We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keizershof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Keizershof
Ranked #128 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We were pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights after three weeks in Eastern Turkey. We were interested in resting and visiting museums. The Hotel Keizershof was an excellent choice for us because we do not use the typical amenities such as pools and hotel restaurants that are common to most large establishments.

The family was helpful and gracious while not intrusive. We had a key to the front door allowing us to schedule our own time. This point was important to us as we were tired from our earlier travels and returned to the hotel each afternoon to rest.

The breakfast was excellent and the room was spacious, had large windows that opened to the canal and was quiet. The hotel was centrally located with easy access from the airport and to museums and restaurants.

The stairs are steep and narrow but we left our medium sized suitcases in a locker at the airport and took only our daypacks and a small duffel bag to the hotel. Because our stay was short this was an excellent option for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    89
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
150
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in June, 2011. THe owner (don't remember his name) was very helpful, and gave us advice as to where to go, what to do, etc.. The room was quite a hike up the steep stairs (i think it was like 4 floors up), and we had the Charlie Chaplin room which was overlooking the canal. The hotel was very close to everything in Amsterdam, yet away from the tourist hustle and bustle. Breakfast was awesome, full spread of breads, cheeses, jams, yogurts with toppings, fruit, cookies, and he also made us yummy pancakes. I would definitely stay here again! :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loriotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed at the Kaizershof for a couple of days and then came back a week later. We found Ernest and Anika to be very friendly and helpful. Great restaurant suggestions. Stayed in the John Wayne room - only one with it's own toilet. Very roomy and comfrotable. Quite a hike up the stairs but that gave us the exercise to have another glass of wine. Amsterdam is quite expensive and we found the accommodations to be reasonably priced. Walking distance to everything but in a quieter area.
Jack & TOni

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_morkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this very friendly establishment. Our room on the 3rd floor looked out onto a beautiful garden, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, there was a sink in the room and TV and the breakfast was AMAZING (more on that below). If we had more money, we would have stayed in the room with the private bath (I think it was 130 euros a night), but the bathroom was just a few steps from our door and the shower was literally right next door to our room (the garden room at 90 euros/night). In 5 nights we were only aware of sound from another room once and it was hardly audible. The street that this small hotel is on is very quiet. The 80 euros a night room overlooked the canal and would have been nice, but it was booked when we were there. Wifi is available but you have to be downstairs in the sitting room (which is a nice place to hang out) and Ernest will give you the computer password. The tram to almost everywhere was 1/2 block away (7 euros for an all day ticket was well worth it - buy it on board the tram)
The family was incredibly friendly and helpful, there was a small quiet dog (no problem - only saw it twice in 6 days), and Ernest's mother is a dynamo and excellent cook and hostess.
Now, the breakfast! If the room seemed expensive to me (it actually wasn't when compared to other high ranking hotels on Tripadvisor), the feast of a breakfast made the stay a real bargain. There were cereals, the best yogurt I ever tasted, dried fruit, often fresh fruit, cookies, pastries and sometimes cake, a wide array of cheeses (also delicious gouda, of course), a wide variety of breads and jams, tomato and mozzarella cheese with fresh basil salad, and an individually cooked omelet or Dutch pancake. But the best part of the breakfast was the absolutely delicious coffee served with hot milk. It ruined me for drinking any other coffee in Amsterdam.
P.S. The stairs weren't that bed, but there are three floors of stairs. I always took a short breather on the second landing.

Room Tip: The 4 different rooms I saw all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed in the Charlie Chaplin room that overlooked the canal. Take the trolley car from the train station. Very easy to get to and in a great location. The included breakfast was fantastic. The two resident cats are friendly, but a little shy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juma196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were in the middle of Amsterdam with easy bus access and a fairly short bus ride from the train station. Walking distance to Anne Frank House and VanGough Museum. Friendly and helpful with directions and even sent my daughter's forgotten text book back to us. Great morning breakfast that was the best we had on our 3 week journey! Loved being in the middle of it all, but also clean and quiet at night with a beautiful view of the homes back garden. We did fine with hauling our suitcase up the stairs, which is three flights. Even met some other guests at morning breakfast, which was really nice. I will definately stay again when I am in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Ask for view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginiahilllcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This is a lovely, quaint little hotel, well situated on a canal, within walking distance to almost anything in Amsterdam.
I stayed here from April 1st to 5th with a friend. We had the rather spacious "Rita Hayworth" room, with a view of the garden, our own private facilities, very clean, and the breakfast served family style downstairs was just splendid. Add the very friendly owners and decent price, what more can you want? Perhaps a lift ... :-) The 49 steps were a bit daunting but manageable. Never forget, it's like stepping into a bit of history.
I thoroughly recommend this place and plan to come back before I'm much older ...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skye2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#36 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keizershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keizershof

Property: Hotel Keizershof
Address: Keizersgracht 618 | Tram 16 & 24, 4th Stop, 1017 ER Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keizershof 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our seventeenth century canal-house is located on the picturesque Keizersgracht in the historic heart of Amsterdam. The house was built in 1672.And is a registered monument with original features as the spiral staircase, exposed beams, monumental outside steps and original fireplaces Between 1906 and 1920 the house was frequently visited by members of the Dutch Royal family, among which our Queen,Juliana who used to play here when she was a little girl. Our hotel has free WIFI in all rooms Behind the hotel you will find our peaceful backyard with an abundance of flowers where, weather permitting, we serve you an excellent Dutch breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Keizershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keizershof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing