We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Ranked #96 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just come back from a weekend in Amsterdam. I booked this hotel as I knew it was in an area I liked and wanted to go back. We arrived a lot earlier than check in time due to our early morning flight and room was ready for us to go straight into. Which was a great relief as we just want to sleep. Staff all friendly. Nice lobby area. We booked a large vintage room. Room 123. The room was large very clean but a bit plain. No canal view but we did have a large balcony. Next time I would request a canal view as we had a pigeon that would sit on the balcony and was so noisy. We'd scare it off but it kept coming back. Drove me mad. Will stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Small hotel like most hotels hosted in canal houses in Amsterdam. With a funny, kind of chic interior. So chic and also basic style just accordingly. Situated where Herengracht and Brouwersgracht meet, Very pleasant, quiet, and picturesque area a ten minutes walk or maybe less from Amsterdam Centraal.
We had some trouble checking in but it was solved to our satisfaction by the nice staff.
We stayed in a renovated double, it was tiny but very nice and fresh, With canal view which is the extra charm when going to Amsterdam. Free WIFI on the room upon request.
The hotel has a living room-type of space in the bottom adjacent to front desk, here is available fresh water, coffee and tea and connected computer.
Serves a tiny breakfast, which they choose not to call breakfast anymore since it is very basic, we were prepared on this though and saw it as and extra in the morning. Basically toast, jam and coffee enough to get you going before hitting a nice brunch later in town.
Front desk also helped us book prepaid tickets to sights in town, thanks!

Room Tip: Vintage rooms are not renovated but older than the rooms usually showed on websites. M-class room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

4 nights spent in that place, well situated, in a quiet street, with a nice view on the Herengracht (Men Canal!). Honnestly nothing to say, desk people are nice, breakfast is basic but OK, penthouse room is so charming and the view too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chabala01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pretty good for the price, but not as tidy or well kept as it was. Light fittings broken, mould in bathroom tile grout, damaged furniture, etc. But good coffee machine in lobby, friendly and secure atmosphere, and an excellent location.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty small, and the street is quiet enough not to worry about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildmercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

More than basic, I'd say essential. Rooms are little and you need to to some steps to reach you room. But everything is good and efficient. Friendly staff, free WiFi connection, a basic breakfast and.... it's located realy close to downtown and 10min walk from central station. Maybe is not the cheapest one, but for some short staying it's an excellent compromise.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KILO965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for a hen doo. The facilities are great, any time of day you can grab a coffee from the kitchen, make yourself some food or just sit in the lounge area.
It is fairly noisy with other guests and the walls are pretty thin, but the area its in and the price are ideal

Room Tip: Go for a room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 377alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We didnt get the new rooms but it was a good comfy stay, staff was very helpful apart from 1 woman what works in the afternoon, very rude and ignores you if u ask her anything never seen her smile all she does is give you dirty looks. She ruined our whole stay and wont be staying there again!! Apart from this The. Hotel was. Nice clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,257 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#22 of 374 in Amsterdam
684 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Bank Hotel
The Bank Hotel
#201 of 374 in Amsterdam
96 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#59 of 374 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Address: Herengracht 13 - 19, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly chic&basic Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $156 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Canal District 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Brown is situated in three monumental canal houses with an amazing 300-year old façade, at the corner of Amsterdam's most famous canals: the Herengracht & the Brouwersgracht. You’re in the Urban center from the moment you walk in and collect your room key from the crew behind the impressive bar. You can choose to go straight up to your cosy room or to hangout in Max Brown's Social Space for a while ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Amsterdam
Chic & Basic Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Chic Basic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing