We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value.....”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #113 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Ideal for a short break, great location across from the central station, walking distance to everywhere or near trams if you prefer. The Old Dutch Suite has small patio with table and chairs and best of all the en suite was spotless, with energy saving toilet flush and fabulous shower.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsybrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 928 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2006

i have been in many hotels all around the world:
in A Train hotel you have to pay 7,50€ to watch CNN,CNBC and others dutch chennel(brodcast by cable tv)
The room are very small and the bed was very soft . Breakfast was terrible and the open bufe seems very poor.The manager and the owner were very rude and nervouse.l will never go back again

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Thoroughly enjoyed a few days at this hotel. Very conveniently, it is 2 mins walk away from the station, and everything else. The room wasn't fancy or large, but clean and sufficient, and reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was self-serve, normal choice of food. The seating area had a very interesting 'train' theme. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greekaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

I spent hours on the internet trying to find somewhere central in Amsterdam that had an ensuite and did not blow the budget. I finally decided on the A-train because of the reviews and it was also one of the cheaper hotels that met our requirements. We took the train in from the airport and had our instructions on how to get to the hotel, but we didn't need them as you could see the hotel straight away - brilliant! Once we were inside we were once again pleasantly suprised - we had expected it to be a little dark and dingy (from photos etc) but it was lovely. I was preparing myself for the difficult climb up stairs but there was a lift! Although I would say that the room is small we were pleasantly suprised again as we had expected smaller and the ensuite was lovely, clean and modern. We thought it was going to be difficult to sleep because of the location but our room was not on the street. There was a little noise from tenants in neighbouring buildings (because buildings are so close) but nothing major. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly. We would definitely recommend the A-train.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Waipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Great location, close to all the action. We got off the train and rolled our luggage across the bridge to the hotel Nice room at a great price. The place is kept clean and the desk people do a great job of maintaining security. Everything is included, in the price, no surprises. The staff is first rate, especially the woman who runs the breakfast room. I recommend choosing a First Class room. This room is bigger and has a view of the canal and the Central Station. The fridge in the room is great for storing drinks and food. Don't concern yourself about the shower set up, the water won't reach the room. The elevator is quite big for this type hotel. Just look out for the high thresholds on the doorways. Remember to lift your feet or you'll go on a trip of a different type.

Stayed: September 2006
3  Thank Telcoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

My experience with the owner and a manager of this hotel was horrible. They were both insensitive, cold and rude. Especially considering my reservation had been accidentally deleted on their end. The manager in particular was so rude that if I would've had an option to stay elsewhere, I'd have taken it. The room itself had zero charm and in fact, I had to open the window and prop the door open to air it out from the previous tenants. For almost 150 euros a night, your vacation money is best spent elsewhere. Try the Hotel New Amsterdam which is a mere 5 minute walk west. All the people who worked there were completely amicable, the rooms were charming and my stay was peaceful. If you can help it, vacations should be full of good memories, not bad ones.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jrmintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Sorry that you were disapointed in our hotel.
For other readers, just check the other reviews.
Jos Heijnsdijk, owner A-Train hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

Wonderful hotel with great location near Central Station and Dam Square. Hotel was clean with friendly staff eager to assist. We booked a triple room that had pleanty of room and most importantly was clean and smelled fresh! This hotel provides a safe environment with friendly staff available 24hrs. They also offer a variety of items in the vending machine including Heineken so we were happy! Also enjoyed sitting in the Pullman Lounge area each evening. Breakfast was the only aspect that may have room for improvement- it was good however a variety of cereal would add the extra touch! (I recall only cornflakes being available). While looking for hotels prior to arriving in Amsterdam, I am pleased I chose the ATrain as I was able to see all the other hotels in person once I arrived a did they ever appeatr filthy! The Atrain is wonderful and I cannot wait to return!
KS in Arizona

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SullyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,272 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 373 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 373 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $109 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing