We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Short break from the 3rd to 7th April” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #130 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break from the 3rd to 7th April”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Had seen positive reviews on here and we were certainly not disappointed. Comfortable and clean (Rita Hayworth room). People very friendly and attentive to your needs. Excellent breakfast, particularly Ernest's omlette !!

Location spot on, at the heart of everything and nice setting overlooking the canal.


Would definately stay here again - fabulous !

Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    89
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
149
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Not even trip advisor can give the inside scoop like the delightful family owned and operated B&B. Location is amazing and the view from my room was incredible. Absolutely can not go wrong if you stay here; no brainer. Rooms are large, tv (why would you need one?), comfortable beds, and the breakfast; wish that I had a dutch omelet now. Having a big breakfast saves a bunch of money each day. Rent a bike for the week and get an annual museum pass. Plus fresh home backed bread!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you can manage the stairs to the top floor, then it is a really nice place to stay. It's family run and homely, nothing fancy but again it's a B&B. Everyone I met was very helpful and friendly. The price is super reasonable for Amsterdam given breakfast is included (yes, omelet on request as well). It's at a very convenient location, within walking distance to many restaurants and various attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wendy8zhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

A wonderful surprise! Three nights, and ideally located in the centre of Amsterdam. The perfect hosts, a charming house, and a magical world out the back. The best of Bed & Breakfast and hotel all in one. I am looking for an excuse to return to Amsterdam just to stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nostawhtebazile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Keizershof and I booked without difficulty on their website. I chose this hotel, which I would describe as a B & B, after looking on TripAdvisor. I was anxious about the spiral staircase so I chose my luggage with pull-along and back pack straps rather than a suit case, which was a good call. It was a bit of a huff and puff getting it up the wooden spiral stair case to the Rita Hayworth room on the third floor. HOWEVER it was absolutely worth that small struggle to be staying in a real old canal house with so much charm in a wonderfully central location with such a warm and welcoming Dutch family as our hosts.

We only rode a tram once as it was so easy to walk everywhere; the medieval centre in one direction, the museum area in the other and the two busy dining strips just a few blocks away on either side. It cost us just over 60Euros by taxi from the airport to the front door. The current rate for the room is 120 Euros per night.

Our room was quaint, comfortable and sufficiently spacious with a wall mounted flat screen television and a view over the large beautiful garden at the rear. It had a convenient bathroom with a very spacious shower. The other two rooms on that floor shared a bathroom and toilet. Of course everything was immaculately clean. I am not obsessed with food but I really looked forward to the fabulous breakfasts that Mary prepared for us each morning in the lovely ground floor kitchen-dining room-sitting room.

As for the staircase, my advice is Toughen Up Princess and remember that most of those cosy bars and cute brown cafes that you are going to love in Amsterdam will have toilets that are either up or down a spiral staircase that is probably steeper and smaller than the one at the Hotel Keizershof. It is all worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have just returned from 3 nights' stay at Hotel Keizershof. I was travelling alone so was looking for somewhere that wasn't impersonal - and this was perfect. the family who run it are extremely hospitable and welcoming. They are delightful people.


The hotel has a really homely feel to it. I stayed on the first floor, in a bedroom overlooking the beautiful garden. It was very quiet and comfortable. It has an en suite shower - and the loo is right next door. And breakfast was great - delicious fresh bread with a great variety of cheeses (plus fruit and cereals and yoghurts etc etc )

It is very central - and the Rijks and Van Gogh Museums are literally 5 minutes' walk away. A great location.

I highly recommend this hotel - especially if you are looking for somewhere small and homely. As someone travelling alone, it felt utterly safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou_906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in the Wedgewood room which is in the back of the house, overlooking the gardens. The stairs up to the room are very steep and the toilet is outside of the room at the top of the stairs but is not shared. The room was charming and quiet. Mary, her daughter and son were all very helpful. Breakfast was huge and the omelettes cooked by Mary were delicious. The hotel is very conveniently located for walking to downtown, the Van Gough museum or just to walk along the canals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#147 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing