We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #134 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Letbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

this hotel is opposite central station and about 500 yards from damtrak the main street. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are small the breakfast was good for Amsterdam and the hotels location the price was good.
Gwyn and Sylvia Hughes

Room Tip: Pay the extral and get one of the bigger rooms. For its location the rooms were quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    364
    132
    39
    21
See reviews for
119
284
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We decided last minute to stay here closer to the train station and canal area and were so happy with the decision. We could see the hotel from the train station but across a canal so it wasnt too close to be loud. We were able to walk everywhere easily. The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast was good with fresh meats and cheeses. We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for easy access to everything.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
458 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great hotel really close to the main train station! We had the room on the top floor and it had a real homey/attic feal to it was was plenty big for 5 adults! They have a hearty breakfast and the staff is extremley helpful. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you come to Amsterdam, and want to step off the train (Amsterdam Central) and check right into a hotel and then enjoy the city, This is the perfect place.

If you want big rooms, nicely remodeled, overpriced in hotel restaurants and rate-fixing, Go else-where ( Like the Two hotels Next Door, ART and Park)

My logic is simply this: You are not in Amsterdam to stay in the room. The room is a place where you shower, sleep and keep your belongings. THATS IT. If you are coming to Amsterdam to chill in the room, YOU ARE DOING IT ALL WRONG.

The staff here is super nice. The dudes are the front are really pleasant but the REAL charm are the ladies that run the rather interesting lounge / restaurant. They are amazing people and made us free sandwiches, coffee, gave us free wifi: All AFTER we checked out, and while we waited for out train for 4 hours, were happy to host us in the lobby.

The Rooms: Small, a bit dank, Basically from the 80s and never touched: But I have news for you-- You will find practically the SAME quality room 2 Hotels over( cough cough PARK) for about TWICE the price. The rooms are also dark, but again, you are just there to sleep- Its SUPPOSE to be dark!

Free , Fast Internet on Multiple Devices = PLUS

This is a cash only place, but there is a cash point directly next door. Don't get your feelings hurt when they want the rate up front, People have bailed on them not paying the bill, so they ask for the rates on Checkin .

All in all, a Great place. Nothing fancy, but the staff and courtesy and hospitality make up for it.

I will return if I spend 1-2 Days in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedUserLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

IT May not be a 4 or 5 star hotel, but I give it 5 stars for the warm and friendly atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, breakfast is good and situated in a very central area. Walk to the station, dam square, grocery stores etc..If you are looking for a 3 star hotel, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you book the quadruple room, be prepared to have 2 beds upstairs and 2 beds downstairs (in the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heloise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Si bien no es un hotel barato, en Amsterdam ninguno lo es! Las habitaciones eran espaciosas (triples) y el personal atento. Desayuno normal. concepto muy particular. Las habitaciones muy limpias, lo cual se agradece especialmente en el baño. Las alfombras las aspiraban todos los días y nos consta! La ubicación es realmente excelente, frente a la Terminal de trenes y de ahí es muy fácil moverte. No tuve ningún problema para dormir. Wifi de pago.

If so it isnt a cheap hotel, no one in Amsterdam is!! Rooms are spacious (I was in a triple), supportive staff. Regular breakfast, particular concept (trains), very clean rooms, wich is always appreciated especially the bathrooms. They vacuum the carpets every day (we might say). Great great great location, just in front.. literally in front of the Amsterdam Central, wich is so easy to move into the city. I didn't have any problems sleeping. WIFI is not for free. I recommend it, I probably would be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The A-Train is directly across the street from the central train station. No taxi required. The rooms are very basic but the location and great breakfast make for good value. I you like trains, this place is for you. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank old_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#157 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,097 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#124 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing