We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the price you pay, spot on” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhof
Ranked #42 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
744 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“For the price you pay, spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to have a budget city weekend break and first looked at hostels. But the reviews for what you find centrally located were generally poor. You pay slightly more here compared to a hostel but includes breakfast and given the great location makes it an ideal option. It ain't a 5 star hotel and doesn't in any way purport to be. But the price, location and excellent breakfast make it an ideal option.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    107
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
103
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sorry, but whoever is complaining about this place is insane! You pay what 35 quid pp a night and it's an authentic town house in amsterdam with breakfast. Independent hotel and amazing for the money. Its just basic, clean and I am super fussy about hotels. It isn't a 5* boutique hotel, but if you want authentic amsterdam then go for it! Staff are pretty friendly, I think the other people must have just annoyed them that are complaining! Also free wifi now which is fab :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Javshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Location was really good, not the most touristic area, but walking distance to centrum, tram stop and metrostation. The room was basic, but clean with nice views. We had shared bathroom but it was ok. The atmosphere was more like visiting someones home than staying at hostel/hotel. The breakfast was good, with two kinds of bread, eggs, different kinds of cold cuts, tomato, cereal, juice, coffee/tea etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elli124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you are able to navigate about 5 steps up the door, 17 steps up to the first floor, another 15 steps up to the second floor (that's where our room was) , with about 15 kilos of luggage on one hand and the other holding on to the railing just in case your sideways step doesn't slide off the very narrow steps (I wear a size 36 shoes), congratulations - you've made it to your room! After 3 days, your challenge is going down, sadly this time, your luggage a tad heavier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The room assigned to us hadnt been properly cleaned (used sheets), electric light switch came off in my hand, staff friendly but didn't help with luggage...but otherwise pleasant and well-located hotel but in need of refurbishing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Entrance of hotel is very small, narrow as well as lots of stairs and steep before you reach the first landing, so pack light. They have a wench system to move luggage however, our group did not use. Rooms are located on several floors, so more walking and hauling of luggage. Rooms are small and clean with some rooms having private washing facilities, however if you do not the washrooms are located in the hall. There is internet service but somewhat iffy at times and no tv in room, then again we weren't at the room very often. The staff was gracious, helpful and friendly. I enjoyed breakfast in the Blue room.

Location is convenient to tram stop and hotel is also near Rembrandtplein and museum quarter. Also, all around the hotel are cafes, restaurants and shops.

Simple, clean and basic - a great value in Amsterdam and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gap09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We chose the Prinsenhof because of location, historical significance and price, and we'd recommend it for all three and more. We arrived in AMS at 7am and took a train to Centraal Station and tram #4 to the Prinsenhof, arriving before 10am. We had planned to leave our suitcases and check in after a day of sightseeing, but we were shown to our room which was already clean and ready. The carpet on the stairs and in our room looked and smelled fresh and new, our room (1A) had a private bath and overlooked the canal. Bathroom, shower and linens were sparkling clean. Buffet breakfast was simple but good: real oj, boiled egg, toast, meat and cheese, and jams, pb and honey. Again, breakfast room was very clean, pleasant and had a view of rooftops behind. Pure old world charm. Yes, rooms are small and narrow, but that's the way canal houses are built. We walked everywhere from the Prinsenhof. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ontheroadalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#38 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#18 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prinsenstede Lodging Amsterdam
#72 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#26 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhof

Property: Prinsenhof
Address: Prinsengracht 810, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prinsenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsenhof Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing