We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just arrived 27/10/13” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #130 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just arrived 27/10/13”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had emails prior to our arrival and the owners gave us tram numbers and street directions. We arrived about 11.00 but we knew we could not have our room. Mother and son made us very welcome and gave us a map with directions to see the sights. Room on 3rd floor - I asked for room overlooking canal which we have. We came back at 3.00 and room was ready. The spiral staircases are small and steep but you are in Amsterdam in an old building with character. We are in the Charlie Chaplin room large clean and it has a hair dryer. We bought a bottle of wine and they offered us glasses. So helpful. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallardavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
151
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a two-nite stay in this wonderful BnB. Mary and son Ernest were a delight to meet and converse with before/after breakfast. Only a block away from train with regular routes from central station. Great location to walk to many Amsterdam museums and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Mae West room faces the canal. If you want a great canal view, this is your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights however we were a little disappointed as we had very high expectations after reading the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor. Check in was very confusing… we arrived and the elderly lady who owns the BnB literally gave us a key then in broken English gave us some terrible directions. There are these tiny little windy stairs and about 5 floors of them so we lugged our 30 kilo suitcases up the stairs which was so exhausting and confusing when you don’t know where you are going. There wasn’t any help from the staff so that was a little disappointing. As others have mentioned, if you have any back or leg problems this is not the place for you as these stairs are insane. We got to the top and due to the terrible instructions we got lost and had to go back down and ask the lady again where our room was. By the time we finally got up there we were so exhausted. There were no room numbers only a different picture of celebrities on the doors which is also why we got so lost as we couldn’t understand what the lady was saying.

The location however was fantastic. Walking distance to many cafes, shops and restaurants and a short buggy ride away to the Red Light District. The other owners were very lovely and were quite concerned when I came down with a bad cold so that was nice. However at times they were a little intrusive, aka insisting we have the breakfast in the morning after we had planned to just get out and about in the morning. Another thing we were disappointed with was that it was literally freezing when we were there, like -5 etc however they wouldn’t put any heating on in the rooms so at night we really had to rug up to stay warm.

I probably wouldn’t stay again however it was an experience and the view from our room over the canals was incredible but like I said above if you have problems being mobile or are elderly this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HMM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thank you to Mary and her family for a wknderful stay. We were in Rita Hayworth room, roomy and comfortable. It is on the 3rd floor with very narrow stairs. We managed just fine but could be a problem for someone with physical limitations. Mary and her son we very helpful and gracious. We would diffenately stay here again. It was also easy to access all area attractions. Mary emailed us a few days prior to our visit to let us know what tram to take which made it very easy to find. Our room was clean and replenished every day, one of best places so far on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great place to stay in Amsterdam. A small hotel of 6 room central Amsterdam with easy access to the Tram system. Run by a mother daughter who treat you like family. Great breakfast with homemade bread and eggs every morning. Be aware of a tight spiral staircase to get to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

When I made the reservation, I saw all the comments about the stairs, but nevertheless, I was shocked by how steep they are. We managed absolutely fine with out suitcases. But honestly, we climbed many stairs like that in our visit in Amsterdam restaurants too. That is just part of the charm of the canal row houses.

I had some issues getting onto the WiFi at the hotel a few times. But saved myself a trip downstairs and instead I emailed the owner. They always promptly replied to my email and re-set the router, as required.

The owner(s) were very helpful with directions, restaurant and other tourist tips. She ordered us a taxi on our last night, which arrived on time the next morning.

Room Tip: My adult daughter and I stayed in the Charlie Chaplin room which had twin beds, a private shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our second visit to this little historic hotel. The family is friendly and they make a great full breakfast. Very generous. E ating with the other guests at the big table always results in excellent travel tips too.The rooms are quiet and clean, location on Keizersgracht is near everything. The hike up the steps makes you plan your day carefully. No running up for something you forgot. We dont even mind the bath room in the hall. Reminds us of our first visits to Holland in the 1970's. Comfortable beds ( singles of course) nice garden excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#179 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#80 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#67 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#35 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing