We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Amsterdam Hotel - Great Choice, Nice Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #131 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Amsterdam Hotel - Great Choice, Nice Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We read many good reviews on TripAdvisor about this hotel and chose it because of this. We could not have been happier. It truly is more like a Bed and Breakfast than an impersonal hotel. The Family De Vries treated us like part of the family. The hotel has a great location, close to the center of the city and down the street from the Anne Frank House. The room was one of the best we ever had in all of our stays in Europe. Large, clean, and a great view... it was called the John Wayne Room. The breakfast, which is included in your rate, was fantastic. But, the charm of Earnest, Mary ( the matriarch of the family), and Hanika, the daughter makes this place very special. We spent 2 nights there prior to our Rotterdam cruise and this hotel experience got us off to a great start. A good price for being in the main part of the city and an English speaking family to give you all the comforts of home. I would go back in a second if we return to Amsterdam! Martin and Sue Fleischman, stayed 6/27/13, 6/28/13

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    89
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
150
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huntsville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location close to museums and other attractions we stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the garden. Only negative was carrying heavy suitcases up a winding narrow staircase. Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlgHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Hotel Keizershof is a great place to stay. We had a spacious room on the 4th floor overlooking the garden. The location is central to all Amsterdam attractions. The breakfasts were delicious! We would definitely recommend the Hotel Keizershof.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolilydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Amsterdam. The family running the establishment are charming and helpful. The breakfast is REALLY good, lots of choices and variety...they even offered to make an omelet for us (we had one on the 2nd day and it was delicious!).

This is a great location on a canal and about a 5 minute walk from the main museum area.

It's about a 15 minute walk to the Jordaan neighborhood and the Anne Frank House.

It's a bit expensive to stay here, but comparable to other Amsterdam places.

A few "warnings" - super small and steep "Amsterdam-style" stairs...if you are slightly concerned about that, might need to request the room that's only one flight up.

Also, the family has (as of July 2013) a dog and a cat. This wasn't a huge deal, but my wife has fairly strong cat allergies and we did bring her medicine because we didn't think about it. The only time she was affected much was down in the common room...our sleeping room wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrptPlyr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here in our bright and airy room with fantastic views of the Keizergracht. Breakfast was simple and delicious. Rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
Only note is that if you have mobility issues, the stairs are steep and windy so having large bags to carry up isn't easy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awdree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We had the room at the back of the hotel on the first floor, and it was spacious and very quiet. Had a private shower/toilet (not all of the rooms here have that, so be sure to ask). Breakfast was wonderful, just as the reviews said. I really liked that everyone is seated at one huge table, so we got to meet our fellow travelers. The location is excellent--on the Keizersgracht canal, walking distance to just about everything, and tram stops were nearby for when we were tired of walking. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about shared bathrooms--some rooms have ensuite and some don't. We enjoyed our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyD1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just stayed for a long weekend in a triple room, it was fantastic value. The room was big with shower, the toilet was shared with one other room, but it was always clean and it wasn't a problem at all. Location was fantastic, bang in the centre within walking distance of everywhere but quiet at night. The hosts were friendly and the breakfast ample. The only consideration is the steep spiral staircase, not for children or people with mobility issues, but if it wasn't for that I would give it a 5 *.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VSC2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#41 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#58 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing