We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - just”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #195 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here with a group of freinds for a 3 night weekend.

On the negative side: Rooms are cramped and very basic, really hostel class. The web pictures don't really show just how basic they are.

On the plus side:
Very freindly and helpful staff
Good system for out of hours arrival
Breakfast good
Location good to Ok - easy tram to Dam Square/station or nice 30 min walk to City through the Albert Cuyp market

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Awesome little budget hotel about a 10 - 15 minute tram ride from the centre and the train station. We stayed for 3 nights. Staff were really helpful. Breakfast was the best we had during our travels - each table had their own toaster which was cute. We had room 13 on the first floor and the bed was really comfy. Only thing I would say is negative is that the stairs are very steep so if you were higher than the first floor it could be an issue.

Room Tip: Room 13 on the first floor right next to the bicycle neon sign is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

GREAT WiFi. Best hotel bed I've had in a while. CLEAN. Good showers. Love environmentally conscious aspect of the hotel. Bikes were well maintained and good value (7.50EU/day). A little out of the way, but very quiet street and I actually thought location was perfect ... close enough to get to the center quickly, but a place to chill for a couple of hours before dinner.

Only downside was that I thought that breakfast was lame and it was a little on the pricey end (though, for Amsterdam, I guess it's about right).

Room Tip: 1.B is good double with nice shower and workable TV. Love the location right next to the Bicycle si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhfahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Basic but comfortable hotel with a hostel feel about it. The numerous staff who seem to change on a daily basis are all multi-linqual, very friendly and extremely helpful. A little off the beaten track but only a 15 minute tram ride from the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grushenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here and it was a very pleasant experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small but adequate for my stay and the bed was comfortable. Fortunately there was only 1 flight of "Amsterdam special" stairs to climb!
The breakfast room was light and pleasant and the food more than adequate to set you up for the day. The bike hire is great, there was a problem with my first one but I was quickly given another which was fine. The free WiFi is also a nice touch.
All in all a good hotel and much better than some of the cheap central hotels for a similar price. The quiet location was good and only a short tram ride from Centraal. I even walked back from Damrak in under 30 mins. I'd definitely go back. Could do with better directions though, it's not clear you have to cross the Ceintuurbaan but once I'd realised it was easy enough to find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location - close to market, 24h supermarket, ATM machine, tram. Very helpfull and friendly staff. Rooms are small but clean, have to highlight very comfortable beds and pillows, wi-fi worked well. Toilets and showers clean. Also very good breakfast (considered that is included in price). Free PC with an internet connection. Would definitely recommend to friends and would return again. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs, especialy between groundfloor and 1st floor, so if you have many luggages or chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muf_javicioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#186 of 375 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 375 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#233 of 375 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#229 of 375 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Abba
Hotel Abba
#184 of 375 in Amsterdam
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $65 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing