We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #194 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly helpful staff. Bike hire reasonable price. Strongly recommend hiring one, extremely bike friendly city. Stairs to the rooms are tough, steep, narrow - don't stay if you will struggle to carry big suitcases up narrow stairs!! Sure staff could help. Wifi good, free use of computers too, breakfast simple but very adequate. Room small but fine, has basin. I had a room facing street. Toilet and shower fit for purpose, but one issue is toilet/shower lights on very short timers so turn off fast - on motion sensors so do turn back on but disconcerting 1st time! They were clean when I was there - note that others found that not the case. If you are at RAI conference centre and on a budget this is ideal. Close to markets, easy bike to city centre/red light area etc.. Most ppl do not come to Amsterdam for a hotel room so this is very much fit for purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were pleased with the hotel. We have been traveling a lot recently including a lot of travel in Africa. We arrived very tired first thing in the morning and were pleased that they were willing to keep our bags even though we could not check into the room till 3 pm.
The stairs ARE steep (read ladder), but hey! its Amsterdam! Breakfast was good (only mind the toaster - if you burn your toast it sets off the fire alarm ALL THROUGH the hotel AND fire station!)
Easy to get to - trolley bus 8 stations from Amsterdam Central train station. Great area for walking. On a quiet street.
Shared bathroom and toilet - not a problem - clean and all that, but automatic lights are on very short timers.
Would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I don't honestly have many negative things to say about this place. It's not far from the city centre, and easy to get to on trams. You take the 25 from central station, and it takes about 15 minutes!
My main negative is the stairs, we were on the top floor (4th). However, we got used to it and we could handle it I guess! If you can't handle a lot of stairs, I would recommend saying something before you book it, and asking for a room on the first floor etc.
It was a really good price for what it was, the breakfast was very basic. There was a toaster on each table, and you got given a bread basket. Coffee machine etc, fresh juice, cereal, and hams/cheese. The breakfast room is really nice, relaxed and very Ikea.
The rooms were basic, and a sink in each room. We had room 4.1, 2 single beds. VERY comfy beds, nothing to complain about that. And it's in a very quiet neighbourhood, kept the window open all weekend and nothing ever woke us up. Clean room, and the shower room and toilet were always clean. It never bothered me that it was shared because there was never any queuing for anything!
Really enjoyed myself here, and I would stay here again. But maybe request a room on a lower floor!

Room Tip: The stairs are just crazy so a lower floor would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area and easy to find.

The kitchen and dinning area are nicely set up and makes you feel like home.

However, the building doesn't have an elevator and if you happen to be located on the last floors it is a struggle to get the luggage to the room, stairs are to narrow and uncomfortable.

Also, rooms DO NOT have any fan or air/con so it can become pretty hot during summer. Bathrooms are very average... they could be much better to be honest.

Staff are friendly but too strict... be punctual with the check out, they don't give extra 15 mins to leave the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaPerez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Bicycle Hotel was a perfect place to stay for my first visit to Amsterdam. A good Dutch breakfast started the day; friendly and polite staff gave good advice, maps etc; location is quiet and within easy walking distance of museums etc and the room clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend this reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The location was perfect, a very short walk to a tram stop, close to cafes and restaurants, and a short walk to the centre of town. The staff were helpful and friendly, providing a map with all the main sights marked on it, and the breakfast (which was included in the price) was just what we needed: toast, cereal, juice, tea and coffee etc. We had a double room with a shared bathroom - the room was fairly small but that's not a problem if you're just sleeping there, and had a sink and a TV. The toilet and shower were both very clean, and we never had to wait when we wanted to use them. The only problem with them was the light was on a short timer, so would switch off several times during a shower! We had a street facing room which could be quite noisy at times because of traffic and people.The only real problem with the hotel is the fact that the stairs are super steep, but that just means you have to find some interesting ways to go up and down them! Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short, budget stay as a great base to explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street, it will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just spent 4 days at this hotel. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. This is a well run hotel aimed at the budget traveller. Even having shared bathroom facilities did not present any problems except that the sensor lights in the toilet and shower are set for short intervals, having to wave your arms about to activate the lights again was entertaining. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. The beds are of a very high quality which gives you a really good nights sleep. The hotel is in a residential area which is lovely to be living amongst the locals. There are a couple of laundromats near by for washing. The trams stops are within a short walk and there is easy access to the main attractions by tram. At the bottom of the street is a vast variety of cafe's and restaurants to choose from. Highly recommended for a visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: You need to wave your arms about to reactivate the sensor lights in the toilet and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#227 of 373 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#184 of 373 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#190 of 373 in Amsterdam
340 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#228 of 373 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $74 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing