest information to all our guests, because we want them to be happy during their stay with us.
We do not share the same opinion about the state of maintenance. We just had tthe apartments painted last winter and there is more renovation to come, but we like to maintain the unique characteristics of this monumental building. It is a very typical outlay which you can find only in the center of Amsterdam.
Most of the building is wood, so indeed, it is probably more noisy than you could have expected. On the other hand, they are located in the very centre/downtown Amsterdam in an area which is celebrating its 400 anniversary this year, so any noise is unavoidable.
Finally, we are just a budget two star hotel with two star apartments, this is also how we present our hotel and the price is accordingly. Higher expectations than that can't be met.
There are surely more modern apartments in Amsterdam center, but surely also at much higher costs and absolutely surely without the typical character.
We hope that our mismatch did not stand in your way of having a very pleasant time in Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#297 of 374 in Amsterdam
582 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#92 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#160 of 374 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing