We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #132 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Its right opposite Amsterdam central train station so we could hop on any train/bus/tram when we wanted to. The room (family room) was specious by european standards, well furnished and had microwave and fridge which was very convinient. Many restaurants are close by so eating late dinner is not an issue. Their breakfast was quite nice and our family was very happy with the overall experience and service. Please keep up the good work.

Helpful?
2 Thank Am0dD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    364
    132
    39
    21
See reviews for
119
284
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

You can't beat the location which is accross the street from Central Station. The reception staff were extremely friendly and engaged in conversation. We booked the Old Dutch Suite and could not have been more pleased. The bed was comfortable and the windows opened so you could allow fresh air to circulate since there isn't a/c. There was a fan in the room too which was a nice addition! The bathroom was basic with toilet/shower and sink, but adequate. It did have a hair dryer. You are centrally located to the ferries, the coffee shops, the bars. The continental breakfast is included in your room price and it offered the basic toast/cheese/meats, cereals, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juices. We were there a week and I only wished they changed it up a little, but no complaints since it always seemed to hit the spot. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and do recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PACneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed there for just 1 night in a "family room". We were two couples and needed a larger room, which was perfect for us. The rooms are rather small, but it is an older building and it was sufficient for us, since we only spent a night there and were out for most of the day. The only thing which bothered me a little was the bathroom, the shower was open and the water got every where. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was simple but more than sufficient (and included in the price!!) The hotel is literally only a 5 mins walk from the train station, which was a great location and it's very convenient to walk to other places, bars and many restaurants. The gentleman at the reception (Levy?!) was super friendly and welcoming. I loved the train theme of the breakfast area and the hotel. I would def stay there again, for the rate we got.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Right opposite the Central train station, this is a great hotel with an entirely train-oriented theme. Our room was small, but reminded us of a twin sleeper car (not that small, thank god!) The hotel building is very old (1800s), so don't expect huge rooms like modern hotels. The staff was wonderful - we had tons of fun chatting with them as they directed us around Amsterdam. We didn't need airconditioning, and our room faced the courtyard so was rather quiet. Any problems were dealt with quickly and with good humor - they tolerated two tired and thus punchy tourists very well. Good breakfast - no hot foods other than toast, but cereal, toast, cheese, meats, and coffee, juice, and tea. Only drawback was the bed was a bit soft - but anything would be after running all over Europe! Would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Twin rooms may be a bit small, and there doesn't seem to be airconditioning (not needed for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My room was small and very basic, but I was ok with that. It was clean and comfortable. The staff helped get me settled in and comfortable with the area. I thought breakfast was good, not a huge selection but not awful either. Can't beat the location! Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HandsUp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I'm glad I stayed here. The location right opposite the central station was great for a tired traveller like me. 20 minutes on the train from Schipol & straight to the hotel.
My room was clean and the bed very comfortable.
The front desk were very helpful, breakfast was ok.
Great value for money, I'd stay here again for sure.
Compared to a nearby chain hotel that my colleagues were in for much more money, this was the better option.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westhamfrom1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose the Hotel to be close to the train station, which was perfectly situated, we had the courtyard room, absolutely adorable! Price was Excellant breakfast was very basic but it did the job. Hotel staff were excellent thoroughly enjoyed our first look at Amsterdam , and would definately stay at the A Train again if we went back.

Room Tip: Cant remember what they called the room, but it had its own courtyard, a little bit more expensive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimberlyjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#155 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,101 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing