We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Authentic, Wonderful Dutch Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #131 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, Wonderful Dutch Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a truly Dutch experience hotel in a great location. Right on the canal with owners that could not be more accomodating. The rooms are a good size and very clean. But what really sets this place apart is the owners. Mrs. de Vries and her daughter Hanneke were so friendly and fluent in English and gave us such good advice on places to eat, things to see, how to get there, etc. The spiral staircases are something to be delt with but if you can go up stairs, this makes your experience so unique and something to remember. The breakfast is sooo good and a great variety of things to eat. On Sundays they will make you an omelet. They even have a refrigerator with icemaker which is something hard to find in European hotels. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam as it is a great, safe location and an extremely good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
151
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week in April. Clean room in a historic building overlooking Keizersgracht canal. It really makes you feel like you are in Amsterdam. Within easy walking distance to Museumplein, Leidseplein, and Rembrandtplein. Very safe area. Close to the tram and tons of restaurants. The breakfasts were excellent. Our room had a sink and shower. The toilet was just steps away. The steep stairway just added to the charm.

Room Tip: We had the Chaplin room. Very spacious and overlooks the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byzorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Can't beat the location!
Such a comfortable, friendly, convenient place to stay!
Just a few minute walk from EVERYWHERE!
Nicest people in the world operate this lovely, quiet, canalside hotel overlooking a lovely garden.
Such a comfortable room and such a good breakfast!

Room Tip: Trust the folks there to take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerJerBeaverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a family-run business where you will always get a warm Dutch welcome by the whole familiy DeVries. Mary prepares delicious breakfasts- the best omelets and Dutch pancakes in Amsterdam! It is located along a tree-lined canal, close to the tram lines and central shopping areas. Your room will be clean, well-maintained and have wonderful views of the canal or the beautiful little garden. They always have good suggestions for good restaurants, and things to do and see, and good directions for getting there. You will feel like part of the family! I've been there twice and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! The north rooms are perfect for observing the life along the canals, the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathrynKasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay for three nights at this hotel was exceptional! We stayed in the back corner room overlooking the garden with our shower/toilet in the hallway and our own private sink in the room. The room was clean and had a wide selection of teas provided. The location of the hotel is also great! Not more than a ten or fifteen minute walk from any major sight/attraction!

The best part of this hotel was the breakfast! Freshly cooked omelettes, fresh baked bread and fresh fruit and yogurt. Everything was scrumptious!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odoyle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Keizershof was just delightful. We spent two nights at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The family de Vries made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. All were welcoming with good suggestions for sightseeing and dining.
Location: It is located on the canal Keizershof, easily accessible via tram (we took 24, fourth stop) from the central station. It is also central to most key sights (but Amsterdam is small enough that you can really walk everywhere anyway).
Room: We stayed in the room at the back of the house up the back staircase overlooking the inner garden. The room was quiet, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom in the room is rather small, but totally comfortable with a shower and sink and then a separate toilet just outside the room (but still private to the room). As with all the hotels we stayed at, the bed was two twins pushed together with separate duvets, but that was fine with me (my husband couldn't steal the covers!
Breakfast: The breakfast was delicious, but Anna's omlettes are the best part. She cooks them to perfection with cheese and chives. The yogurt, fruit, breads, cheeses and cereal were also tasty, but don't miss the omlette. The coffee was also very good, not too strong.
The price of this hotel is also very reasonable compared to the alternatives considering the location, the service and the included breakfast. I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Keizershof on your trip to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We had the room at the back of the hotel up the back staircase overlooking the inner garden. Very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANCBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Keizerhof Hotel.

It is not really a hotel but more a bed and breakfast (just to clarify!)

Good breakfast, very nice room and the only reason I am giving this place 4 stars is that the toilet was outside my room and both the bathroom (inside my room) and the toilet were rather small. As other guest wrote in their reviews, there are some steep steps to walk: keep that in mind if this is a problem for you.

The location is great: just 4 stops from the central train station (which means that in about half an hour you can be at the airport).

It is also located about 10 minutes walk to an area with many restaurants and that is extremely convenient.

The owners are great people. I had lots of fun with them and they are of course, very helpful.

The breakfast consisted of a selection of cheese, yoghurt with different cereals, pastry, bread, marmalade, fruit (and egg/ omelette if you wish...).

All in all: I would come back any time to this nice place!

Good luck!
:-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar_from_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#174 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#34 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing