We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a notch above other three star hotels in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #130 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
phnom penh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a notch above other three star hotels in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This hotel features an elevator, free breakfast , free internet, an interesting theme, and a great location, literally a 2 minute walk from the train station. My standard room was small, but this is typical for Amsterdam. It had a view of the canal in front of the train station. It is also one of the few hotels that has some smoking rooms. You will not find a friendlier or more helpful staff than in this family-run establishment

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkktripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    369
    134
    39
    22
See reviews for
123
289
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Let me start by saying the Hotel is in a fantastic location for P&O ferrie travellers as the coach from the europort drops you straight outside the hotel! You can then lock your luggage away and explore the city! The reception area is nice and quirky as is the lobby, all based on the train/travellers theme, staff are very freindly too.

We stayed in a good room the "dutch suite" although i must say I hated the decor it isnt anything personal against the hotel It just gave me the creeps, I understand the idea to make it a period piece, although I felt i was staying in a museum room. With features such as dolls pram, brass kettles, portraits on the wall, typewriters etc. You dont need any of the magic ****** to illucinate in here!
The room was very clean and all the amneties were present, tea and coffee, freeview TV even with BBC! Also had a massive wardrobe.

The room was spacious although very dark, and had its own garen perfect for if you go in summer or if you smoke, also the bathroom was a nice size too and also very clean.

One thing I must add is yes I have been to open bathrooms before where their is no shower cubicle or curtain just the shower and yes the floor does get soaked no matter what other people say its invetiable with no barrier-we just re-used our towel on the floor! So dont be surprised! Theres plenty of drainage.

Breakfast was ok what youd expect from a european hotel,douge egberts coffee toast, fruit bread, cheese and ham etc

Overall a good hotel based in the centre with easy access to buses and drop offs/pick ups just have an open mind for the rooms!

For one or two nights its perfect.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The dutch suite decor
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flylikeabird2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Just returned from Amsterdam, having taken a small group of students to carry out business research for school course. Selected A-Train Hotel on the basis of reviews on another site, and was not disappointed. The rooms are small - so are most city-centre hotel rooms; particularly in Amsterdam because of the architecture! Surely most reviewers have encountered wet-rooms before? Much more hygienic than mildewy curtains!
Because no single rooms available when we booked at short notice, we booked First Class room for single occupancy (on-street view which many like in a city), 2 double/ twin rooms each for single occupancy and a triple room. All were very clean and comfortable and met our needs. The view from the double rooms was over a building in the process of being renovated, so lots of building debris, but we were there to be out doing research, so not a problem. The cost was lower than going elsewhere and paying additional charge for breakfast or local tax - paid 382 Euros for 4 rooms occupied by 6 people - great value.
Self-service breakfast in the 'pullman lounge' was excellent - juice, cereals, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, toast, fruit breads etc
Staff were welcoming helpful and efficient.
Location - directly opposite Central Station (or P&O Ferries bus if you have had a mini-cruise to Rotterdam) was so convenient for arrival(no problem locating it) and departure.
Would I return?
Absolutely - with students or with partner.

  • Liked — The individuality - not bland corporate
  • Disliked — View over next door
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank half-full55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for two days 18/19 Oct 2008.

Pros:
- Staff is friendly
- breakfast is included and is quite decent
- hotel lobby/reception area makes for great pictures
- Breakfast area is done up very well.
- very close to the central station and the other attractions in central amsterdam. 20 mins by train from airport
- has a secure room to store luggage in case you check out in the morning and have a plan to catch only in the evening
- safe and good for families or couples

Cons:
- a very congest place
- rooms disappointingly small -- one person has to sit on the bed for the other person to have enough space to walk around
- the loo area is waaay too small...one can't move arms in the shower..also if one sits on the throne, the knees touch the wall!!
- heating didn't work well
- better places out there for the same amount of money

if possible, do a bit more research and stay some place else. we, my wife and i, regretted paying so much money for just two nights and staying in a place so congsted that we couldn't even strech our legs properly.

over all a 'B-' rating only because the rooms were a big disappointment..seeing the room for the first time will make you think 'what....?!! that's it!?'...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Just had a 1 night stay in the A Train in Amsterdam - wished it was for longer! The hotel is right across from the Central Station and ideally located. On entering you cannot miss the train memorabilia, the owners must be real enthusiasts - it was great! The Rooms were spotless we booked a double and the family room. We had a kettle and microwave in the family room which was also on two levels.
Breakfast was served in the Pullman Lounge. There was a good choice of meats and cheese and plenty of coffee tea etc.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will definitely stay here again at this delightful hotel.
Thanks for making the visit to Amsterdam special for us.

  • Liked — The location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing it was all good
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

I decided to stay in A-Train after reading all these good reviews.
I stayed in "first class room" (nothing first class about it; small room, no amenities - shampoo etc available) and after the third night (they had not changed the sheets) I found a little blood in the sheets. My alarm bells did not ring then....The fouth morning the bed was covered with bedbuggs and they had eaten me all over. I complained at the Reception and all they did was only noting it down, they did not apology and the matter did not seem to suprise them. Luckily that was my last night at the A-Train.

Besides this the room was on the very busy street side and there were roadworks going on during the night. Luckily I managed to purchase earplugs later.

On the positive side the breakfast and the breakfastroom were very nice and the personnel was nice (untill I complaint about the bugs).

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank l0nelyw0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2008
Bedbugs are a real nightmare for hoteliers and unfortunately traveling with guest's luggage, all over the world. As soon as they are spotted, the room is sprayed by RENTOKILL, with whom we have a contract.
All sheets etc. are washed seperatly and the room is blocked for at least 2 days.
That is what we told Mr. Lonelywolf when he complained at check-out. We always check our rooms very carefully. He was in the room most of the time during the day and kept the 'do not disturb' sign on his door, so we could not change his sheets (normally after 2 nights). I trust Mr. Lonelywolf enjoyed his stay in Amsterdam anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Stayed there for 1 night before heading off to Belgium. The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the train station. Good location if you are travelling by train to your next destination. The cafe has a nice "train theme". The breakfast fair was just average..nothing to fancy.

I booked a triple room, the size of the room was small and the bathroom did not have a shower curtain so after a shower the entire bathroom will be wet.

Overall, had a good experience.The rooms were clean and the receptionist was friendly. Would recommend it to traveller who won't be spending too much time in the room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#126 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing