We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in quiet neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #195 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in quiet neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed with husband and two young children ages 4 and 8. As others have mentioned, it is a little outside the city, but with that comes a neighborhood atmosphere. DO RENT BIKES! It is such an easy way to get around the city. Taxis are very expensive here and we didn't have the time or patience to figure out the tram system, so bikes worked very well. ATMs, grocery, park, pizza are all within a block or two. Beds and thick foam pillows very comfy and staff were very accomodating. Their website says all payment due at time of check-in, however, they let us pay as we wished, so we chose to pay a night at a time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMomOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
22
84
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed in room 2.2. A nice big room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Shower and toilet inside the room. The room was clean and the beds slept really well. The staff is very helpfull
The breakfast was unlimited.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

When I have booked here the web site hasn't been very clear about the payment. 7£ of difference between internet price and Hotel price! A part this, the staff is kind, room and cleanliness in the average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Compared to other hostels in Amsterdam, this place was very reasonable. Yes it is quite far out, however if you rent bikes from there it isn't that bad. Renting the bikes was one of the best bits of out trip! Breakfast was fine, the location is very hard to find, its of a side road so we did get lost. The steps are very steep, but all the building in Amsterdam are. The room was fine, there is a bed in the far end, its like a porch, which was chilly in January! It was very clean and quiet at night, and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosier_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I went to Amsterdam to attend ADE and I wasn't prepared to spend a lot on accomodation. This hotel in De Pijp suited me quite well. The rooms are quite basic, the beds might not be the most comfy and many rooms have shared bathroom and toilet. The room I stayed at was on first floor (which means less steep stairs to climb), had a bunk bed and had windows towards the backyard.
The mirror above the sink stood out so much it was somewhat inconvenient when brushing the teeth.

However, the neighbourhood is quiet and the staff are really friendly. The best thing still is the cheap bike rental service. It's a lot more hassle free than using any of the usual bike rental shops. But I did have some problem with one of the bike's padlock which got stuck a couple of times, which was quite inconvenient for me that day.

The hotel prefer to have the stay paid upfront but they were quite willing to wait until I was able to pay.

All in all I can recommend this hotel for budget travellers, there is after all lots more to do in Amsterdam rather than staying at the hotel. As it's easy (and cheaper) to get around Amsterdam on bike the bike rental is a big plus. But the hotel might not be for everyone.

Room Tip: The stairs are rather steep, as you'ld expect in Amsterdam, so if that's a problem try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Hoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Staying at the Bicycle hotel was pleasant, had a lovely comfortable bed, friendly staff and I would stay here again, 20 min walking distance to the centre, I have 10 characters more to write. enjoy Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#197 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#199 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#204 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#239 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Property: Bicycle Hotel
Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing