We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay as long as you don't mind the stairs”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #158 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The DeVries are very welcoming and obviously care about the wellbeing of their guests. The hotel is located on a beautiful canal, and it's centrally located to most of downtown Amsterdam. We stayed on the very top floor, which meant lots and lots of stairs. It wasn't a problem for us, but anyone with any kind of physical limitations should think twice before staying here. Aside from that, the room was clean and affordable, i.e. perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRiley164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 306 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Keizershof in April this year and it exceeded all our expectations. It is a charming seventeenth century canal-house, owned by the De Vries family and located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic center of Amsterdam.
We stayed in the Rita Hayworth room, a double room on the third floor overlooking the pretty gardens below. There was a shower and toilet in our room in addition to tea and coffee making facilities. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious, the doonas and pillows were soft and fluffy and the bed was very comfortable.
Each morning we were served a delicious Dutch breakfast that consisted of juice, tea or coffee, cereal, yoghurt, jam and Mary's home-made bread and special omelettes or eggs and bacon.
The Hotel Keizershof is within easy walking distance of all historic sites, including the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Coster Diamonds Museum, Dam Square and the Amsterdam flower market. There are also some delightful pubs, great restaurants and little eateries nearby.
We were staying at the Hotel Keizershof when there was an eruption at Eyjafjallajökull, Iceland on April 17. This meant that we were unable to fly home on 18th April. Mary, her daughter Hanneke and son Ernest did all they could to keep us up-to-date with the latest developments each day. The Hotel Keizershof became our 'home away from home' and the De Vries family 'our family' who cared and comforted us until we were finally able to get on a flight home 3 days later. When it came time to go, we were genuinely sorry to leave and will be forever grateful for the kindness that was shown to us during that time.
So, if you all looking for a real Dutch family experience, look no further! The De Vries family are waiting to welcome you to their hotel. What are you waiting for? Go on, book it and I hope like us, you'll find that a stay at Hotel Keizershof is a MOST delightful experience!
Cherie and Dick Wilkinson
Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Welcoming hosts. Great location on nice canel. Big room. Great breakfast. Received good recommendations with directions. Some street noise.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiteSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed in this charming B&B for 3 nights in March of 2010. We were delighted with the room, location, breakfast and hospitality. The mother, daughter and son were gracious in every way.

We found a Dutch cell phone on our first day and they were very helpful in translating the phone info and were able to contact the owner and secure it's safe return. This time was above and beyond they obligation, but they were delightful to assist.

Our room (Marlene Detrich Room on the 3rd floor) was large with a sink, table and chairs and a tv. We had a lovely view of their garden. The breakfasts were grand!!! Mary, the mother, provided us with numerous choices, toast, buns, caramel filled wafers, cornflakes, musleix, cheeses, fresh and dried fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea and a daily hot option. One day we had dutch pancakes with fresh strawberries and nutella. The second day we had cheese omlettes with chives. The third we had to leave early to catch the train on `easter. The son kindly gave us a bag of chocolate Easter cookies. We never had any cookie as good before.

Each day they gave us tips on things to do and where to go. And they even shared their living space in the evening. We had a great time sharing stories about travel, family and their B&B business.

Now we feel obligated to address the stairs. We stayed on the 3rd floor and did not struggle with the stairs. We expected stairs in Europe. And the twist, just made them more charming. If anyone has trouble with them, they may need to consider less luggage. If you do want to stay here and are concerned about the stairs book early and get the room on the 1st floor.

We traveled Europe for 6 weeks and this by far was our favorite place to stay. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngukuTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Each April I visit Amsterdam for a week of meetings. I want a place to stay where I feel at home, with a location convenient to the central city, with charm and personality. I return to Hotel Keizershof every year for these reasons and more. When I arrive from America, tired and jet lagged, Mary or Hanneke greet me at the door with, "Hello, Peter. Welcome home!" My room is a great value, looks out over the Keizersgracht, and has everything I need. Each morning Mary makes me a delicious omelette or pankoeken, freshly squeezed orange juice, hot and fresh bread, and I enjoy my meal seated around a table with fellow travelers from around the world. When I want to go out and enjoy the city, it's on my doorstep. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pedrosocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

What a lovely experience. We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of our month long European trip and it was quite nice. The hotel (more like a B&B than a hotel) is modest, but accomodated all of our needs. We arrived from Montreal QC at 6:00am Holland time and were provided with orange juice and bottomless coffee upon stepping into the B&B. The hosts are friendly and very helpful, and allowed us to use their computer to notify family members we had arrived safely. Breakfast is average. The B&B is located within walking distance of all main attractions and is in a great area.
It is good to note that our room was on the 3rd floor of an enormous, narrow, spiral staircase if mobility is a concern. There is also a law firm that rents out the second floor of the house; while taking the stairs up to your room you must cross through their offices. Kind of strange. Otherwise, a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug4816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

A great Bed & Breakfast hotel that has a very accommodating owner. She'll make an omelet breakfast if you wish and send you on your way from a very central location. The B & B is within a couple of blocks north of the Rijksmuseum and just several blocks south of Dam Square. Our room overlooked one of the many canals which while scenic does expose you to a little of the night noise from pedestrians.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 373 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,078 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#122 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 373 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#48 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $180 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing