We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel and great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Ranked #125 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We loved the hotel!

I booked a "vintage" room and I was a bit “worried" ‘cause on the website the specify that are smaller and with a really simply decoration, but the truth is that the room was just great, the decoration was the same seen in the pics gallery and it had a normal size: neither too large nor too small. If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but neither has been a problem, nor expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are more expensive tad and we were traveling with budget.

Despite of being on the ground floor, next to the common area (room 001), the room was very quiet, we didn’t hear any noise from other guest.

If I have to find something negative, I would say that our room had no window, but it wasn’t a problem: we didn’t expected to have canal views, as the rooms overlooking the canal are a bit more expensive and we were traveling with budget.

The price in Booking is only accommodation, but they offer you a breakfast: toast and hot drinks. It's very basic, but it's the same we take at home, which suited us great. Also, the tea and coffee machine works 24 hours, we appreciate that.

Another thing we truly liked was the location, in the Jordaan district, just 5 minutes’ walk from the train station and really centric: you can walk basically everywhere (although Amsterdam can be visited by walk, as it is not very big).

Last but not least, I would like to congratulate the staff for the good service offered, especially the night shift guy (who speaks Spanish), although the girls in the afternoon and morning shift were great too and all the staff was very friendly at all times (including during the email conversation we had upon our arrival)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandraBLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    326
    125
    46
    31
See reviews for
70
446
57
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights and thought it was a good deal because we had heard nice things about other Chic & Basic hotels. Well… we were wrong. We arrived late in the evening and was not very pleased when we came in to our room. We had upgraded to get canal view, but the room was so tiny that we could´even enjoy the view. We decided though to give it a chance and stay. The bed was OK (a bit short though), but the bathroom was very inconvenient. No shower curtain, so that when we should take a shower, we had to take every towels and things out of the bathroom first - or else everything would get soaked.
There was only one chair in the room, but no table (not enough space for that).
The next morning we decided to move to another hotel, and checked out about 9.30. The receptionist called the manager who decided that we had to pay for the next night as well. If we had cancelled the night before and stayed only one night, we wouldn´t have had to pay for the second night, the receptionist told us. In other words: We shouldn´t have given the hotel a chance. Our blame, obviously…

We moved to another hotel with large and nice rooms, and had a wonderful weekend in Amsterdam. A bit more expensive, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Level Contributor
269 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Location is superb - quiet street (canal) not far from the station, great view, if you got the room with the front view. Rooms are small, functionality is basic. No tables in the rooms at all. Shower is OK, heating works. So, if you there for the night or for the sightseeing / museums it is OK.
Their brekfast is just bread and jam, but coffee complimentary 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for the canal looking room, probably it worth to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Regardless of some of the bad reviews this hotel has received I'd have to give this one a two thumbs up. The rooms have an interesting and cozy decor, the beds were comfortable and the highlight was the bathroom located below the room itself. My friend and I were flying standby and had to go to and from the airport to the hotel three times and despite the fact we were checked out each morning, the front desk was courteous enough to allow us to make phone calls and even took messages from my mom overseas! Upon arriving back to the hotel they would also let us back in our room and eat breakfast at no additional cost. Thanks to the staff at C&B my friend and I caught a flight back without any further delays! Danke!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zurich862000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCCLE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice and not too expensive hotel in the center of Amsterdam, in a walking distance of all the attractions..
Rooms are decorated with style.
Breakfast is included, though it's only coffee and bread. That's the only down of the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ln_CoDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November. The reception and overall look of the room when we went in was really good. On first going into the room, having the bathroom down a small flight of spiral stairs was a quirky plus point. But in reality, this was not very good! The stairs too tight and the bathroom ceiling was really low. I'm 5foot 7 and had to crouch to get under the shower.
The breakfast included was toast and coffee/tea. Nothing special.
We stayed in room 201 so if you're tall, have difficulty walking or dont like tight spaces then i would suggest getting a different room. But dont have 003 as this is right next to the stairs to all other rooms and i imagine that this is really loud of a night time.The rooms were quite whilst sleeping but as soon as someone walked by the door it was really noisey. And the room wasvery hot! We couldn't open the window and the tv didnt work (but to be honest they would have sorted that if we had mentioned it)

Overall it was an ok stay, nothing really to shout about. Couple of minutes walk from the central station and the main places of interest. Average hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room up at least one flight of stairs as the lower levels are very noisy when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A booking which was confirmed long in advance was cancelled a couple of days before our arrival with an insulting offer to book us into a cheap airport hotel miles away from the centre. The hotel staff was rude and unapologetic . A promised token compensation has not arrived to this day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CH_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#146 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Property: Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Address: Herengracht 13 /19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Canal District 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is situated in three monumental Amsterdam canal houses with an amazing 300-year old facade, at the corner of Amsterdam most famous canals, the Herengracht & the Brouwersgracht. You’re in Hipsterdam the moment you check-in when you pick up your key from the guy or girl behind the impressive bar. You can choose to go straight up to your cosy room or to take a seat at the living room bar. Or at one of the comfy tables, chairs and sofa to gather around with a drink and some delicious bar bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing