We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Feels like home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #122 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feels like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just stayed at the Keizershof for, I believe, the sixth time. (It would have been more but it's such a popular place, and so small, I haven't gotten a room a few times I have tried). The DeVries family could not be nicer! From their nice greeting, to their wonderful breakfast with great omelette, to going so far as to send us on our way with stroopwaffels when they found out we were leaving so early we would miss breakfast, everything done there just has that in someone's family's house touch. And when it came to paying, we know the routine--cash only--and we understand that given fees charged the businesses. However, my bank had put a hold on what I could take out for the day, and when I mentioned that, and that I could pay later in cash, I was immediately told not to worry about it, and that I could pay with a card. (Next time I will make sure to have the cash in advance, because there will be a next time). The location is great, the canal view rooms are nice. What more can I say? This is one of those places I almost hate to review glowingly because I like to keep it to myself and ensure I can get a room next time I try, but I feel compelled to spread the word for the DeVries family. Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank silentobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    90
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
151
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thanks to the reviews I read on TripAdvisor, my friends and I stayed at this wonderful B&B located along the Keizersgracht Canal for 4 days, and we couldn’t have been happier with the accommodations! I would definitely stay here again, and would happily recommend this place to family and friends.

Pros:

-The wonderful breakfasts! (the omelettes are amazing!)

-The DeVries family were very helpful, friendly, and offered recommendations on what to do, where to eat, what to see, etc.

-Beautiful scenery along the canal

-Centrally located

-Comfortable beds

-Free wifi

-They speak English!


Cons:

-Steep, spiraling staircase (it really wasn't THAT bad)

-Not every room has a restroom attached, so some rooms have to share a community bathroom and shower. There was never a wait to use the restroom or shower, so this really wasn't a big issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent few days in there with friends. Hotel was kept by a wonderful, friendly older lady with her family. They were very helpful, gave us lot of relevant info of the city we asked for. Location was perfect. So was the breakfast. The best breakfast I've had in any hotel. The only tricky thing were the stairs to the rooms. They were narrow and arduous. - I was pleased and happy with our choise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tyts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a week's stay in The Keizershof Hotel in mid October and we couldn't have been more pleased we chose this property. Ideally located on one of the central canals, it is within easy walking distance of Amsterdam's main attractions and has an abundance of restaurants and shops in the surrounding vacinity.
We had the Charlie Chaplin third floor room overlooking the canal which was a pleasant sight to wake up to each morning. As others have mentioned, the trip up to the third floor does mean negotiating three spiral staircases but we soon got used to them and were virtually running up them by the end of the week! (slight exaggeration). Don't let it put you off. They're managable if you are marginally fit. The room was large, bright and airy and spotlessly cleaned every day.
Breakfast is served each morning in the De Vries family dining room and they are welcoming and knowledgable hosts. The food is plentiful and excellent - fruit, yoghurts, cereals, fresh bread, cheeses, omlettes, pancakes and of course, Dutch Apple Cake!
Amsterdam is a walking (or cycling) city and The Keizerhof is in a perfect location for exploration. Museum Square is a 15 minute stroll and The Hermitage (at the moment housing the Van Gough collection as the Van Gough Musuem is closed) is around 10 minutes, crossing the Amstel River at the bottom of Keizersgracht. Nightlife is also close with Rembrantsplein, Liedesplein and Dam Square easily walkable. In the week we were there, we only boarded a tram once on the way from the airport.
The De Vries are a mine of information about Amsterdam and are only too pleased to recommend what to see and where to eat. Ernest recommended we purchase a MuseumKart (available from all the major museums) which gives a years unlimited access to all museums in the Netherlands. At the cost of just under 50 Euro, it saved us a fortune as entrance to museums such as The Hermitage and The Rijksmuseum carry a hefty price tag. It also allows access to smaller, more intimate canal house museums such as Museum Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder (highly recommended) in the heart of the Red Light District, Museum Van Loon a few doors down from the hotel and the wonderful Dutch Resistance Museum in Plantage. Having the card also gives us an excuse to return within the next year!
This is an excellent hotel and we can't recommend it highly enough. Great location, a warm welcome, plenty of good food and insider tips to ensure your trip to Amsterdam is a great one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Keizershof is rated 19 out of 349 hotels in Amsterdam - no mean feat. To be fair though, how does one rate it? It is not the Ritz with luxurious trappings, but a small, family run B&B-type hotel.....and a very special one.

Beautifully situated on the Keizersgracht, one can walk practically everywhere. For those venturing further afield there is an excellent tram service a few paces away. Our room (Delft) was large, comfortable and airy with a lovely outlook onto the pretty back garden. It was spotlessly clean, full of character and quiet. There was a shower en-suite and a private toilet just outside our door and a step or two away from a very steep staircase! The fact that this is an ancient canal house is greatly what lends it it's charm, but one should be aware of the very steep and narrow staircase. We managed them and our hosts, thankfully managed our luggage!

Our breakfasts were rather sumptuous affairs. Fruit, cereals, pastries, freshly baked breads and a number of excellent Dutch cheeses. Hanneke's omelettes were delicious and so, of course, was the very good Dutch coffee.

Our hosts were warm and welcoming, helpful and always available.

I loved our 4 day stay there - a real feel good experience - would recommend it, and would look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Delft Room is on the first floor with its own private staircase, so easier access and more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JanePietermaritzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This property is conveniently located in the museum district. During our four days in Amsterdam, we never used the bus or tram, other than going to the airport.

Mary provided great directions from the airport and directions to other locations during our visit. Mary and her son, Ernest, do the cooking for breakfast. There was always cereal, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, and some type of breakfast pastry. Some mornings Ernest made omelets and other days, Mary made thin Dutch pancakes. We usually did not need to eat again until late afternoon. So we had a good sized late lunch and then a snack in the evening.

The "hotel" is a traditional thin, tall dutch home. Our room was large with its own connecting bath. However, it was difficult to haul heavy luggage up the spiral staircase up to the third floor (and there is a fourth floor). If you are not in good shape, you should not stay in one of these rooms. I believe there was one room on the main level. The rooms were well cleaned each day.

Mary and Ernest were very welcoming and I would definitely stay here again if I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lansing56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our two night stay at Hotel Keizershof in August this year. The De Vries family were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a nice variety of options that you could choose from regardless of your tastes. The hotel was well located in easy access to public transport and within walking distance from many local attractions/restaurants/shops.

The room was welcoming and well lit. The bed was comfortable. We had shared facilities which were fine. In my opinion the shower wasn't great but I guess showers are of a particular taste for each and every person when it comes to water pressure etc. Considering the price we paid, the hospitality was great and there was everything we needed. Wifi is free and accessible downstairs. We stored our luggage for the day after we checked out without problem. Cash is the only payment method accepted to settle the bill. Please note, if you don't like stairs or can't handle lots of them then this place isnt for you, then again maybe Amsterdam is not for you as we encountered lots of steep tiny stairs everywhere!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahlovesicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#175 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing