We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A-Train Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$304
$242
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$306
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$295
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$334
$222
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$166
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$303
$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$562
$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveler rating
274
458
173
44
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
458
173
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthemed hotelcentral stationgreat locationboiled eggsthe breakfast areafamily roomcontinental breakfastvending machinerooms are smallunique hotelnice breakfastcold meatsdam squarecouple of nightsred light districtwithin easy walking distanceshort break
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 973 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights... I agree the rooms are small, but spotlessly clean and comfortable... the staff are very friendly and helpful...nothing is too much trouble... I was on the ground floor so could not comment on stairs or access to other floors. Breakfast was adequate, not a huge selection, but some hotels don't serve breakfast at all, so that was a bonus. The Hotel is situated close to the Centraal Station so is very convenient for trains, &. trams . The only down side for me was some noise at the back of the hotel , but as it was such a busy area I suppose that should expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannam870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights back in May. We were a group of 4 adults and 2 young kids and stayed in the family room. The room is located at the highest floor and you have to go up through a flight of stairs to get to the room. The stairs are quite small and steep, so it might be a bit of a chore for some people.

The room itself is quite roomy for European standard. The furniture's a bit old and there's musty smell in the room. The kitchenette was basic but functional. The room, particularly the toilet, is a bit too dark for my liking. Otherwise, I'd say it's quite comfortable and totally met our expectations. The small children bed and play area is a nice touch. My daughter loved it!

Basic continental breakfast is provided. Selection is rather limited, but it's good enough. Staff were attentive, friendly and very helpful.

Location is great. Less than 5 minutes walk from the Centraal Station. You can also get trams and buses nearby. Lots of restaurants around the area. A grocery store is also just a few doors away.

Overall, I would definitely consider this hotel again when I come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahzane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is located bang opposite the station. Major tour/excursion operators are just one street away from the hotel. Hotel staff is cordial and helpful. However, the rooms are small. I traveled with my wife. After keeping our 2 bags there was hardly any space to move around. Nevertheless, we were there only for one day so were hardly there in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piyush_Deora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

First the good, the hotel is very close to Central Station for connections everywhere. The staff are quite friendly and helpful.

Now the rest, tiny rooms and the bathroom was smaller than those on most cruise ships. If you have long legs you won't be able to use the toilet from a sitting position. Carpet and towels were pretty threadbare and there are lips to go over to get into the room and into the bathroom so watch your step in the dark. Speaking of which, it is always dark in the bathroom, maybe a 20w lightbulb at most. They want you to hand in your key when you leave the hotel and present a card to get it back when you return. Why?
The breakfast is just OK, minimal offerings, hard boiled eggs, and I do mean hard, toast and some sort of cereal. Coffee was OK from a machine.
The beds were comfortable and the temp in the room was OK, only because it was cool outside, there is no AC and heat is either on or off.

No free Wi-Fi in room, and extra to watch a movie on the TV. They do have a computer down in the breakfast area that you can use but it is very public and don't forget to clear the history and cookies if you do use it.

I would stay there again only if I had to be close to Central Station.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is one.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mo32a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

WHY do you have to hand in your key?
The one and only reason for leaving the key in the hotel is SAFETY! Of course we now which rooms are occupied, but in case of an emergency we did not know if someone was in the room or not. By leaving the key at the desk we now know.

We serve our (complimentarily ) continental breakfast buffet from 7.00 until 10.00 and it consists of:
· White, dark and raison bread, toaster available
· "Beschuit" (special Dutch breakfast biscuit)
· Butter and margarine
· Jam assortments, chocolate paste, honey, hazelnut paste and peanut butter
· Ham, chickenfilet and cheese
· Cornflakes and muesli
· Boiled eggs
· Various coffees, teas and hot chocolate
· Milk, yoghurt and fruit juice
. Fresh fruit and vegatables

As from this week we have 70! (was 34), free sattelite TV channels on Flatscreens.

Trust you had a good time in beautifull Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Its right opposite Amsterdam central train station so we could hop on any train/bus/tram when we wanted to. The room (family room) was specious by european standards, well furnished and had microwave and fridge which was very convinient. Many restaurants are close by so eating late dinner is not an issue. Their breakfast was quite nice and our family was very happy with the overall experience and service. Please keep up the good work.

2  Thank Am0dD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews