We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel of our trip; charming spacious room”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #147 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2009

In spite of the very steep steps to our room, we were delighted with our choice. Our hosts were beyond friendly and even contributed food to our lunches for our train trip after we left. We like to find one-of-a-kind charming places wherever we visit and this hotel was memorable. We had a lovely view of the garden, a large room and all the usual amenities, plus helpful and charming hosts. It's location could not have been better. If you like your hotel rooms to be different from the ordinary, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazDenverColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Keizershof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 302 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

What a wonderful experience! It was fabulous in every way: location, genial hosts, a beautiful clean and spacious room (we stayed on the top floor overlooking the garden with a stunning view of the Rijksmuseum); and a hearty, delicious breakfast of eggs, fresh fruit and various breads and cheeses every morning. The deVries family is lovely and were a terrific resource for exploring Amsterdam. We can't say enough positive things about our stay. Negatives? Only that you need to be aware there is a very steep spiral staircase leading upstairs. It's not a chain hotel -- obviously. This is a place where you stay IN Amsterdam and are able to enjoy the city and all it has to offer. A five-star experience!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thohing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in the 4th floor garden-side room. The good: they were really nice people, made us omelets, the bathroom was clean, the room was big and it was quiet. The house had a lot of character.

Negatives: The room smelled old and mildewy. The carpet squares and cushions on chairs were threadbare. Also woke up to multiple mosquito bites (no screen on window). It wasn't very comfortable.

I saw some other rooms (singles) that looked better, so I just wouldn't recommend this one for the 115 euro we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SierraNevadaPaleEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We had a HUGE room with a private shower, and toilet down the hall. Room, shower & bathroom were very clean. Staff very nice, much like a pension.

Could hear ALL of the street noise... Get a room on the back if you stay here.

EXCELLENT breakfast--will sometimes make eggs if they have them.

Tiny circular stair case, difficult to walk up with a back pack on.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkEuroTrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I was really please with my choice about this Hotel (more a B&B than a Hotel). We can see what a house look like in Amsterdam.. This is soo narrow :P. The room was large though but no elevator and the spiral stairs and a pain when you have big luggage, hehehe. But this is part of being in Amsterdam.

We stay in the Charlie Chaplin room on the third floor with the view on the Canal.

We stay 2 nights and we enjoy only 1 breakfast since our train was leaving at 8am for the second day. Mary did some great pie, cookies. There was a lot of thing to eat!! :P and really delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darkfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

What a hotel! What a family! What a wonderful experience. We arrived and were immediately greeted by Hannake, the daughter running the hotel. She gave us many suggestions of wonderful things to do in Amsterdam and was extremely friendly. Mary, her mother, served homemade bread and pancakes for breakfast with the most wonderful spread of food I've ever seen in europen hotels (with cold milk for all Americans not used to the warm milk idea) Be warned, they aren't kidding when they say the spiral stair case creates problems. It's very difficult to get your luggage up the stairs if you haven't packed light. However, the view, the staff and the price really sold this hotel as one of my favorites. Would definately return!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LexingtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We went on our honeymoon last year (September 2007) and felt it was necessary to write a review. Better late than never...
What can I say other than what a wonderful experience. For all the guest complaining about warm orange juice, moquitoes I feel that you need to spend the money and stay in a five star palace. People always want the most value for their money and this is the place for an inexpensive (by Amsterdam standards) authentic Dutch experience. Food, service, cleanliness and location was impeccable.
The hot breakfast was more than adequete and kept us fueled until later that day. To spend money on breakfast in Amsterdam with what you recieve you would be paying up toward 20 euros per person. Give this place a chance if you want to stay in a canal house in the heart of Amsterdam with wonderful breakfast, comfortable rooms and a true B&B experience. We loved it and I hope you will too

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutchtreat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#177 of 371 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,196 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#59 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#108 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,205 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $183 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing