We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charm in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #125 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charm in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hotel Keizershof is a wonderful and fairly inexpensive way to see Amsterdam. The owner is charming and the staff is very capable. Our room was spacious and quaint with a fabulous view of the canal. Wonderful breakfasts in a family setting. One of the best omelets I've ever eaten. It is situated perfectly no matter what you want to do in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Canal and garden rooms are wonderful. Depends on what you want to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    89
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
150
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I made two brilliant moves in planning my trip to Amsterdam last week. One was to take a bright ribbon to tie around the handlebars of my rental bike so I could distinguish it from the thousands of other black bikes at the train station and the other, more far reaching decision was to follow Rick Steve's advice and book Hotel Keizershof for my stay. I've used his books in many countries and find them honest and spot on. In this case, I feel he actually undersold Hotel Keizershof. It was so much more amazing than I was even expecting! My room, ready early in the A.M. was on the 4th floor with big windows that opened out to the canal gardens with views of the green parakeets, church spire and ever changing sky of Holland. The room was big and immaculately clean, quiet and very private. Breakfast was incredible with freshly baked bread and a spread that held me till the late afternoon. The location couldn't be better on Keizergracht (canal) close to the museums and Vondelpark. And last, but certainly not least, the hospitality of the owners was so friendly and helpful that when I moved on, I felt 'homesick' for them! I've told so many friends who have asked about my trip this week that they HAVE to stay here! You just couldn't make a better choice and the value is great!

Room Tip: in Amsterdam if you can get a room on the interior rather than a street side room it will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nichols G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been to Amsterdam a few times now and we have found this the best place to stay. The location is really handy as it is very close to the tram stop which takes you to Central station, plus it is walking distance to most attractions in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is charming, we stayed in the room on the 4th floor overlooking the beautiful gardens, a really good size room and nicely decorated.
Breakfast was freshly prepared with home baked bread and a selection of cheeses.
We would be more than happy to stay here again next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Elenakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Hotel Keizershof on our recent trip to Amsterdam. It was wonderful. The room was clean and charming. Our room overlooked the beautiful garden. Mary, Ernest and Anika treated us like one of the family, sharing ideas on where to go what to see. We really felt the Dutch hospitality. I would strongly recommend the Hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in May. The location, hotel , and hosts are top notch. The breakfast was amazing. Mary, Ernest , and Anika are wonderful people who are genuinely hospitable. The rooms are beutiful and very spaceous. We wont stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThomasM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I used trip adviser as a source for booking this hotel & what a great experience.
We arrived early in the morning after a 20 hour trip from Oz. Ernst greeted us with warmth & insisted we have coffee etc even if the room wasn't available for 5 hours.
Over the next 4 nights we found nothing to complain about apart from the continual rain. Mary, Ernest and Anika made us feel very welcome, the negative was the steep stairs to the room, we managed OK but if you have any mobility issues Beware.
We would stay here again in Amsterdam, central to the City & the Rijksmuseum etc

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and were really excited to go. The location of the hotel was great as it was walkable distance to the main tourist area.

We were placed in the Marlene Dietrich room which was on the third floor above several spiral staircases.Walking up the stairs was fine for us but those with physical conditions may want to consider requesting a room on a lower level. The room itself was very clean and a good size. We had to share the toilet and shower with other rooms but there was never any issue when I needed to use them. The room we were in contained two single beds pushed together instead of one double bed. The gap between the beds may be a safety hazard for couples who enjoy sleeping close to each other. We were also never able to get the wifi working in our room so we'd often have to bring our phones to breakfast to check our email.

The owners were really nice and Mary recommended a very good restaurant to us the first day we were there. Breakfast was also good and Mary always made us fresh omelets.

My only reservation for going back is that they didn't seem too happy to take our credit card even though it was chosen as the method of payment when we booked the hotel. When we were checking out they said that they only take cash and we had to remind them that the original email said it was fine paying by credit so long as we accept a 5% surcharge. When we did pay, the owners seemed annoyed that we were paying by credit at all. This is definitely something that we take into account when choosing hotels as we are not comfortable carrying large amounts of cash with us especially since Amsterdam was one stop of several cities we visited. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much and the hotel was very good for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank acneball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing