We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #196 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    89
    49
    15
    7
See reviews for
25
91
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the bicycle hotel for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The staff are all so chilled out, let us pay the day after arriving as we'd had a long coach journey. We hired bicycles for three days which was cheap and convenient, they give you your own key to the bike garage so you can come & go as you please. The hotel is in a really nice quiet area, but still very close to everything we wanted to see.The rooms are basic but just what we needed for a short stay, continental breakfast was basic but again just what we needed and great for the price. The shared shower and toilets were very clean and in good condition. We had a fantastic time! Would definitely go back to this little hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmcope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
283 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of freinds for a 3 night weekend.

On the negative side: Rooms are cramped and very basic, really hostel class. The web pictures don't really show just how basic they are.

On the plus side:
Very freindly and helpful staff
Good system for out of hours arrival
Breakfast good
Location good to Ok - easy tram to Dam Square/station or nice 30 min walk to City through the Albert Cuyp market

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Awesome little budget hotel about a 10 - 15 minute tram ride from the centre and the train station. We stayed for 3 nights. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our travels - each table had their own toaster which was cute. We had room 13 on the first floor and the bed was really comfy. Only thing I would say is negative is that the stairs are very steep so if you were higher than the first floor it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Room 13 on the first floor right next to the bicycle neon sign is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

GREAT WiFi. Best hotel bed I've had in a while. CLEAN. Good showers. Love environmentally conscious aspect of the hotel. Bikes were well maintained and good value (7.50EU/day). A little out of the way, but very quiet street and I actually thought location was perfect ... close enough to get to the center quickly, but a place to chill for a couple of hours before dinner.

Only downside was that I thought that breakfast was lame and it was a little on the pricey end (though, for Amsterdam, I guess it's about right).

Room Tip: 1.B is good double with nice shower and workable TV. Love the location right next to the Bicycle si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhfahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Basic but comfortable hotel with a hostel feel about it. The numerous staff who seem to change on a daily basis are all multi-linqual, very friendly and extremely helpful. A little off the beaten track but only a 15 minute tram ride from the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grushenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#234 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#247 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#267 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Property: Bicycle Hotel
Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing