We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A DELIGHT”
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #148 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Keizershof is rated 19 out of 349 hotels in Amsterdam - no mean feat. To be fair though, how does one rate it? It is not the Ritz with luxurious trappings, but a small, family run B&B-type hotel.....and a very special one.

Beautifully situated on the Keizersgracht, one can walk practically everywhere. For those venturing further afield there is an excellent tram service a few paces away. Our room (Delft) was large, comfortable and airy with a lovely outlook onto the pretty back garden. It was spotlessly clean, full of character and quiet. There was a shower en-suite and a private toilet just outside our door and a step or two away from a very steep staircase! The fact that this is an ancient canal house is greatly what lends it it's charm, but one should be aware of the very steep and narrow staircase. We managed them and our hosts, thankfully managed our luggage!

Our breakfasts were rather sumptuous affairs. Fruit, cereals, pastries, freshly baked breads and a number of excellent Dutch cheeses. Hanneke's omelettes were delicious and so, of course, was the very good Dutch coffee.

Our hosts were warm and welcoming, helpful and always available.

I loved our 4 day stay there - a real feel good experience - would recommend it, and would look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Delft Room is on the first floor with its own private staircase, so easier access and more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JanePietermaritzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

This property is conveniently located in the museum district. During our four days in Amsterdam, we never used the bus or tram, other than going to the airport.

Mary provided great directions from the airport and directions to other locations during our visit. Mary and her son, Ernest, do the cooking for breakfast. There was always cereal, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, cheeses, and some type of breakfast pastry. Some mornings Ernest made omelets and other days, Mary made thin Dutch pancakes. We usually did not need to eat again until late afternoon. So we had a good sized late lunch and then a snack in the evening.

The "hotel" is a traditional thin, tall dutch home. Our room was large with its own connecting bath. However, it was difficult to haul heavy luggage up the spiral staircase up to the third floor (and there is a fourth floor). If you are not in good shape, you should not stay in one of these rooms. I believe there was one room on the main level. The rooms were well cleaned each day.

Mary and Ernest were very welcoming and I would definitely stay here again if I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lansing56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our two night stay at Hotel Keizershof in August this year. The De Vries family were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a nice variety of options that you could choose from regardless of your tastes. The hotel was well located in easy access to public transport and within walking distance from many local attractions/restaurants/shops.

The room was welcoming and well lit. The bed was comfortable. We had shared facilities which were fine. In my opinion the shower wasn't great but I guess showers are of a particular taste for each and every person when it comes to water pressure etc. Considering the price we paid, the hospitality was great and there was everything we needed. Wifi is free and accessible downstairs. We stored our luggage for the day after we checked out without problem. Cash is the only payment method accepted to settle the bill. Please note, if you don't like stairs or can't handle lots of them then this place isnt for you, then again maybe Amsterdam is not for you as we encountered lots of steep tiny stairs everywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahlovesicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A big thank you to the De Vries family, for our recent 3 night stay, it is their genuine warmth and generosity which made our time there most enjoyable and memorable. The price was very reasonable for the standard of the room, no complaints, we'd definitely stay here again! Breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice, setting us up for the day. The hotel is very conveniently located, walk or use the trams, we got the 72 hour tram tickets from Tourist Info at the airport. See you next time!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Two couples stayed for 3 nights at this small family run bed and breakfast hotel on Keizersgracht Canal, one of the 3 main canals that ring the centre of Amsterdam. It has only 6 rooms and is run by a very friendly lady and her son. You get treated to home made breakfasts in their family kitchen/ dining room and the chance to chat about places to go and see. Beware the climb up the four flights of narrow spiral stairs to the top rooms though! If you want the en suite ask for the John Wayne or Rita Hayworth rooms and the JW one has fine views from the attic across the city to the Rijksmuseum.
The location is within 20 minute walk of central station and 10 minutes to Museumplein; 5 to Leidseplein. We walked everywhere over the 4 days and the hotel was a quiet oasis to come back to. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. The hosts were great and the location is terrific, close to bars where the local people eat and drink so it wasn't as touristy.
Easy to walk everywhere you need to go. Great breakfast. The stairs to the 3rd floor are steep but give you an appetite for breakfast. I'd stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SydneyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lodging in amsterdam is expensive, but Keizerhof helped make it reasonable. Our hostess was lovely and very helpful. Each morning she prepared a made to order omlette. It is cozy.

The downside is the steep and treacherous spiral staircases to get up to the third floor rooms. My wife and I are quite fit, and we only had smaller carry on luggage, but we almost didn't make it to the top. Once in the room, we had a lovely view over the garden. Room was clean and bed acceptable.

We were half a block from the tram which made access to city sites acceptable. IF you want to walk, you have to be willing to walk many blocks, though it is doable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottyP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 374 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Hotel La Boheme
#46 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#58 of 374 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $180 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing