We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #131 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
san jose
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you can manage the stairs to the top floor, then it is a really nice place to stay. It's family run and homely, nothing fancy but again it's a B&B. Everyone I met was very helpful and friendly. The price is super reasonable for Amsterdam given breakfast is included (yes, omelet on request as well). It's at a very convenient location, within walking distance to many restaurants and various attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wendy8zhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
151
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

A wonderful surprise! Three nights, and ideally located in the centre of Amsterdam. The perfect hosts, a charming house, and a magical world out the back. The best of Bed & Breakfast and hotel all in one. I am looking for an excuse to return to Amsterdam just to stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nostawhtebazile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Keizershof and I booked without difficulty on their website. I chose this hotel, which I would describe as a B & B, after looking on TripAdvisor. I was anxious about the spiral staircase so I chose my luggage with pull-along and back pack straps rather than a suit case, which was a good call. It was a bit of a huff and puff getting it up the wooden spiral stair case to the Rita Hayworth room on the third floor. HOWEVER it was absolutely worth that small struggle to be staying in a real old canal house with so much charm in a wonderfully central location with such a warm and welcoming Dutch family as our hosts.

We only rode a tram once as it was so easy to walk everywhere; the medieval centre in one direction, the museum area in the other and the two busy dining strips just a few blocks away on either side. It cost us just over 60Euros by taxi from the airport to the front door. The current rate for the room is 120 Euros per night.

Our room was quaint, comfortable and sufficiently spacious with a wall mounted flat screen television and a view over the large beautiful garden at the rear. It had a convenient bathroom with a very spacious shower. The other two rooms on that floor shared a bathroom and toilet. Of course everything was immaculately clean. I am not obsessed with food but I really looked forward to the fabulous breakfasts that Mary prepared for us each morning in the lovely ground floor kitchen-dining room-sitting room.

As for the staircase, my advice is Toughen Up Princess and remember that most of those cosy bars and cute brown cafes that you are going to love in Amsterdam will have toilets that are either up or down a spiral staircase that is probably steeper and smaller than the one at the Hotel Keizershof. It is all worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have just returned from 3 nights' stay at Hotel Keizershof. I was travelling alone so was looking for somewhere that wasn't impersonal - and this was perfect. the family who run it are extremely hospitable and welcoming. They are delightful people.


The hotel has a really homely feel to it. I stayed on the first floor, in a bedroom overlooking the beautiful garden. It was very quiet and comfortable. It has an en suite shower - and the loo is right next door. And breakfast was great - delicious fresh bread with a great variety of cheeses (plus fruit and cereals and yoghurts etc etc )

It is very central - and the Rijks and Van Gogh Museums are literally 5 minutes' walk away. A great location.

I highly recommend this hotel - especially if you are looking for somewhere small and homely. As someone travelling alone, it felt utterly safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou_906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in the Wedgewood room which is in the back of the house, overlooking the gardens. The stairs up to the room are very steep and the toilet is outside of the room at the top of the stairs but is not shared. The room was charming and quiet. Mary, her daughter and son were all very helpful. Breakfast was huge and the omelettes cooked by Mary were delicious. The hotel is very conveniently located for walking to downtown, the Van Gough museum or just to walk along the canals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent 3 nights in the Mae West room. The room was large and the beds very comfortable. Shower and sink are in the room with the toilet in the hall but not shared with other guests. We were well aware of the climb to the 4th floor on a spiral staircase and therefore took it as part of the charm of staying in an authentic, Danish, 300 year old home.

Breakfast was wonderful. There were plenty of options and we enjoyed visiting with other guests and talking to the owner and her son. There were beautiful flowers on the table in the morning and we also found fresh flowers in our room upon returning the second day. Would definitely stay here again. Great value, location, close to the sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika_7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend at the end of October. The place is run by Mary and her son Ernest and daughter Aneke, all of whom were extremely pleasant.

Positives: great location on the canal, comfortable beds over looking the garden, very nice breakfast, charming hosts.

Negatives: this is basically a B&B and there are 5 bedrooms in total, 3 of which are located on the 3rd storey and the last 2 on the 4th storey which is where we stayed. To get to the rooms you have to climb a spiral staircase all the way to the top which is a killer on the knees and very difficult if you have luggage. The rooms are a bit tired, with peeling plaster on the walls and there is no ventilation in the bathroom or wc so it is necessary to open the window to ventilate the room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are quieter and the John Wayne room has an ensuite, the other rooms are shared faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorayned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#174 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#34 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing