We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #123 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thank you to Mary and her family for a wknderful stay. We were in Rita Hayworth room, roomy and comfortable. It is on the 3rd floor with very narrow stairs. We managed just fine but could be a problem for someone with physical limitations. Mary and her son we very helpful and gracious. We would diffenately stay here again. It was also easy to access all area attractions. Mary emailed us a few days prior to our visit to let us know what tram to take which made it very easy to find. Our room was clean and replenished every day, one of best places so far on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
151
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great place to stay in Amsterdam. A small hotel of 6 room central Amsterdam with easy access to the Tram system. Run by a mother daughter who treat you like family. Great breakfast with homemade bread and eggs every morning. Be aware of a tight spiral staircase to get to the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When I made the reservation, I saw all the comments about the stairs, but nevertheless, I was shocked by how steep they are. We managed absolutely fine with out suitcases. But honestly, we climbed many stairs like that in our visit in Amsterdam restaurants too. That is just part of the charm of the canal row houses.

I had some issues getting onto the WiFi at the hotel a few times. But saved myself a trip downstairs and instead I emailed the owner. They always promptly replied to my email and re-set the router, as required.

The owner(s) were very helpful with directions, restaurant and other tourist tips. She ordered us a taxi on our last night, which arrived on time the next morning.

Room Tip: My adult daughter and I stayed in the Charlie Chaplin room which had twin beds, a private shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our second visit to this little historic hotel. The family is friendly and they make a great full breakfast. Very generous. E ating with the other guests at the big table always results in excellent travel tips too.The rooms are quiet and clean, location on Keizersgracht is near everything. The hike up the steps makes you plan your day carefully. No running up for something you forgot. We dont even mind the bath room in the hall. Reminds us of our first visits to Holland in the 1970's. Comfortable beds ( singles of course) nice garden excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

The warm greeting by Mary and her children Hanneke and Ernest set the scene for this wonderfully welcoming hotel. The hotel is full of character; in some ways it's quite quirky. Steep and narrow staircases lead to the bedrooms - ours was very comfortable although the bathroom was a bit too compact, and the en-suite toilet a little bit like an aircraft loo and located on the landing. Breakfast is served at a communal table for all guests - brilliant for meeting other guests and sharing experiences of Amsterdam - and the breakfast food itself generous and delicious. Mary and her family help make a really lovely stay - they're full of ideas and recommendations and delightful people.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We LOVED this place and the family that runs it. Hannake and her brother were so friendly and helpful, showing us where we should go and things we could do. They made us feel at home. The hotel is right on a gorgeous canal, and we enjoyed being in the 1672 Dutch house. Our room was on the 4th floor (loved the steep, winding staircase) and overlooked a cute neighborhood of houses and their amazing garden (where we loved hanging out). The breakfast every morning was amazing...tasty cheese and bread, fresh fruit, yummy cookies, coffee and juice, and even a homemade omelette.

The whole feel was cozy and truly Dutch. I'd stay here again for sure.

The only downer was that there was no AC and it was a little hot...and if we opened the windows the mosquitoes came in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandamglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

It's rare to find places like this in expensive, ever-popular Amsterdam. An original canal home with just a handful of rooms walking distance to everything. The home and the gardens are lovely, as is the kitchen area and breakfast. The rooms were great (don't expect 5 star, but cute, cosy, light and airfilled rooms of a generous size, just like staying in someone's home). Everything was very clean and we loved the room we had, with our own bathroom on the top floor overlooking the back garden. This would have to be one of the better value places in Amsterdam where most things are quite expensive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 980ginab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#174 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#86 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing