We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #132 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 10/11/12-10/15/12. We stayed in the Old Dutch Suite. We loved our room, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. There are unbrellas you can borrow. We also borrowed an adapter for my cell during our stay. There is one computer you can use for free. It was usually available when I wanted to use it. Short walk to/from the train station, right across the street from the canal ride, maybe a 20 minute walk to the Anne Frank House, and close to many restaurants and bars. There is a grocery store next door- good for snacks, and it was only a 5 minute walk to do laundry. Breakfast was O.K. What they had was good, just not much of a selection for me. Bread, cheese, meat, cereal, small oranges. Coffee, hot cocoa, and juice to drink. I will definitely stay here again and in the Old Dutch Suite. We really loved this unique room. Nice decor, and a nice patio area off the room. The only downside is there is no shower curtain so some water does end up on the bathroom floor. I had read about this in previous reviews so it didn't surprise me.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple definitely choose the Old Dutch Suite. It may cost more, but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    369
    134
    39
    22
See reviews for
123
288
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've encountered problem upon checked-in to the hotel. Please don't get me wrong, not hotel fault, it was travel agent whose failed to inform hotel regarding my reservation.
(It was later explained as duplicate booking or so on...)
Mr Jos was very friendly and helpful. He asked me not to worry, he has room for me.
He said he will check with the travel agent regarding the problem.
I felt so warm and really thankful to him...if not for him, i will have to find a room at other hotel by dragging my luggages to walk around amsterdam city.

Ask for room at 2nd floor facing the backyard (B209).
I love the view from my room to the hotel backyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It comply with all our expectatives: clean, very well located, very kind attention and moderately priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JCPesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

As first timers to Amsterdam this hotel could not have been easier to find! It's right across from the train station and a lot of canal tours. Amsterdam is a walking city, and being located here was perfect. We stayed in the Apartment with 5 people and it worked great. They had fans for the upstairs room which was awesome. We did not utilize the kitchen much but that would be perfect for a family. The only annoyance was that there is only one computer to get online with so there was usually a line to wait in to check email. You could purchase wifi but it was only good for one device and it was a per-day fee. Breakfast was ok. The staff was great and had good recommendations! Neat place overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked hotel online and reservation held with credit card. Website and email confirmation clearly stated twice that credit card would not be charged and can pay cash upon checkin. When I checked in I was informed that my credit card had already been charged. I am from US, so by charging my credit card I was also charged a service charge for the card being used in Amsterdam.
The desk clerk said the email did not state that I could pay cash at checkin. I then showed him a copy of the email stating the card would not be charged and cash could be paid at checkin. He then said that he was "just an employee" and couldn't help me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIGBOSSAmsterdam, Owner at A-Train Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest, you had reserved one or more rooms in our hotel through one of our special offers,
HOT DEAL or NON-REFUNDABLE!
ATTENTION: booking policies differ from general hotel policy!
Deposit: The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking and is non-refundable.
Cancellation: Please note, if cancelled or modified or in case of a no-show the total price of the reservation will be charged.

The above was clearly stated at your confirmation of the booking.
Jos Heijnsdijk, Owner of the A-Train hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#154 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#126 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Property: A-Train Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing