We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ATT:The apertment has not canal view!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hoksbergen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hoksbergen
Ranked #221 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ATT:The apertment has not canal view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

On the website of hotel, you can get the closer information about the apartment, but not on Easytobook.com! We ware very disappointed with the room on the grand floor of street side. But our room was big enough for 4 persons with 55 qm!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank WienHammerschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    146
    68
    27
    17
See reviews for
51
153
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Readfield, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My daughter and I visited Amsterdam in May of 2012 and stayed at Hotel Hoksbergen for three nights. I really enjoyed this hotel. It is in the old section of the city, on a quiet canal, and within a short walk or bicycle ride from the anywhere you might want to visit. We asked for a canal view room when booking and the owners accommodated us. It was spectacular to be able to pull back the drapes, crack the window, and listen to the sounds of people passing on the canal. I'd highly recommend this hotel to people wanting an authentic inner city Amsterdam experience with a couple of wonderful hosts. The only cautions I'd provide is if you have problems with steep stairs or very tiny bathrooms, you won't like this hotel. Pay in cash for a better rate. Using your credit card in Amsterdam is almost always more expensive.

Pros: Great hosts
Comfortable, but small, rooms
Clean rooms and common spaces
Good, but not special, breakfast provided

Cons: Steep stairs for those that might have trouble with them
Tiny bathrooms. I'm not kidding, tiny. Like submarine tiny. Very nicely done, but tiny, really, really tiny.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was very unsatisfied with this hotel/apartment and the person in charge. He was extremely rude and even came in and yelled at us while proceeding to slam the door behind him. They promised us a nicer room on the reservation and through the pictures and we did not get what we payed for. The beds were even broken. The door on the bathroom wouldn't close and there was constant noise. Horrible experience and a very unprofessional owner

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoksbergen, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hoksbergen, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry you weren’t happy with your room during your 3 night stay. We are sorry we got that angry at you, because we could have given the same message without yelling and slamming the door. The shortcomings of the room you talk about are repaired now. Thank you for informing us about them.
Regards from staff of Hotel Hoksbergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in February. I decided on this hotel mostly because of our budget-- my husband and I had our hearts set on having a canal view, and many other hotels charged MUCH higher prices for rooms with canal views. We had a room on the third floor and pretty much fell in love with the view right away. That alone made our stay worthwhile. Obviously if you want the experience of staying in a 300 year old canal house, you have to be willing to make some sacrifices. There's no elevator and the rooms are incredibly small, but again, the view and the location (easy walking distance to all major sights) make up for it. The free breakfast was very good (try the chocolate sprinkles on toast!), and the staff was always friendly and helpful, making reservations for us several times. My only complaint was that sometimes a funky rotten egg smell would mysteriously pervade our room, which I think another reviewer mentioned. But it was bearable. If you're on a budget, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMJ315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hoksbergen was ideal for us, we were on a trip to Europe and for our stay in Amsterdam, the Hoksbergen hotel was perfect! We had everything we needed in our room and above all, A WOOW canal view! The surrounding of the hotel was very safe, no problem at all for three girls in a new city, even at night. The staff helped us with all our questions and we started every morning with a very nice breakfast in their cute breakfast area. Thank you Hoksbergen!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#285 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#148 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#305 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoksbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoksbergen

Property: Hotel Hoksbergen
Address: Singel 301, 1012 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hoksbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small hotel is situated in a beautiful canal-house that is over 300 years old, nestled on the quiet, picturesque Singel, the oldest of the four major ring canals in Amsterdam's famed inner city. Our cosy hotel offers an oasis right in the centre of town. The hustle and bustle of the shopping streets around Dam Square, the charm of the myriad canals lined with 17th-century houses and world famous sights, such as the Anne Frank House, are all literally steps away. There are also convenient trams and other public transport options to whisk you off to all of the city's many attractions. Room information: the hotel offers 13 double and single rooms and one triple room. We serve a good continental breakfast-buffet in our light and pleasant breakfast room. Rooms are ready for check in at 14.00 o'clock. If you arrive earlier we can store your luggage until then. We look forward to have you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hoksbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoksbergen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing