We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i think it is good”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #195 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we stayed 6nights, the guys are very helpful and nice, everyday we can see a pretty girl or pretty boy, haha.
we like the breakfast, even now I still miss them.
stairs are very steep, and the room we stay do not have place to hang wet clothes

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Yan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Highlights: location, convenient to trams, quiet at night. Can't say I found the staff friendly; rather, they seemed to tolerate us. Also, didn't think breakfast was a highlight; it was sufficient but nothing to rave about. WiFi was spotty which considering the importance for a traveler planning their activities was a disappointment. All in all.....meh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andifehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room expecting a very small Bible based on past reviews. The room we received (referred to as an "apartment") is a lovely spacious, neat and clean. It has it's own very large shower and toilet with a large bedroom and self catering kitchenette including fridge, microwave and kettle with cutlery. For the average middle income traveller I would definitely recommend

Thank Annerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. Bike hire reasonable price. Strongly recommend hiring one, extremely bike friendly city. Stairs to the rooms are tough, steep, narrow - don't stay if you will struggle to carry big suitcases up narrow stairs!! Sure staff could help. Wifi good, free use of computers too, breakfast simple but very adequate. Room small but fine, has basin. I had a room facing street. Toilet and shower fit for purpose, but one issue is toilet/shower lights on very short timers so turn off fast - on motion sensors so do turn back on but disconcerting 1st time! They were clean when I was there - note that others found that not the case. If you are at RAI conference centre and on a budget this is ideal. Close to markets, easy bike to city centre/red light area etc.. Most ppl do not come to Amsterdam for a hotel room so this is very much fit for purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were pleased with the hotel. We have been traveling a lot recently including a lot of travel in Africa. We arrived very tired first thing in the morning and were pleased that they were willing to keep our bags even though we could not check into the room till 3 pm.
The stairs ARE steep (read ladder), but hey! its Amsterdam! Breakfast was good (only mind the toaster - if you burn your toast it sets off the fire alarm ALL THROUGH the hotel AND fire station!)
Easy to get to - trolley bus 8 stations from Amsterdam Central train station. Great area for walking. On a quiet street.
Shared bathroom and toilet - not a problem - clean and all that, but automatic lights are on very short timers.
Would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't honestly have many negative things to say about this place. It's not far from the city centre, and easy to get to on trams. You take the 25 from central station, and it takes about 15 minutes!
My main negative is the stairs, we were on the top floor (4th). However, we got used to it and we could handle it I guess! If you can't handle a lot of stairs, I would recommend saying something before you book it, and asking for a room on the first floor etc.
It was a really good price for what it was, the breakfast was very basic. There was a toaster on each table, and you got given a bread basket. Coffee machine etc, fresh juice, cereal, and hams/cheese. The breakfast room is really nice, relaxed and very Ikea.
The rooms were basic, and a sink in each room. We had room 4.1, 2 single beds. VERY comfy beds, nothing to complain about that. And it's in a very quiet neighbourhood, kept the window open all weekend and nothing ever woke us up. Clean room, and the shower room and toilet were always clean. It never bothered me that it was shared because there was never any queuing for anything!
Really enjoyed myself here, and I would stay here again. But maybe request a room on a lower floor!

Room Tip: The stairs are just crazy so a lower floor would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area and easy to find.

The kitchen and dinning area are nicely set up and makes you feel like home.

However, the building doesn't have an elevator and if you happen to be located on the last floors it is a struggle to get the luggage to the room, stairs are to narrow and uncomfortable.

Also, rooms DO NOT have any fan or air/con so it can become pretty hot during summer. Bathrooms are very average... they could be much better to be honest.

Staff are friendly but too strict... be punctual with the check out, they don't give extra 15 mins to leave the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaPerez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#228 of 373 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#182 of 373 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#224 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 373 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $81 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing