We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected a little more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhof
Ranked #44 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expected a little more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

Summary: For 85 Euros a night, I expected a little more. What I got was a glorified hostel, which is fine if I was paying hostel prices, but I don't consider 85 Euros to be hostel prices.

The Good: The place is quaint. It is a cute row house tucked away just off of a main street (and literally steps from the tram stop). It has the typical steep steps leading upstairs, and a fun door mechanism. It is a quiet location, which made for a nice night sleep. Additionally, we didn't hear any noise from the neighbors, so either we had quiet neighbors, or the walls are thick. The staff is pretty nice and friendly, although I had minimal interaction. Being a small hotel (AKA converted house), it only has a few rooms, and because of that, you often get to know the other guests, which can be good or bad. In this case it was great, as the other guests were all extremely nice and friendly, and we all exchanged contact information. For whatever reason, I think small places like this tend to attract nice people like that. We had a room with a bathroom. Toilet was clean, and bed linens were clean and nice.

The Less-than-good: The location is convenient and quiet, but I would not say it was in the center of town, as they say on the webpage. Map it out and see for yourself. It's more toward the south end of town. We rented bikes, which is a great way to see Amsterdam. With respect to the bathroom, the shower curtain was pretty gross; we didn't even want to touch it, as it had a slimy film on it. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing to write home about. Overall, I wouldn't say there was anything that was really just terrible, but I think a more fair price would be about 40-50 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    107
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
103
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2005

Hotel Prinsenhof was a great cozy little hotel conveniently located in the heart of Amsterdam. It is right by the Tram 4 stop and easy to get to wherever you are in Amsterdam. The owners are friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights in Room 10 on the top floor. It was full of character and comfortable. Breakfast was good, deli meats, toast, hard boiled eggs, etc. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2005

We've just returned from Amsterdam and would recommend the Prinsenhof. We had a double and a twin room without facilities but found them both very comfortable, quiet and clean and quite spacious too. If you want a relatively cheap hotel in central Amsterdam which is in a friendly area (ie. you feel comfortable walking round at night) then try this hotel. Don't be put off by the entrance which feels like you're walking up onto a car ferry! The decor is a little dated and the shower wet-rooms/toilets were a bit cramped but we never had to wait to use a bathroom, there is a sink in each room and the water was always very hot. Breakfast is adequate and there are lots of restaurants and bars locally that are fine for evening meals. We ate at De Zaak twice which was good but we had to wait a while for the food. The bar on the corner is also welcome after a day's sightseeing! All in all, our first time in Amsterdam exceeded expectations and the Prinsenhof Hotel added to our enjoyment of our stay. I'd give it 3.5 rating if there was one.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_milou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2005

When we booked this hotel it was ranked 28th out of the Amsterdam travel deals (March '05). When we went it had slipped down to 86th and having been I can see why.

But, firstly the positives - it is very central. The guides books say it is a hotel with character - and this is what it is. We loved the pulley system that the owners/managers used to open the front door!

We stayed in room 1 and had a family room (2 adults, 2 children) and paid 140 euros inc. breakfast per night. The room was big enough but a bit shabby. The hotel also smelt strongly of smoke and this could also be smelt on the bedding. However, to be fair to them it isn't advertised as a no smoking hotel. It just put us off a bit.

A previous guest had put in the visitors book that tea/coffee making facilities should be available and I agree with this comment. The breafast is okay.

I also agree with the comment from a trip advisor member - the web site looks a lot better than what you actually get. £100 a night in Great Britain would ensure you something better than this hotel but I suppose you get the real Amsterdam on your doorstep and that itself brings the price up.

If we were to go again - probably without the children we would stay at the Seven Bridges hotel - on the next street but much, much nicer and a lot quieter. It is slightly more money but as the saying goes you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronte68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2005

O my goodness! this was one of the best areas i have stayed at in amsterdam. to begin with it is easy to find... right by the number 4 tram stop. When you first enter it wont look like a big time hotel and it doesnt advertise itself to be. The rooms have a very homely feel to it and is very clean. Though there are no tvs in the room (who really needs them anyways when you are on holiday) there are magazines and a radio to listen too. the hotel staff was very frinedly and incredibly helpful. they got us out of couple of jams. Again i must stress the great location of the hotel.... it is less then a 5 minute walk to the Albert Cuypstraat market.... the biggest and most famous of them all. it is also very near the flower market and rembrantplein so thats good for those who like nature. Although breakfast was the same daily it was very fillling, They served chesse and sorts of deli meats along with eggs and all sorts of spreads. they was also cake like stuff. All in all very nice and good enough to get you to lunch. there is only one little downside to the hotel though. The hot water sometimes goes out for like one minute..... not very long but it can get annoying especially during a hot shower. but that only happened like twice or something.... not to big of a problem. To end.... you must give this hotel a chance! It was incredible and i know i will go back soon. hope you do the same!

P.S. If you need more photos just email me.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acd271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

I’ve stayed in Hotel Prinsenhof for a long weekend at the beginning of July. After seeing the pictures of their rooms on their website, I was disappointed when I saw mine. It was very small and didn’t have any character. The view of our window was to the back which looked out into a small courtyard and roofs of other houses. However, it seems that I was very unlucky with room No. 2, as I’ve looked into the others when they were being cleaned and they looked much nicer and bigger. Our room only had space for two single beds with about 20 cm between them to walk through. The private bathroom was built into a small corner which would normally be used for a wardrobe. However, the room was clean and there was nothing else wrong with it. The steep stairs were no problems for us and the breakfast was simple (toast with jam, cheese, eggs or meat) but filled us up in the morning. The staff were friendly and the location perfect. It was located in a quiet, safe and pretty canal street, in between the inner city and the Museumsplein. You could walk to most tourist sites if you wanted to, but the tram stop with good connections was just outside if your legs felt tired. Overall Hotel Prinsenhof is good value for money and I would stay here again, if I could specify which room I could stay in.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Salsakitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2005

This hotel was interesting. The price was great. We took a room with the bath on the floor and the shower room was difficult to use and the water cold. The room was small but adequate. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was not particularly helpful or friendly. The best part is the location which is on a great canal street a short tram ride from anywhere. I would recommend this hotel based on the price and location but it certainly is not fancy.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#37 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#22 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#28 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#52 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Property: Prinsenhof
Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing