We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
1
14
16
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
14
16
5
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 42 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2008

After navigating the infamous twisting narrow stairs up to our room we found our room to be wonderful from the view to having our own bathroom. The only thing that keeps me from rating the room at 5 stars was the fact the bed had a seriously hard, wood divider running the length of it resulting in us sharing a rather tight half of the bed. The staff was excellent and the room was very clean. Vondel Park and the Leidsplein square where you can get anything to eat, drink, or smoke were literally only a 5 and 10 minute walk away respectively. The hotel can be a little noisy after the late night crowd returns but It is still a great place to stay and when I return to Amsterdam I will be staying at the Park! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Vondel Park / Leidsplein area.

  • Stayed: June 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillyfreedom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We booked this hotel via the Amsterdam Tourist Information bureau after arriving in Amsterdam a day earlier than originally planned and without a hotel reservation. The room price and quality were comparable to the hotel we had booked in Paris although we found out at the hotel they had no lift and the stairs in Amsterdam are notoriously steep, narrow, uneven and sloping. The hotel overall was nice and we had an ensuite room with actually 3 separate beds although we only needed 2.

There were two very large windows with drapes that looked out onto the street below. There was also a table fan that came in handy in the humid weather. There was a nice size tv with many channels and many in English as well that came in handy during the late evening when we were too wiped out to walk more but it was still light out and we couldn't sleep.

The beds were firm but comfortable and the linens were clean but simple. The hotel is located adjacent to the Vondelpark and only a few blocks from the main tourist area of the Leidesplein so the location is convenient. There is a tram (#1) stop nearby and you can catch trams also from the Leidesplein a few minutes away. The Museumsplein is a 5 minute walk and the canal boat tours are also nearby and worth a look at. Overall I would recommend the hotel but it is not for those challenged by steep stairs. The room price via the tourist bureau was 80 Euro per night which included a simple breakfast of juice, coffee, toast with jams, hard boiled egg, and ham and cheese slices. The breakfast was sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed at the Parkzicht for the weekend and found that it suited our needs in terms of location. Our room (room 5) was at the back of he building and was ample enough in size although it did appear to lean perhaps a bit much towards faded elegance.

It's just as well that our room was above the reception/breakfast room as I would have felt sorry if someone had a room beneath us as you couldn't place a foot anywhere without these huge creaking sounds!!

Although beakfast is included in the price it was only worth getting out of bed for once. The 2 slices of cheese, cold meat and cold boiled egg (with bread) did not prompt any incentive to get out of bed for (although I did manage a portion of honey on cold pre packaged toast).

The room was clean with fresh towels supplied each day.The bathroom was spotlessly clean and quite modern compared to the room itself

All in all I think that the Parkzicht was a bit expensive in terms of value for money and the breakfast was dull but the manager and his family were welcoming and efficient.

One last thing, don't whatever you do choose to stay here if your elderly/disabled as the Parkzicht is quite typical of many older Amsterdam hotels with a staircase that presents itself as being similar to the North face of the Eiger.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank euroweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2003

Stayed here 2 weeks, A DREAM, Best room ever, best view of Vondel park, GREAT LOCATION TO WALK FROM...Awesome place, beautiful sunny room,great shower and bathroom. Really clean and tidy. SUPER FRIENDLY STAFFERS TOO!!! A+++++

5  Thank Extraordinary29909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 24, 2002

Location is not everything. The only decent thing about this hotel is its location. The place is a DUMP! The owner/manager is not helpful, discourteous and above all- RUDE. There are many hotels to choose from in this area. Choose elsewhere or risk ruining your Amsterdam experience.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews