We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not worth the money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PC Hooft Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
PC Hooft Hotel
Save
You added PC Hooft Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #348 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

We needed a hotel room for an extra night in Amsterdam and our much cheaper one star up the street was totally booked, so we booked this hotel on Expedia. While it was very nice to have our own bathroom, it was absolutely not worth the money. The bed was pretty uncomfortable, the TV was black & white and the elevator smelled terrible. Considering I was able to priceline a 4 star hotel room for substiantally less in another major european city, I really feel that the Hotel Pc was kind of a rip off. Amsterdam is an expensive city to stay in, but with a little work, you could defenitely do better.

I should also note that this hotel has a different name on the front, it is called the Hotel City Gardens, not Hotel PC. However, the address matches, so it ended up working out.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2006

It was OK if the main thing was to have a cheap room in walking distance of the centre - its very near the reijksmuseum and the outer ring of the central canals, and the Vondelpark is lovely. Designer shops alll along the road if you like window shopping. And to be fair, the reception staff were nice and friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is dingy and shabby throughout, reception carpet worn through and very worn and faded bedroom furnishings. The lift was tiny and made worrying creaking noises, and our room was a few flights of stairs further up than the lift went, so not for the elderly or infirm. we had an en suite bathroom and the shower worked, but the bathroom was grubby and cracked. Our radiator didnt work, when "on" it gurgled loudly, when "off" the room was freezing and the bedding too thin to get warm. We asked for someone to bleed the radiator but there was no evidence of this having been done, and by the time we got back each night we were too tired to worry about it really. The beds were very low and the mattresses inadequate. I didnt see any evidence of mice, but both of us did get a load of bites on our legs which looked like fleabites and took ages to clear up. The breakfast was a standard continental style, plentiful (with a warning not to make sandwiches for your lunch on the wall!) and it was nice that it was included in the deal as often it isnt. definitely not ideal for a romantic weekend, but ok if youre backpacking with friends. though even then, Id say the youth hostel round the corner where I stayed last year was clean and cheap and cheerful if youre with friends, and if youre with your partner/family, I'm probably with the people recommending you try somewhere else...

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pippippooray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

go here if you dont mind crackheads and homeless people on your 2 hour walk from the city to your hotel ,dutch elvis(the owner)is a decent enough guy whose hotel reeks of puff

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

The PC Hotel in Amsterdam is an overpriced, small, dank and dingy place that's out in the middle of nowhere. The PC Hotel has horrible business practices, just horrible. There are many places to stay in Amsterdam, dont waste any money on this one.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2005

I booked two nights in this hotel, and I cancelled after I arrived and had a look at the hotel and room, paying 65 Euros as a penalty.

The location of this hotel is in fact, quite close to the museums and to the more chic shopping area. However, this hotel, or motel rather, needs a major renovation. The lift was in bad repair, and the carpeting worn through, even at the lobby. The rooms were, to be kind, fairly rundown as well. The beds and sheets looked clean, though. The receptionist was polite, and professional.

If you are looking for a purely budget hotel, this could be the place for you. But between this and Ibis-chain of hotels is a whole world of difference (huge tip towards Ibis). I finally ended up paying just 20 Euros more for a room at Novotel Amsterdam. I would seriously discourage you from staying at this hotel if you're on a romantic holiday.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2005

Well, the thing is we (and "we" being my girlfriend and I) spent a night in a not ventilated dorm, so the fact that we finally found a double room, due to a "tall ship something", adds a lot to my grade of this, after all pleasent place.
It's situated in the street of the same name, PC Hooft, which is the most exclusive shoping place in Amsterdam. The guy who works there gave us a triple bed room for the two of us, so it was a nice start. for the price of 26 Euros per person, we got bed&breakfast-not much of it, but for a shorter stay, it will get you through the morning. Well, the worst thing is THEY HAVE MICE!!! So just don't keep your food in your room, and it will be OK.
All the best!

And the stairs are a sight of their own kind, but not a big problem...

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2005

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 3-person room on the top floor. My first piece of advice: if you hate stairs, don't come here. The walk up to the first floor is almost a straight vertical, especially scary on the way down. Since our room was on the top floor we had two more stories to climb, which is a hike after a long day of walking. Ask for a room without the high windows, since we coudn't even see out of ours without climbing on a chair. The toilet in the hallway is small but clean, though I was a little disappointed by the shower, which was a little grimy (I brought shower shoes). The room itself was nice, and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very friendly and gave us advice on what to see in the city. I would say its best feature is its location, on a very chic shopping street and right next to all the major museums. If you're on a budget, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#146 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#206 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#78 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PC Hooft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PC Hooft Hotel

Property: PC Hooft Hotel
Address: Pieter Cornelisz. Hooftstraat 63 | Museum Quarter, 1071 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Pc Hooft

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing